BCA Month Beauty Best Books of the Month Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited $69.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment curbpremiere curbpremiere curbpremiere  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on October 7, 2016
For the non-techies, buying a surge suppressor is a very confusing process. The marketing departments want you to focus on the huge print telling you that their device is so good that they include a $100,000 !!! insurance protection for any device damaged by a surge. But don't be surprised when you find out that there are so many strings attached, you'd be lucky to end up with a refund on their surge suppressor. Instead, focus on a few basic technical specs and you will save yourself a lot of up front money and, therefore, be able to buy more surge suppressors to protect more of your equipment. By the way, I do not work for nor have I ever worked for or been associated with APC, I've just worked with computers for my entire career :-)

First, MAKE SURE YOU ARE NOT BUYING A SIMPLE POWER STRIP WITH A CIRCUIT BREAKER !! Many manufacturers carefully word-craft their descriptions to make it appear that you are getting surge protection. In fact, you are getting nothing more than a very expensive extension cord with a cheap circuit breaker that won't protect anything other than starting a fire and that's not guaranteed either.

Three technical specifications to watch when buying a surge suppressor: joules, response time and UL certification. Joules isn't a rating on protection from a single surge, it is a rating on how many surges the suppressor can handle. It's sort of a life expectancy rating. The experts recommend looking for at least 600 Joules. This APC suppressor gives you almost double that amount at 1,080 Joules.

Response time is also important. This determines how long your equipment will be exposed to the surge before the suppressor kicks in and clamps the voltage down. For this APC suppressor, the response time is a very respectable 1 nanosecond. That's tech speak for 1 billionth of a second. Surges take a few thousands of a second to reach their peak, so this response time should be more than adequate.

The UL certification standard for surge suppressors is UL 1449. UL provides safety related certifications, not performance related certifications. A UL certification basically means that the surge suppressor itself and the equipment connected to it are extremely unlikely to blow up and start a fire when it's hit with a surge.

Ignore "clamping voltage". For technical reasons, you really want to watch the "Let-Through Voltage". UL certification does include the specification for Let-Through Voltage with levels of 300, 400 and 500. This APC unit has a UL certification with a maximum Transient Voltage Surge Suppressor (TVSS) Let-Through Voltage of 300 volts, which is the best rating that UL provides for surge suppressors. Other manufacturers often make a big deal out of clamping voltage but avoid mentioning that their UL Let-Through Voltage is 400 or 500 volts.

Finally, a huge feature in a surge suppressor is a "Fail Safe" function. When a surge suppressor reaches it's maximum Joules rating it quits providing surge suppression. The question is, how do you know that has happened? Most surge suppressors have an green idiot light (LED) that shows that the unit is still providing surge suppression. If you happen to notice that this LED has gone dark then you're in luck. Most people don't. A Fail Safe feature shuts the surge suppressor down so it no longer passes current through to your equipment. So, if your fail safe unit quits providing surge suppression, your equipment shuts down and you know the instant the surge suppressor has reached its life span. Very few manufacturers include a fail safe protection, so you continue merrily on your way until your $1,000 television or laptop suddenly melts down during a thunderstorm. APC provides fail safe protection on all of their surge suppressors including this unit.

Remember, these are surge suppressors NOT lighting arresting devices. A lightning strike on the power line feeding your home can literally blow wall sockets out of the wall. No surge suppressor is going protect you from all lightning strikes. For that kind of protection, you will need an electrician and some sophisticated protection installed at the point where your electric lines enter your home. That's an entirely different level of protection and, as you can imagine, far more expensive than a surge suppressor.

I own a half-dozen of these APC units and I live in Florida (lighting capital of America :-) For the price, I don't think you can beat this particular unit for everyday protection. These units have great quality and a very reasonable price which adds up to excellent value.
88 comments| 300 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2014
The thinnest multiple side plug-in surge protector I could find (measures about 1.5 inches off the wall). EMI/RFI noise filtering, 400V clamping voltage, Fail Safe Mode and a surge energy rating of 1080 Joules make the APC P6W a great value for basic surge protection.
review image review image review image
22 comments| 187 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2014
We selected this unit because of its simple neutral white color, and the fact that the plugs on the end face outward. Some wall surge protectors have the ground plug (the third round one) facing the wall, which makes the unit useless for any three prong power adapters. This unit is done right, looks clean, has easy to see lights that won't annoy you in a dark room, and is very easy to install. The included screw was long enough for all but one of our outlets, so we picked up a few longer machine screws at our local hardware store. After much research, we found these to be one of the top two or three best rated units out there. They are used in a lightning prone area, and since installing them, we have seen no damaged to our connected electronics.

KEEP IN MIND, that this unit has only ONE plug (on the back) that goes into the wall, and it goes into the top plug of the wall receptacle. Therefore, if you use this in a receptacle where the top plug is switched (meaning a receptacle connected to a light switch), that particular light switch will turn the entire surge protector on and off. Also, if your receptacle is upside down, then you will need to install this unit upside down as well, which is not as attractive as right side up.
11 comment| 88 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 22, 2012
I bought three of these originally to plug appliances into, because the outlets face the side and so it wouldn't force appliances like the fridge to stick out more than the depth of a typical transformer block. In the end, two of them ended up unneeded for appliances and are now just mounted on walls where we often need to plug-in electronics and computers. They've proven to be effective and convenient. Some transformer blocks may be too large to fit because of the proximity of the outlet to the wall, but so far everything we've tried to plug-in has fit. On the other hand, having the outlets on the sides means that there is a lot of space between the outlets themselves so that all six outlets are actually usable. Some alternatives put the outlets on the front face and end up having them too closely spaced, so that if you have a few transformer blocks plugged-in only 4-5 outlets are actually usable at a time.

Here are some of the technical specifications that I wanted to know about when looking into surge protectors:
- Surge Energy Rating: 1080 Joules
- EMI/RFI Noise Filtering (100kHz-10 MHz): 40 dB
- Surge Response Time: 1 ns
- UL 1449 (2nd edition) Clamping Voltage: 400V
- Input Voltage & Current: 120V / 15A
- Physical Dimensions: 4.0" x 1.5" x 5.5" (HxWxD)

According to the APC website, this surge protector has a fail safe mode and will stop transmitting power once its protective circuits have been used up through absorbing power spikes. Many, if not most, surge protectors will just continue to let power through unprotected.
88 comments| 138 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2017
With so much technology in homes these days, most people are hard pressed for power receptacles. This APC 6 outlet wall mount surge protector with 1080 joules of protection can help to alleviate that problem by adding 4 additional receptacles to the normal 2. I placed this in a receptacle that provides power to cell phones and tablets. 6 power outlets
helps de-clutter the area to make it more manageable.

We have constant power surges and outages here, even when the weather is clear. Even when you sneeze the power can goes out when you least expect it. We have had 2 major storms here with power outages lasting about 2 hours on the average with no power problems to all of our devices. It appears that this surge protection is doing its job. Only time will tell.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2017
It's a surge protector...what else can I say. I plugged it in, screwed it in, and filled up the plugs and it works. It's nice to have the little light to let you know it's working though I'm not sure what else it tells you, as there was no paperwork at all in the box. Usually you'll get the little warranty card and whatnot but this was just the unit and a plastic bag covering it. Either way it works, and doesn't really need instructions. The included screw was plenty long enough to make the already solid connection better, and prevent accidentally unplugging the unit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2016
Seems like it would work well, but requires an old-style wall plug with the screw in the middle between the two outlets. This was not clear from the packaging and the description. I uploaded two pictures to explain. It will work on the type of outlet with the screw between, like shown on the one with the painted background. It won't work on the other type.
review image review image
44 comments| 70 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2017
Great but sometimes the screw in the middle gets stuck and there's nothing you can do about it. I've had it happen with a couple of these units.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2017
An excellent, wall outlet mounted, outlet multiplier (6 usable outlets from the standard two of a wall outlet) and surge protector.
Easy and simple to mount with a simple screwdriver.
I've never had to use the surge protector function but I'm confident in the protection it can provide.
An exceptional feature is the wide spacing of the individual outlets that allow for oversized plug heads or power bricks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2017
nice product. Just be aware that you can only plug the cords sideways. There are other versions that have pivoting sockets that allow for different angles of insertion. Works great, but I don't know if I would ever notice if a surge happened or not.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse