Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Adventures of Ozzie & Harriet - Christmas Collection (8 Episodes)
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Florida Georgia Line Shop Now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
43
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$5.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 26, 2014
"Ozzie and Harriet" Christmas episodes should be bottled and prescribed for whatever ails you. These shows are happy, entertaining and soothing, all at the same time - the best way to relax during the holiday season is with Ozzie, Harriet and their sons David & Ricky.

There are 8 B/W episodes of good quality. I took off one star, because these are edited versions. I was surprised to find a couple of the charming musical numbers missing from these.

Episodes included:

-"Boy's Christmas Money" - first aired Dec. 19, 1952 - Dave & Ricky get jobs to raise money for Christmas.
-"The Day After Christmas" - first aired Dec. 26, 1956 - Dave & Ricky are busy with their girlfriends as Ozzie remembers when the family always spent the day after Christmas together.
-"Girl in the Emporium" - first aired Dec. 14, 1960 - Ricky & his friend Wally get jobs in a department store during Christmas time to compete for the attention of a salesgirl.
-"The Fruitcake" - first aired Jan. 7, 1955 - Ozzie instructs the boys on how to write thank-you notes for unwanted Christmas gifts.
-"The Miracle" - first aired Dec. 25, 1953 - Ozzie tells his family a story about a Christmas miracle/white Christmas that happened when he was a boy.
-"Christmas Tree Lot" - first aired Dec. 18, 1957 - Dave & Ricky sell Christmas trees to earn money for presents.
-"A Busy Christmas" - first aired Dec. 19, 1956 - Ozzie has a million things to do before Christmas and no time to celebrate. This is a favorite of mine. I love the caroling scene at the end.
-"A Late Christmas Gift" - first aired Dec. 26, 1952 - A missing gift leads the Nelsons to collect gifts for a family in need. (This is a very sweet one.)

If you like the warmth of family at Christmas, the occasional music courtesy of Ricky and the charm of the 50s, then you will enjoy these.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 11, 2012
This will take you back to a wonderful time when people were genuine, caring, and just plain fun. Ozzie Nelson was a great family entertainer. You'll love the vintage, heartfelt entertainment. I highly recommend.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2013
America's favorite family indeed! Can't get enough of the Nelson's! Good, clean, fun episodes without being vulgar. Nothing like comedy shows nowadays. DVD good quality copies for shows for being 50 years old. Absolutely love Christmastime with the Nelsons. It takes me back to the good old Christmases of being a kid. I'm going to order more Nelson's!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2012
You get the Nelson for eight episodes and I love it! Bringing back old movies are a thing that needs more looking into for our old folks who remember and the young ones who need to know. It is a way to compare life in the past lane to the fast lane. A real keeper. Check out little Rick, "Yeah, boy."
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2015
I had never seen any episodes of OZZIE & HARRIET until I saw the CHRISTMAS EPISODES: "A BUSY CHRISTMAS", and "A LATE CHRISTMAS" They are on a five episodes collection called: "THE CHRISTMAS TV EPISODES", which also include an episode from THE BEVERLY HILLBILLIES, & two episodes from THE JACK BENNY SHOW. Anyone who is a fan of OZZIE & HARRIET would enjoy having all of the CHRISTMAS EPISODES in this one collection. They are such a delight to watch and they are so funny. Unfortunately they are not listed on the liner in the order in which they appear on the disc. And they are not in the order in which they were shown on TV, either.

On the liner, the episodes are listed this way:
1. "Boy's Christmas Money"
2. "Day After Christmas"
3. "Girl In The Emporium"
4. "The Fruitcake"
5. "The Miracle"
6. "Christmas Tree Lot"
7. "A Busy Christmas"
8. "A Late Christmas"

Below is the order in which the episodes actually appear on this DVD:
1. "Boy's Christmas Money"
2. "A Busy Christmas"
3. "Christmas Tree Lot"
4. "Day After Christmas"
5. "Girl In The Emporium"
6. "A Late Christmas"
7. "The Fruitcake"
8. "The Miracle"

When the show was in production, the episodes aired in this order:
1. "The Boy's Christmas Money" - December 19, 1952
2. "Late Christmas Gift" - December 26, 1952
3. "The Miracle" - December 25, 1953
4. "The Fruitcake" - January 07, 1955
5. "A Busy Christmas - December 19, 1956
6. "The Day After Christmas" - December 26, 1956
7. "The Christmas Tree Lot" - December 18, 1957
8. "Girl In The Emporium" - December 14, 1960

I wish they had been placed on the DVD the way they first aired on TV. If they had, we would have seen the growth of the boys. And the later Christmas Episodes were better, I think. I may be a little prejudice here because they are also my favorites, from "A Busy Christmas" to "Girl In The Emporium. And I'm in love with "Wally Plumstead". He was so funny.

The following are my interpretations of each episode:
1. "Boy's Christmas Money" - David and Ricky want to earn money to buy Christmas Presents. Ozzie And Harriet try to help them without each other's knowledge, but they wind up finding their own jobs.
2. "Day After Christmas" - David and Ricky's reminiscing about the day after Christmas, makes Ozzie think that they want to spend some time up at the lake.
3. "Girl In The Emporium" - After Ricky and Wally Christmas Shop at The Emporium, and meet "Terry", the Salesgirl, they both apply for a job in the same department that she works in. This was the second and last Christmas Episode in which Wally (Skip Young) appears in.
4. "The Fruitcake" - Ozzie gets upset that Thorny shows no imagination beyond giving him Fruitcakes for Christmas.
5. "The Miracle" - David and Ricky want it to snow for Christmas so that they could go Skiing.
6. "Christmas Tree Lot" - David and Ricky need to make money to buy Christmas Presents, so their friend Wally suggest that they sell Christmas Trees. This was the first Christmas Episode in which Wally (Skip Young) appears in.
7. "A Busy Christmas" - Ozzie becomes a Mr. Scrooge when he's asked to do more and more Christmas Duties.
8. "A Late Christmas" - A missing Christmas Gift at the "Nelsons" allows them to bring some Christmas Joy to a less fortunate family.

This show had Fourteen Seasons. I often wonder how come when a show run for awhile, why doesn't every season have a Christmas Episode? I think too that Wally should have appeared in at least one more Christmas Episode. I think he could have appeared in: "Day After Christmas", placing him in the Skating Rink Scene and the Campfire Scene, easily.

There is another Ozzie & Harriet Christmas compilation availabe, but it only has four epiodes. But this compilation is complete, as far as I know. Though there does seem to be some confusion with the Christmas Episode: "A Late Christmas". I have seen it titled as "A Late Christmas Gift" and "The Lost Christmas Gift". And another Christmas Episode that I feel was mistitled is "Girl In The Emporium". How about something that may have made more sense for the episode, like: "Rick And The Salesgirl" or "Rick's Christmas Crush".

I think this collection was/is well worth my money. Though l already had two of the episodes that are on this disc, it is still worth the near six dollars that I paid for it. It even contains commercials from the episodes. I have tons of Christmas Movies and other episode. But I find myself watching this entire DVD over and over. I am a forever devoted fan of "The Adventures Of Ozzie & Harriet" no matter what episode I'm watching.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2015
I love old shows & I love Christmas shows so I totally enjoyed this dvd. Ozzie & Harriet was a little before my time so I haven't seen many episodes. I find this show to be heartwarming & wonderfully refreshing, especially compared to today's trashy tv! Hope to purchase more episodes of this show if they ever come out with them all in chronological order. The quality of the picture is not the greatest, not sure if it's just because it's an old show or what. Regardless, it was still very enjoyable!
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2013
Oh to go back in time.... well you can for few episodes of some Holiday Hilarity with this DVD. it is perfect for a Christmasy night and perfect for all ages. Grab some cookies and milk, sit back and delight in the adventures of a simpler time. I learned things about the past too!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2015
Tremendous collection of nostolgic episodes from this great series. May new Christmas episodes I have never seen before, especially "The Fruitcake" and "The Miracle", the latter of which is a touching reminiscent view of Ozzie's Dad or Grandfather and the rest of the actors playing similar part dressed in Victorian garb; a hoot to say the least!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2013
This was one of the really GREAT Family Shows that no longer exist!! Its a pleasure to watch this Family in action!!
It will bring back great Christmas Memories!!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 24, 2012
The title says it all. This is not a true DVD release, but rather a "homemade" product. The episodes are also in edited form.
33 comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse