Amazon Business Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 STEM March Birthstone Shop Popular Services biglittlelies biglittlelies biglittlelies  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Trade in and get paid instantly Tackle Any Terrain with Cycling on Amazon STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 2,886 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 3,724 reviews
on August 23, 2016
Everybody knows Alice, of course. The reason for buying this particular edition of her adventures is the 13 “drippy, trippy, hypersaturated” (as Mark Burstein describes them in his introductory essay) illustrations by famed surrealist artist Salvador Dali, originally composed in 1969.

This book is a worthwhile addition to the collection of any Dali fan, but people familiar only with his paintings will be in for a surprise: these illustrations, done in a mixture of gouache (a thicker version of watercolor) and black ink, have a style quite different from the photograph-like realism with which Dali usually rendered his melted watches, spindle-legged elephants, and flaming giraffes. (The ink parts of the pictures, however, are similar in style to other drawings that he did.) Certain well-known Dali motifs, such as “crutches” propping up pieces of anatomy and, yes, a melted timepiece, do appear here and there, however. The softness of the gouache makes an interesting contrast to the sharpness of the ink figures.

Those looking for literal representations like the Tenniel drawings that usually accompany Carroll’s book may be disappointed, since Dali’s illustrations, for the most part, are semiabstract. Alice is always represented by an ink sketch of a girl in a full-skirted dress skipping rope, casting a long shadow, a figure that also appears in a Dali painting or two, as the introduction explains. Other characters are much harder to identify. I found it intriguing that the butterflies and other insects that often appear in the pictures are always painted very realistically, unlike most of the other figures.

The book has two introductory essays, “Dodgson and Dali” by Burstein and “The Math Connection” by mathematician Thomas Banchoff. Burstein’s essay draws parallels between Carroll and the Surrealists, provides some background on Dali’s composition of the illustrations, and quotes some other critics’ responses to them. Perhaps because I don’t have a mathematical background, I found Banchoff’s essay less rewarding: it explains that Dali had an interest in certain aspects of mathematics, including Banchoff’s work, which ties the artist indirectly to mathematics professor Dodgson, but the mathematics in question doesn’t seem to have much to do with the Alice illustrations.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2017
These are two separate children’s books, but the edition I read is one of several in which they are bundled together. Besides the fact that each is only a little over 100 pages, they are conveniently bundled because they share the same lead character, Alice, and take place in similar (arguably the same) alternate realities: Wonderland and the Looking-Glass World. These are worlds in which strange events are common place and there’s little compulsion to behave logically-- worlds in which imagination rules and reality only provides a subconscious shaping of events.

In the former book, Alice enters the alternate world by tumbling down the rabbit hole and in the later she does so by stepping through a mirror (i.e. a looking-glass.) Each of these books follows Alice from her entry into the alternate reality, through a series of adventures, and then back to the real world.

Not much of a review is necessary because even though—given you are reading a review—you probably haven’t read the books yet, you will be familiar with many of the characters and references from widespread appearance in pop culture. I already mentioned the tumble down the rabbit hole, as does Morpheus (Laurence Fishburne) in “The Matrix.” That movie also references chasing the white rabbit, as does a famous song by Grace Slick. You’ve also probably seen or heard references to the grin of the Cheshire Cat and the frenetic behavior of the Mad Hatter. “Through the Looking-Glass” features several well-known characters from English nursery rhymes (e.g. Tweedledee & Tweedledum as well as Humpty Dumpty.)

It’s also not so important to get into plot because the stories are purposefully chaotic and exist in a world of loose logic. The strings of causality are not so strong, but it’s on purpose. It’s supposed to be a strange and surreal world, and it achieves great success in this regard. Events don’t have to make sense; they just have to be imaginable. This doesn’t mean that there is no flow or transitions between the adventures in these books. There is. It’s more easily recognized in “Through the Looking-Glass” in which a game of chess provides an underlying structure for the unfolding of events.

I’d recommend everybody read these books. While I referred to them as “children’s books,” I also agree with Neil Gaiman’s point that that is a nonsense term. So one shouldn’t think one missed the boat and there is no going back.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2016
In 1969 Random House produced a limited run of Alice in Wonderland with 12 wild and colorful heliogravures by surrealist artist Salvador Dali. They issued 2500 standard editions and 500 deluxe editions of the book, charging $375 retail for the standard edition. Copies of the standard edition in good condition now sell for thousands of dollars.

