Industrial Deals HPC Save up to 90% on textbooks Womens Red and Rose nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Def Leppard All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Garnet Jewelry Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Three new members of the Echo family Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now



Showing 1-10 of 49 reviews(5 star). See all 68 reviews
on February 13, 2009
One of my worst gripes about ASP.NET books is that they routinely go over an extensive tour of every single little component, but dedicate very little time and space to each component and more importantly they do not show how these component fit together in a real application. So you are left with all pieces of the puzzle in your box, but no strategy for putting them together. Granted, most programming book even in the JSP/Strus/JSF area do only show toy examples of applications... but that's better than nothing! Well Marco has accomplished even more in this book, showing how to build and real life application.
The Beer House (a web site for an imaginary pub) has security and role management, themes, profiles,rather sophisticated strategies for data access, and shows you how to build an international site with articles, newsletters, forums, polls and even web parts! And last but not least it's a fun project...who isn't tired of the boring lifeless examples usually found in technical books? Seeing an programmer like Marco who takes joy in what he does and can mix fun and business is always a good sign....
It's clear that he has spent countless hours building various web content management systems on his own.. and he's had a great idea in putting his expertise in this book. I just wonder why more developers don't do the same thing! My only little complaint is that I would have liked to see more space devoted on how to build the UI. Yes, I know, this is not a book for beginners, but I have yet to see a book that covers how to effectively use the ASP.NET data bound controls.. they usually devote just a page or two to each, usually showing just one example of their possible uses.. and I think that there are many developers out there who could benefit from such a study, not even counting those coming from other platforms, who are veterans in OO programming and building business logic but much less versed in the intricacies of Visual Studio Wizards.
I would not buy this book right now anyhow.. because two new books from the same author are upcoming..
ASP.NET MVC 1.0 Website Programming: Problem - Design - Solution
ASP.NET 3.5 Website Programming: Problem - Design - Solution
and I am sure they will be even better than this one!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 7, 2006
I am very impressed with this book, and have worked with a number of customers who have also found it extremely useful.

Marco's book differs from other programming books in that it doesn't attempt to provide an exhaustive reference of ASP.NET 2.0 features. Instead, he focuses the book around building a real-world end to end application and introduces and demonstrates how to use the key ASP.NET 2.0 concepts and features in the context of the application.

The result is a very readable book that provides a great deal of context about how ASP.NET 2.0 works, and how the different features integrate together. The result provides a reader with a much better grasp of the end to end structure of how applications are built, and can serve as a good roadmap to make progress in your knowledge and learning of ASP.NET.

I'd definitely recommend this book to anyone who understands the basics of how ASP.NET works already, and is looking for a good book to take them to the next level and really start to build applications with it.
33 comments| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 9, 2007
This books takes a different approach to many I've used; instead of being mainly a reference/code manual with various snippets that don't necessarily pertain to one another; this book uses a single, detailed, moderately complex web project as its focus, with each section building upon the last.

Depending on what you're looking for -- a indexed reference book vs. life cycle development book, you may or may not like it. If you need just the occasional isolated chunk of code, there are more appropriate titles available. However if you'd like to work on a front to back full-blown project to see how all the pieces fit together, this is a terrific book.

It covers all the key functionalities used by ASP.NET 2.0, and ties it both front end (GUI) and back end (SQL Server) development. I also like the author's focus on being highly object-oriented; his detailed level of discussion, and his designing of clear, scalable, 'real-world' application layers. It's a well-rounded, solid book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 4, 2007
Not much more I can add to existing reviews of this great book. One of the extremely few books that teach how to design and use a layered architecture when developing an ASP.NET application. The author provides good introductory reference to the basic components such as specific server controls and security providers, and more importantly, throughout the book you learn how to incorporate these components into a layered application architecture.

One word of warning -- it would definitely help to already have a good understanding of object-oriented concepts.

Coming from a background in Java/J2EE development and having cursory knowledge of the .NET framework, I am confident that this book will serve as an important reference as I delve into ASP.NET development.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 18, 2006
Marco Marco Marco, bravo! Your book is exactly what I've been waiting for. Every page that I turn answers questions that have been floating around in my head. Questions that other books don't answer thoroughly. Also, your sample application sets a precedent for all others to follow--you have certainly raised the Bar, pun intended, lol. What I like about this book is how the end to end sample application, "TheBeerHouse," is documented from end to end. No other sample application that I've seen is documented thorougly like "TheBeerHouse." And you touch on key hurdles that are faced when building an e-commerce type ASP.NET 2.0 web application. The book is well organized as well. Thank you for your hard work Marco.

Sincerely,

Andy

Fremont, California
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 29, 2006
The book and the sample application are excellent. I rate it 5 stars but came close to 4 stars.

My rating almost lowered to 4 stars because I felt more information was needed on creating a new website based on the concepts detailed in the book. This is a book focused on how to build a comprehensive website, and provides sample code for such a site that actually works. It leaves out some crucial information, however, about some of the steps needed to create a new site based on the book concepts.

Experienced developers may discount the importance of the following problems, but without instruction on them, the book falls a bit short of its goals (only from 5 stars to 4, however.)

Problem 1:

A class library is used for a set of custom health management event handlers. Although the sample code references the class library correctly, no information is provided on how a user should set up the class library independently to make the appropriate references and to be referenced correctly from the web app.

Problem 2:

Some instruction should be given on how to successfully change from the sample namespace to a new user-defined namespace. A number of users have posted questions on this topic to the book forum which have not been addressed satisfactorily.

Primary recommendation:

The book forum is active and many problems (but not all) are addressed. However, there should be a better book website that consolidates and addresses issues raised by users. A great example of how to handle this is Rockford Lhotka's [...] site for his book "Expert ... Business Objects." He consolidates answers to user problems and provides a central point to address them (rather than having each reader search through forum topics to try to find the answer they need.) He also points to several user sites that expand on his original concepts. His community is extensive and very effective.

Thanks for a great book, and I look forward to improved infrastructure support.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 13, 2008
The web site that this book creates by the end is a great example of a content management system. I don't get to program often, so seeing an implemented version of a 3-tier web site is valuable. The example in this book goes a long way to show (not just tell) why 3-tier design can be so beneficial. Lots of other great examples too that you would have a tough time finding in on-line forums, such as caching and paging directly from the database. I liked the extra touch of the last chapter, which provides the minute details for publishing your site to web server. All the examples are in c# only, which is the language that I prefer anyway.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 14, 2012
While most books do not give the complete picture where you take a concept and explain it from beginning through the end, this book does. It is good for an intermediate user with some prior experience with ASP.NET. I only wish they had an example with more workflow functionality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 29, 2007
Even in the books preface, it says it's not a book for beginners. It's geared more toward asp.net developers that have at least dabbled in design using Visual Studio. The book is more or less one big practical example. I recommend it for the novice+ developers of ASP.NET.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 28, 2007
This book is a great example of how to utilize VS 2005/Web 2.0 principles. There are a few components you can rip right out and utilize for other sites, it is a great addition to anyone's toolbox.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here