Lyft Industrial Deals HPC Oprah's Book Club Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon victoriaS2 victoriaS2 victoriaS2  Three new members of the Echo family Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now TG18_gno



TOP 1000 REVIEWERon July 1, 2012
The recent Amazon sub 239 tariff keeps this form factor relevant, as does the battery life, but be sure to check out the Acer Aspire One AO756-2808 11.6-Inch Netbook (Ash Black) as well, at least when Amazon has it back in stock for 3 bills or so. 7-19-12 note

The best reasons for buying the Acer AOD 270:

* One of the best netbbook screens - pretty evenly illuminated, and sufficient latitude in viewing angles so that when you are centered, none of the corners or edges are showing signs of diffracting.

Don't laugh, on some netbooks and even notebooks, the viewing angles can be SO limited that even if your head is centered relative to the screen, some part of the screen will be shaded, washed out, or diffracted.

Videos look pretty good on the AOD270 (but not as good as on a flat screen tv).

(If you want "great" video, you will probably have to move up to the much more expensive Macbook Air or shift to a completely different experience in the form of an iPad with its multi-angle IPS display.)

* Very thin design, very light, especially with the 3 cell battery, which can be purchased separately if you start with this 6 cell version. Note that this netbook and almost all non-Apple laptops come with somewhat short-lived batteries, good for two to four years (depends on charge cycles) before the loss of battery life drives you to buy a new battery (which you can replace yourself, cheaply, which helps compensate for the battery mortality). (Since the review I took the 6 cell battery off an earlier Acer netbook and put in on this newer unit, and it works fine and adds a couple of hours of battery life; it doesn't stick out for the bottom too much.)

* Screen tilts back far enough so that you won't have viewing angle problems if using this on a kitchen counter while standing up.

* Larger keys with acceptable spacing. Intuitive "break" on the keys so tactile feedback is there that your keystroke was accepted. (A little noisy though.)

* Plays 480p (DVD quality) video smoothly, with fewer minor glitches with downloaded vs. streaming content (since streaming imposes an additional processing overhead)

* HDMI port lets you hook this up to your (modern) flat screen tv to play Hulu content, which you can't get on a Roku (without paying a subscription fee, although the fee includes additional video content).

* Great alternative to an iPad if you are on a budget, or a great supplement to an iPad if you type a lot. Despite the many accessory keyboards for iPads, the keyboard on most netbooks is superior. Pros for the iPad? Instant on, superior viewing angles, incredible screen on the "new" or "3" iPad, incredible battery life. Cons - won't run Windows programs (huge if you have wordprocessing and other office needs, or want to run a blog).

* Great alternative to a Macbook Air if you are on a budget, if you worry about theft or damage (netbooks are priced so low as to be a "no worry" item), or if you worry about getting the wrong type of attention. Of course the Macbook Air weighs the same but has a larger screen, larger keyboard, and the keyboard is back-illuminated for easy typing in low light or the dark, making it the ultimate production netbook (even though Apple denies it is a netbook, LOL).

Finally, this Atom N2600 netbook is incredibly zippy once you clean out some of the bloatware and install a leaner antivirus program (Microsoft Security Essentials is completely free and very efficent, both in detecting threats and having a small footprint in RAM).

Here is my routine for setting up a new netbook (this applies to versions from other makers as well):

1. Don't accept the offer to install the commercial antivirus program which has a "free" trial offer. It's designed for computers with a lot more memory and processing power, and is the number one cause of sluggishness in netbooks. Don't worry about the "unprotected" messages you will get because you will fix that right away.

2. After booting up the first time, open Internet Explorer and say "no" to the guided tour and any other options, then enter "download Google Chrome" into the search box (or Chrome Beta, which has always been stable for me). Note how much space Internet Explorer wastes on the top of the screen, when Chrome opens you will see a much cleaner but highly functional browser window).

3. Install Google Chrome - just follow the simple on-screen instructions.

4. In the Google search box (Google lets you choose among search engines when you install it, I like Google best although Bing from Microsoft is also quite good) search for "download MSE" which will take you to the Microsoft page to download Microsoft Security Essentials. Select the 32 bit version if offered a choice.

5. Install and run Microsoft Security Essentials. I would run your first scan later, after cleaning up your new netbook. When asked if you want the firewall turned on, say yes.

6. While waiting for the above downloads, right click on the desktop and select Properties and select the option to relocate your Taskbar from its default location at the bottom of the screen to a new location on the left or right of the screen. This gives you extra vertical screen space, which is more valuable than the horizontal screen space since the netbook comes with a pretty short horizontal screen space. You'll see what I mean when you work in your web browser - plenty of text left to right but you won't get as much top to bottom as text as you will probably want without using a minimalist browser like Chrome plus moving the Taskbar.

7. Download PC Decrapifier (pcdecrapifier dot com) and run it. Although you can run it is a single pass, I find that pops up too many option windows at the same time. McAfee Antivirus in particular is somewhat convoluted to uninstall, so I recommend un-checking the uninstall boxes so that only McAfee is left, and uninstalling it using the cleanup program first. Then run PC Decrapifier a second time and let it uninstall all programs, including all Acer programs. None of them are needed, even the webcam (Google Talk and Skype have their own programs to run the webcam), and if you suffer cleaner's remorse later, just go to the Acer website (support dot acer dot com) and reinstall them, it's easy. DON'T uninstall Microsoft Security Essentials! Don't stress about the dire warnings you will get from McAfee as you uninstall it. MSE is there, direct from Microsoft, to take care of you.

8. After rebooting once or more times to complete the uninstallation, download "CCleaner" from FileHippo (Google download CCLeaner, go to the Piriform website, select the free option, and download). When installing, uncheck every installation option box EXCEPT the desktop shortcut box at the top.

9. You can ignore all menu options in CCleaner except the blue "Registry" icon in the left-most column. Click on that. (The little brick building.) Then click "Scan for Issues" on the bottom off the white box. Then "Fix Selected Issues". "Save Registry" (your computer won't explode if you forget to do this). "Fix All Selected Issues." Then, scan again because often it takes two or three passes to catch and fix all issues. Reboot.

10. Click on the Start Menu, then Computer (far right column), then right click on the hard drive and select "Properties." Unclick the "file indexing" option at the bottom of the Properties window, when it asks "subdirectories too" include subdirectories, and let the un-indexing go to work. This will take some time.

11. Go to the Control Panel (Click the globe in the Start menu, or tap the Windows flag key in the lower left of your keyboard.) Then use the search box in the upper right hand corner of the Control Panel window to search for "defrag". Click on the "Defragment your hard drive" option and select the schedule option; when selected, select "never defrag." You can run this yourself manually every six months.

Indexing and defragging run in the background but slow down your netbook. They aren't necessary for a good Windows experience.

12. This is optional. Go to Sourceforge dot net and download Foobar200, a simple but lean music player, and VLC, a simple but lean video player.

13. If you are brave, turn off automatic Windows updates. I set the option to "notify me and let me choose when to install" so my netbook doesn't suddenly get bogged down at a cafe. I do the updates later, at home, when I can switch to working on a desktop. I won't tell you how to do this, it's easy, but if you can't navigate Windows to this extent, you probably should just suffer through the sluggishness while Windows installs updates while you are working, rather than risk an out of date, and hence vulnerable, machine.

14. No matter how many times Windows Updates offers to install Bing Desktop, it is safe to ignore.

15. Tweaks dot come has a Windows logon screen changer. Search their site for "logon" or go to [...] (Replace "dot" with . and close the space to make the link work).

I hope this helps. It is faster than it reads, and makes a huge difference in performance. Look at it this way - you just saved the difference in price between a Macbook Air and this Acer.

Please check the Acer website for their complete list of Acer AOD270 models and the list prices. While Amazon never charges more than list price, occasionally vendors will, for models that are discontinued or in short supply.

___________________

For the mechanically minded: Adding an extra gig of memory SLIGHTLY improves performance with more windows, or browser tabs, open. [8-20-12 update - I got bold and stuck a left-over 4gb RAM stick in the D270 - Control Panel recognized the entire 4gb of RAM, but Windows 7 Starter is only 32-bit so the operating system would only recognize and use 3gb of that. That was a REAL 3gb for WIndows itself, though, since whatever RAM is being set aside for the video doesn't count against that (Task Manager reports 3gb available, where before, with 2gb, Task Manager reported only about 1.7 gb available since the rest being used by video). Now that memory has dropped down so low in price, you MIGHT want to consider replacing the 1 gb RAM module with a 4 gb module instead of a 2 gb. I was afraid the BIOS or chipset might be incapable of addressing a 4gb stick, but based on my experimentation this is NOT a problem. WEI scores DROPPED to 3.2, 4.6, 5.6, 3.2 and 7.8 on the first test run, and improved slightly to 3.3, 4.7, 5.6, 3.2, and 7.8 on the second test run (I have an SSD which is why the HDD component is so high). In my experience the first time you run a "re-fresh" the scores on WEI are unreliable, you have to run the full, slower re-assessment after the "re-fresh" is finished to get stable scores. I have no idea why both video scores dropped, but in practice Hulu is rock-solid and if anything, desktop video effects (opening and minimizing windows etc.) seem snappier. Maybe there is just more video memory for the chipset to use now, and while that is good in practice, it means more to move around for the WEI test. Please comment if you know what might be going on.]

To access the memory slot, first remove the battery, then the keyboard by locating the four small tabs at the top of the Function key row that are holding it in. These tabs are released, one by one, by pushing back, not down, and you need to be ready with a thin bladed screw driver or something thin like a nail file to pry the keyboard up, tab by tab. Once the tabs are released, you will see the keyboard has a flat ribbon connection to the body. You can either lay the keyboard out of the way and remove the FIVE screws, each marked "back cover", then push your screwdriver into the square hole marked "cover release" to start releasing the back cover. Then being careful with the ribbon connector and the keyboard, turn the netbook over and gradually work the back panel off, it has snap tabs, start at the section that you opened slightly from the front side. Memory replacement is then easy. To replace the back panel, slide the edge nearest the battery compartment in FIRST, then snap around the edges to seat the other sides. Replace the screws, lay the keyboard back in, then snap it down along the top front edge. NOTE: you can also disconnect then reconnect the ribbon to the keyboard. To do this, note the dark gray, almost black, plastic bar lying across the top of the ribbon where it enters the connector on the panel under the keyboard (on the netbook body). On some ribbon connectors, such a clamp will slide towards the ribbon to relieve pressure, but on this design, it swings up and off the cable, so just use your finger nail to flip it up. When reassembling, be sure to push the ribbon in evenly so the black line aligns with the clamp, then close the clamp.

*** on 8-1-12 I replaced the stock hard drive with a 128gb SSD - this netbook takes a 9.5 mm high drive. You can use one of the emerging 7.0mm high drives BUT be forewarned that the hard drive does NOT screw into the bay, it relies on "perfect fit" to keep everything in place! So if you use a 7.0 mm drive, you risk it shifting around unless you fabricate a space. For this reason I recommend a 9.5 mm drive like the Crucial 128 GB m4 2.5-Inch Solid State Drive SATA 6Gb/s CT128M4SSD2. After installing, the WEI for the hard drive shot up from 5.9 to 7.8, a very significant increase, and disk intensive operations like virus scans run much faster. If you decide to replace your drive, you remove the old one by looking for the end with the connector, then lifting up the OTHER end. Then, without disturbing the connector's connection to the motherboard (use your finger to hold it down, in place!) just wiggle/pry the hard drive off the connector. To install the new SSD, just push it onto the connector until fully mounted then lay the drive into the hard driver slot and close up the cover. For software, you have 3 choices: cloning software, recovery disks, or new install. I believe if you download the Acronis disk clone software from Western Digital, it will also work on this drive, but I used the version that came with an old Kingston SSD so I can't guarantee it. For recovery disks, you either buy a set from Acer for about $15 including shipping beforehand, or generate your own set by using the included Acer utility program (which you can easily download and reinstall from the Acer Support website). New installs are complicated - I have done them from recovery disks from other netbooks, then re-entered the code from the bottom of my netbook, it is hard to get Win 7 Starter install media. The one work around I used once was to upgrade to Home Premium first, write down the new license number, use a Home Premium 32 bit disk to install, then entered my old unit's upgrade license number. I understand that Windows recovery disk images are available from Microsoft Support online for free (since they won't work without entering a license number off your old unit), but you would need to track those down.

___________________

CAUTION regarding video driver update: I am a big believer in applying all driver updates presented on the manufacturer's website. Especially the video drivers for this new Atom N2600 chip which is running the new Intel GMA 3600 video chip (very similar video chip to that used in the iPad). HOWEVER when I updated to the .1075 driver on the Acer website, my videos became choppy. As soon as I returned to the earlier VGA driver (.1065) on the Acer website, all my graphics problems went away. The other driver updates on their website are running fine on my machine. YMMV, so don't hesitate to switch the two drivers around to find one that works best for you.

I purchased my AOD270 from Target for 249, which is the list price for the 3 battery cell edition.
5150+ comments| 385 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 25, 2013
I bought this instead of a tablet so I could take notes in class and compile code (not easy to do on a tablet). It's ridiculously small and battery life is phenomenal. I love my blue color, and I take it anywhere I might need to do web browsing or coding in a pinch. I don't recommend you install Linux on it unless you are willing to spend time getting power options to work (I couldn't change screen brightness or go into sleep mode when closing the lid). Installing extra RAM was also difficult, and I discourage it unless necessary. It voids your warranty, and hardware "schematics" are difficult to find online. All in all a great computer for a great price, though!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 24, 2012
This is a very reasonably-priced and quite robust little Notebook. The construction is surprisingly solid even though there is a lot of plastic.
Have not tested the battery longevity yet, but expect results to be similar to what others have already reported. The embedded Windows 7 starter OS is fine for casual usage, there is a good amount of disk space, and the wireless networking works well. The screen is pretty crisp and bright, the keyboard has a pretty good tactile feel to it, though it's a bit cramped for small fingers (I keep hitting the CAP LOCK by mistake). Overall, a good buy. With it, I also ordered a 2 GB memory upgrade from amazon.com (Crucial CT25664BC1067 2GB 204-PIN PC3-8500 SODIMM DDR3 Memory Module) and within minutes, had a 2 GB system up and running. Youtube contains several instruction videos on the DIMM replacement process. Contrary to what others have reported, this memory module works fine.

I did make the mistake of ordering the "SiliconTech USB 2.0 External CD DVD RW Burner Drive for Acer Aspire One, DELL..." external CD-ROM unit. It absolutely won't be recognized by this Acer or any other PC I tried it on running Windows 7. I'm going to try the "LG GP10NB20 Portable 8X Slim DVD+/-RW External Drive," which appears to be a better match.
44 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 20, 2013
This notebook is the worst electronic device I have ever used. I bought it for traveling and maybe used it a dozen times in a year. The key board stopped working shortly after. And along with that you have no return rights after using it for 90 days. If you open the box...after 30 days you can't return. Would never buy any item from Adorama...their return policy says this. Returned or exchanged products must be in brand new, mint condition, and have all original manufacturer's packaging, materials, and accessories, including instruction booklets, packing inserts, and blank warranty cards...and Items from the following categories may not be returned:
*Printers cannot be returned once toner, ink, or ribbon cartridges have been installed.
*Notebooks, Netbooks, Tablets, iPads and Computers cannot be returned or exchanged once opened or unwrapped.
*Underwater photography equipment cannot be returned once it has been used in water.
*Cell phones and smart phones will only be accepted for credit or exchange if they register less than 10 minutes cumulative talk time and show no sign of use. Defective phones will be exchanged for the same model only.
Be smart and read return policies...I would think if a product fails to perform or work properly...something could be done about it. No help here. Acer Aspire One AOD270-1835 10.1-Inch Netbook (Burgundy Red)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 15, 2012
I bought this two months ago, and now it is completely non-functional. I have used it for my banking online so that it is separate from my other internet surfing for security purposes. This means I have used it only about eight or nine times in two months.

Today when I turned it on, I got a "A disk read error occurred,Press Ctrl+Alt+Del to restart".

Nothing I have read online to fix this problem works. Some suggest pressing Alt+F10 when rebooting to get to a recovery screen. Pressing Alt-F10 just gets me a cursor.

This is the first and last Acer product I will buy.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 24, 2012
If I could give this product a ZERO, I would. My "new" laptop came without a charger adapter, which made me think that it was refurbished. After contating the seller via email, I never got a response. I chatted with amazon.com and all of the contact information they had on file was non-existent. All of the numbers were busy or off the hook. Needless to say, they scheduled a UPS pick-up time for my netbook, as it is going BACK! IN addition, there is nowhere on their website to actually BUY missing pieces. If my computer actually broke, I can't imagine what getting a replacement would be like! UGH! So frustrated.
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 20, 2013
Other students were buying tablets for school and then they ended up buying keyboards for their tablets, Though this Acer weighs in a around two pounds and is heavier than an iPod, at least it has usb ports, a keyboard, and is still much cheaper. It got me through two years of school so far. During the day I use it for typing notes during class. Hop over to the internet during lunch break, and then transfer the classes I recorded on a voice recorder and listen to them in the evening from the Acer. For just over $200, I couldn't find anything that could come close to fitting my study needs at the time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 11, 2012
My daughter turned 8 years old this weekend, and my mother asked if she could get my daughter something like a computer or iPad/Touch. We have a "no-screens" rule for weekdays, but my daughters are allowed to use "technology" on the weekends (within reason) and for homework during the week (like the math site Ten Marks). After much discussion with my wife, we thought a computer would be more useful for school and entertainment. If given a choice between iPad apps and the computer, my daughter chooses the computer for Flash-based game sites like Club Penguin, Moshi Monsters, and Animal Jams.

I knew I was taking a risk with a netbook: cheap construction, underpowered Atom chip, hobbled "starter" version of Windows, etc. Let me say unequivocally that the computer has been a huge success with my daughter!

First, I followed (almost) every step from the first reviewer. I have done this for previous computers, but this was always a very slow and painful process of "de-crapifying." Trust the instructions; it won't hurt anything on your computer, and the computer will move along much faster. I also activated the Windows Office 2010 that cam installed using the last product key on a Home & Student edition we had already. I installed a networked printer driver, and I installed a program called Personalization Panel so that my daughter could change the desktop wallpaper (not a feature that comes with Windows Starter). Chrome is the only browser we use on the netbook, as Flash is an integrated function (not plug-in) and it runs very quickly.

And that was all! The whole process took me a couple hours, while I was watching TV and other stuff. It couldn't be better for my daughter. She loves the size of it... the 93% keyboard is just right for her hands. The screen size (1024 x 600) doesn't always fit what she wants it to fit, but there are ways to address this (like Chrome's zoom function).

What about performance? Great! No real problems for what she does.
- the Flash-based sites listed above work without a hitch
- YouTube and Amazon streaming video work great, especially in the small window. Full-screened, there is a slight jerkiness that is tolerable but noticeable
- Microsoft Office works great, though the Ribbon at the top of the screen takes up a lot of real estate

The five star rating is directly from my daughter, who is pretty tech savvy for her age. I'm realistic about the build quality, and I'm hoping to get 2 years out of this computer before we inevitably upgrade to a Mac. For now, though, my daughter says that this is the best present ever from grandma, and my wife and I have our computers back!

Update:
After a week, I'm still very happy with the netbook. My daughter is actually doing homework on it (Word docs, math sites, etc). I installed VLC for movie viewing (for an upcoming airplane ride), and it plays 700MB to 1.4gig video files (smallish to full screen) very smoothly... no different than on a full laptop. BTW, this is the only "computer" we are taking on our 10 day trip because it is so light and the battery lasts a long time. (My iPad and our two iPhones are also coming.)
Still a full 5 star rating form our family! We're happily surprised at how well the netbook is performing.

