Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch New Album by Prophets of Rage GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 20 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 28 reviews
on February 28, 2017
Very interesting book about Abraham Lincoln and the Civil War. Details of the man who reach presidency and how he learn to be president as he had to overcome the challenges he had to face.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2013
For a short biography, Gienapp's work is insightful, thorough, and a great read. I've read a lot of Lincoln biographies, most of which are much longer, but I still learned a lot about Lincoln in this book. I believe Allen Guelzo's "Reedemer President" is the best of the longer biographies of Lincoln, but Gienapp's "Abraham Lincoln and Civil War America: A Biography" is the best that is under 300 pages. He provides the reader with a balanced picture of Lincoln and the times he lived in.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2016
Very condensed version of the topic. Have read many books on Lincoln and the Civil War. Enjoyed this format. Learned one or two new tidbits of information. Recommended reading for new readers of life of Lincoln and the Civil War.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2012
Excellent recap of Lincoln and the Civil War! Mr. Gienapp provides a brief "just enough" bio of Abe Lincoln's early years through adult life and political pursuits to president. He provides insight into the 16th president's jovial personality and home life challenges that explains to some extent his melancholy demeanor. In spite of the latter, he proved to be a diamond in the rough and a master of the game. Well written historical account.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2016
I didn't realize at the time when I ordered the book that it was for a certain period of time in his presidency. I was looking for a book covering his life. Silly me!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2015
Had to buy this book for my nursing program at Lincoln Memorial University. Not related to nursing but good history about Lincoln.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2014
This was a well written, easy to follow and understand book for anyone beginning their journey through civil war history.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2011
This book has enriched my understanding of Lincoln in many ways. The author's writing style is superb. He gives new life to this pivotal figure in American history to such a degree that enables the reader to have a clear and concise picture of the man who is often portrayed as a super hero, neglecting to remind the reader how plain and ordinary he was throughout most of his life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2013
We always read snippets about Lincoln in history books or other works on the civil war. But this actually gives a look into the man he was.
I feel I better understand and appreciate him after having read this.

Definitely recommend reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2013
I want to thank you for the book and its speedy arrival. The book is what I need to stay ahead of the class that will start in a week or so. The price was right much better then the book store for the same stuff
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse