Salon Beauty Fall Reading Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment curbpremiere curbpremiere curbpremiere  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on April 10, 2015
Superb in every way. I first watched the mini-series on Netflix in 2 installments, about a year ago. I found this full-length DVD set on Amazon and didn't hesitate to put it on order. (And it arrived way ahead of scheduled delivery, ordered from seller "cddvd4u".)

Great casting, beautiful scenery and a solid storyline only begin to describe it. Stellan Skarsgard, as always, was rock-solid in a major supporting role (I hesitate to call it a "supporting" role because he commanded every scene he appeared in). Joakim Natterqvist was fabulous, as were most others.

The DVD keeps the original 6-part story in place, which is great because it gives you several well-placed opportunities to stretch and rest the eyes, which is really important because (if like me) otherwise you'll be riveted from start to finish.

English (SDH) captioning is a life-saver, but I enjoyed hearing the other languages spoken in their various settings.

All in all, I can't say enough good things about "Arn". It's one of the best historical fictions/movie productions I've ever seen. I may even try to find the book and give it a read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2014
I can't say enough about how much I enjoyed and loved this series. I watched the 2 hour movie of it and liked it but was confused about certain aspects of the story. When I investigated it further, I found out that it was actually a 6 part series that was condensed into a 2 hour movie, which really left out way too much to have it make sense. I decided to purchase the whole short series it and WOW there was a huge difference. History, romance, war, politics, dedication and conviction to religious beliefs, respect between enemies, betrayal amongst sisters and partners in arms. Everything you could ask for. It lead me to buying the books to read and found that they were extremely close to the movie (or vice-versa!), which is a rare thing to find.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2016
This series was very well done and we enjoyed it. The only reason for 4 instead of 5 stars is I felt the plot was somewhat contrived in places. At the end, we learned that it was based on a true story, so who knows maybe it really was that strange? However, bottom line, it was good.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2016
A totally enjoyable movie. Even with the captioning all through, it was an amazing through out. It captured the feelings, and the power of love. I was a testament to how some men can inspire to great things. Just very impressive, the costumes the site in which it was film. To me absolutely out standing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2015
Arn is probably the most historically accurate portrayal of the 12th Century on film you can find anywhere. The costumes and equipment are spot on, and the film manages to capture and translate the medieval mindset in a way that still makes sense to a modern viewer without feeling too contemporary or out of place. On top of all that, the acting is fantastic, and the plot is engaging and interesting. You will come away from this film feeling entertained, and you will also broaden your knowledge of medieval Sweden and Latin Syria a bit.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2015
Excellent story. Although the actual story may be ficitonal, it was based on real life events around 1100 A.D, and the crusades and the power struggle at home (in this case Sweden) The story depicts the reality and cruelity of people, hardships that people lived and died through. What I like best is the combat scenes are very realistic and with people, not computer graphics. Also the various scenes where the actors/actresses speak swedish, french, latin, english and arabic. The way language is supposed to be. Hear the people speak their language. You can always read the english translated subtitles.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2014
I feel this video should be rated a full five stars. Of course there is much fiction but at the same time the reality of the Crusades is
punctuated buy so many Europeans who went on this quest from so many areas of Europe. On the other side, it shows the determination of Islam's Leadership. Islam's growth proved itself due to the divisions moving along in Europe. Kings at war with other kings and such. I have no intention of delving into the story but the purchase of this DVD and it's review is will worth the time. Thanks for your attention.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2015
A FABULOUSLY done mini-series, from an excellent set of books! You will be hooked and can't wait to see what happens next, or how it will end! Sit back on a long weekend and enjoy this well-made, with a stellar cast, spoken in the correct languages of where Arn all travels, and interesting look into a Swede's perspective of the Crusades, and the extraordinary life journey that Arn has. WOW!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2016
Enjoyed this series immensely. Very well done. I didn't even mind that the conversations were in spoken Swedish.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2017
Themes of love, faith, courage and family are masterfully woven in this tale of the Swedish lad Arn Magnusson who we follow from the time of his miraculous healing as a young boy through his return home from the Crusades. Though primarily a love story, this epic tale is set in the 12th century, a time when Europe embraced the ideals of the Christian faith and the Knights Templar were its defenders. Courage and integrity are the time honored trademarks of a noble man. Arn Magnusson is that man.
This movie is a compilation of the Swedish miniseries with outstanding visual and cinematic quality. A great story. I highly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Ironclad
$5.99

Need customer service? Click here