Update:
My daughter is turning 9 soon, so this is a one year update on the computer... It's still going strong, but with a couple repairs this year:
1. I stepped lightly on the corner of the closed netbook after my daughter left it on the floor. The entire right upper corner of the screen turned black! I replaced it with a $45 screen bought on Amazon, installed it (with help of a YouTube video), and looked as good as new.
2. The keyboard stopped working. I think my daughter may have gotten it wet somehow, but even after drying for several days... nothing. So, I ordered a replacement keyboard on Amazon, installed (thanks again, YouTube!), and done.
3. It totally crashed. This was the most frustrating thing, because it took me 3-4 hours of googling possible fixes, but I eventually got it done. I can't remember a single detail, but it took a lot of time.

BUT, my daughter still loves her computer! Every paper or homework she does for school is on this computer. (One exception: the "zooming" presentation site Prezi did not work on the computer.) She still plays her games on it on the weekends.

SO, I would say that I am very happy with this purchase after a year, but I know I've put a lot of time (and a little money) into fixing and maintaining it. If this isn't something you can or want to do, I would spend more for a sturdier computer. (For reference, both my wife and I own a Macbook Pro.)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 12, 2012
my 18 inch laptop wasn't fun to carry around campus and on public transit so i finally broke down and bought this little thing. though i can not stress enough i would hate the thing if i had to use it for everything, it's been incredibly useful so far and i like it a lot! a day in i replaced the os with ubuntu (much faster and cleaner, highly recommended!) but here's stuff you should expect regardless.
the keys are good for its size but flush and make it hard for some to type on with any kind of precision. it has only one tiny speaker (on the left hand side) and no sound or graphics cards or drivers. the quality out the speaker is tinny and it will frequently reduce music online to garbled glitch junk unless you jiggle the volume level (this doesnt seem to happen on bandcamp though, so food for thought). it has no cd drive and one useable gig of memory. it struggles with even short video.
that being said, it's perfect for school. it's zippy on the internet on all things nonmoving and can handle a word processor and the battery lasts 6 hours at least. it weighs like a pound and has stood up well to every day abuse.
i am very pleased with the little fella
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 28, 2014
I will admit that my acer and I got off to a rough start, and it has taken me a couple of years to come to appreciate the little mighty thing for what it is. First, let me say that I bought this for a 5-week trip to Spain. I knew I'd need to back up photographs, book hostels and train/bus rides, and that I'd be pretty much on the go the whole five weeks. I wanted to travel as lightly as possible (1 small overhead rolling bag--still too much) and I didn't want to have to worry about losing my Macbook Pro. At first it worked pretty well. It did what I wanted. I could surf the net while on the go, store my photographs (before my camera was stolen in Barcelona, and catch up on the US through the New York Times). The newness wore off pretty quickly and I noticed this netbook slowing to a crawl. It really became a P.O.S. and almost unusable. Again, for school, I didn't want to have to carry my Mac laptop on the train--it's heavy--or fear dropping it, so, the acer, small and compact, made sense. I used all google drive apps, because Microsoft Word was a joke. I put this little puppy away for about a year. Then, I thought, why waste like that?

So, I tried it again and, bingo! it sucked. After doing a little research I realized I didn't have enough RAM. I bought a 2 gig module, installed it, and have an awesome, fast, small, convenient netbook! I no longer view it as a P.O.S. and, though typing is a little challenging at times, I'm so happy to have my acer aspire one. After installing the additional RAM, I went ahead and bought the Windows 7 home upgrade. I'm so glad it did. It was only $30 on Amazon. I'm now considering buying the student version of Windows (Word, Excel and Powerpoint). That, too, is only about $80.

For much, much less than a small Macbook Air I got a computer that does everything I want, and, unlike a Macbook Air, I don't have to spend a fortune or treat it with kid gloves. Oh, by the way, I dropped it from waist height on my hardwood floor. I thought for sure it was broken. Nope! It started right up. So, for a little money, and a few affordable upgrades that you can do on your own, you, too, can be a carefree owner of a pretty neat netbook!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 17 answered questions

Need customer service? Click here