BCA Month Salon Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Hallo nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Handmade Tote Bags hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TNF TNF TNF  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on March 12, 2016
I recommend that you assure the squeamish that it's just dummies, animatronics, prosthetics and fake blood from hoses, buckets and bladders, before lending or recommending this movie to them. If campy, excessive violence and splatter are what you're after, Adam Chaplin delivers it not in small doses, but like a fat man's banquet. The over the top presentation borders on ridiculous, but maintains it in the stylish vein of ridiculously awesome. It's like one of those dreams that when you wake up, you're simultaneously relieved and disappointed that it wasn't real. Or was it? ;)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2014
I ordered this after reading a review in HorrorHound that said it was more violent than 'Story of Ricky'.
Let me just say I was not disappointed!! The story of a man who makes a pact with a demon that lives in his shoulder to get revenge on his wife's murderers. Adam becomes a supernatural demonic killing machine and tears through a city of goons and thugs with his bare hands to get his revenge. Adam Chaplin: Violent Avenger is a return to bloody, stylized cartoonish violence that hasn't been seen in a while. This one has it all - amazing effects set pieces, a crazy story and unique look. There's even an homage to Cannibal Holocaust. Highly recommended for those that remember the golden days of gore in the mid to late '80's (Peter Jackson, Lucio Fulci, etc) check it out!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2016
If you get this expecting taxi driver or the deer hunter, you are way off course. This is the video equivalent of a pulp fiction novel. No Oscars. No awards. Just bloody violent. In case you are wondering why the extended version runs short it is because it is wrong on the DVDs cover and so I can confirm this is the extended version. It 'runs about 10 mins longer than stated. Quality good.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2014
This is a really audacious low-budget movie. It reminded me most of The Story of Riki-Oh and the Fist of the North Star series. But it also fits nicely in the camp, gore movie school, like Hobo with a Shotgun, Street Trash and the Toxic Avenger - however this movie is more stylized compared to any of those movies. We have a slick, blue digitized sheen that covers every shot that gets juxtaposed with blood that ranges in color from christmas red to HOT PINK. The gore is abundant and truly non-stop. Blood splashes, sprays and pours in every conceivable matrix. The movie uses a mix of old school latex effects with CGI, which I think was well integrated given the cartoonish nature of the violence and it's desire to emulate aspects of splatter anime. What makes this movie slightly different than the movies that inspired it, is that this film is practically HUMORLESS. Although the nature of the violence is overtly cartoonish and way beyond the pale - only if you think over-the-top violence is funny in and of itself could this movie be considered funny. Adam Chaplin's quest to avenge his dead wife is treated as a serious quest and the goons and villains he encounters are decked out in extremely grotesque, deformed facial prosthetics that make them unremittingly ugly. And they are generally shot in Ingmar Bergman like close-ups! And unlike the cheesy, over-top villains of Hobo With a Shotgun - the hulking thug "Denny" of this movie is a real monster with a backstory. And lets not forget the evil, shoulder demon (a nightmarish stroke of genius!) Even though it is played by a puppet, he is oddly unsettling. Even though Emanuele De Santi is both the star and director of the movie, his screenplay didn't give him much to do, other than brood. He is a presence, though. He certainly holds a Conan era, Arnold Scharwzenegger like appeal about him thru the grim proceedings. Adam Chaplin tries to obliterate as many people as possible in it's quick run time - bones are broken, limbs are bent backwards. Heads are smashed in, smacked off, cleaved in half. It all takes place in an overcast, cold, vague sci-fi concrete setting that is strangely underpopulated. I can't wait to see what De Santi does next.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2015
I really liked this movie a lot a lot of killing lol and a lot of blood I would recommend to everyone
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2014
This is the best horror film I've seen in years. Buy it now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2015
New wave Italian splatter, in the vein of Story of Riki-Oh. I've owned three different copies, I know when I need money someone will buy this, a cult classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2015
If you like gore, this is the film for you!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2015
lots of sick gory blood fights even if its in another language awesome story and great fight scenes kind of reminds me of fist of the north star anime but a movie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2014
Fun and gory as hell. Low budget so don't expect big blockbuster style effects
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here