This edition reproduces the original Lewis Carroll text with nice reproductions of the Dali illustrations at a price everyone can afford. The additional material by Carrollian expert Mark Burstein and by a mathematician friend of Dali, Thomas Banchoff, add to the value of owning this edition of Alice no matter how many other versions you may already have.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2015
Bought it in the hardcover. My girlfriend loves alive in wonderland! And has Dali paintings all around the house. When she saw they were coming out with this illustrated edition She had to have It!
So on our anniversary I looked and looked. I found it here! I couldn't have been more happy about my purchase, and my girlfriend was absolutely overwhelmingly ecstatic and loves it. Amazing in every way
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2016
Having an American read the character of Alice in the story of Alice in Wonderland seemed like a big mistake to me when I set out to listen to Scarlett Johansson read this classic.

I underestimated her skill as a reader and performer, and what a pleasant surprise that was.

The story of Alice in Wonderland isn't a new one. It's been animated and acted and animated again, and released in a  hundred formats. Filled with whimsical characters and a fulfilling plot of a little girl coming into her own (say what you will about Lewis Carroll's hidden agenda in the story) it's a surefire win for both kids, and imaginative adults alike. If you enjoyed this book as a kid, you'll enjoy the version performed by Scarlett.

Scarlett truly offers a transcendent performance in this. While her British accent might not be perfect her ability to bounce between all of the characters in the story and give them unique life is wonderful. I especially enjoyed her performance with the mock turtle and the griffin.

Alice in Wonderland is a short listen at less than three hours, but one that I think anyone will enjoy. I don't recommend speeding the narration. Her voice is well suited for the style of the story and the pace she reads at, and you'll lose some of her nuance if you accelerate the pace.

Lots of fun from a new voice telling an old story.

Audiobook was purchased for review by ABR.

Please find this complete review and many others at my review blog

[If this review helped, please press YES. Thanks!]
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2015
Absolutely lovely. I love the original story, so I was excited about pre-ordering this. I bought it for Anna Bond's illustrations, and they are perfection. The dust jacket is very nice too, but the just the bound book is a beauty.
review image review image review image
11 comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2016
There is no reason to rate these classic children's stories. Lewis Carroll's genius is well-documented. I only wish to comment on this specific MacMillan edition. Although the gift edition is beautifully printed, please note that the book is small -- 4" x 6" -- and the text block is even smaller than that, making the font size minute. I love the book, but this small edition was misconceived. I bought it without noting the size. Buyer beware.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2016
Alice returns to yet another madcapped adventure. As Alice plays around with her kittens, Snowdrop and Kitty, she unwittingly steps through the mirror into another world reminiscent of Wonderland. Along with Alice, we meet the marvelous characters of the Red Queen, Tweedledum and Tweedledee, the White Queen, Humpty Dumpty, a lion, a unicorn and the White Knight. Through the Looking Glass is interspersed with oddly amusing poems like the Jabberwocky, The Walrus and the Carpenter, The White Knight’s Song and Hush-a-by lady. But the grandest of all has to be Lewis Caroll’s final poem…“A boat, beneath a sunny sky…”

In a Wonderland they lie,
Dreaming as the days go by,
Dreaming as the summers die:

Ever drifting down the stream --
Lingering in the golden gleam --
Life what is it but a dream?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon March 1, 2016
Thought I'd browse Amazon (once again) and see what illustrated classics could be had for a song and pass it on. This rendition by Wisehouse Classics is well-done, well-formatted and well-illustrated (You'd be positively cheating yourself not to get yourself an edition illustrated by Sir John Tenniel who is the master with regards to this children's book.) Ordinarily I'd give it five stars were I not to have already purchased the Bookbyte Digital version (which is my personal favorite given the extras at the close), but overall you most definitely will not be disappointed to own this version as well. Terrific!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Sure, you can download these two classic stories for free nowadays. But for those that love books and love showing off their book collection, this is a beautiful hardcover version of two Alice in Wonderland stories.

This special book was released in 2012 as part of the Barnes & Noble Collectible Editions. This particular edition is now no longer sold, but a flexible pink alternate "paperback" version replaces it.

For those that managed to get the hardcover, it is a gorgeous book. The cover has a design that looks like it fits right in a Wonderland library. It's a lavender cover, with gold lettering and pink accents. The back has a quote as its design: ' "Curiouser and curiouser!" cried Alice.' The pages have a pink colored edge, and the book comes with a gold-colored fabric bookmark built in.

If you can manage to get your hands on a copy, this is a beautiful book to add to your home library. Recommended.
review image review image review image review image review image
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse