Your Garage Luxury Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Shop Popular Services Catastrophe Catastrophe Catastrophe  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. National Bike Month on Amazon disgotg_gno_17

Format: School & Library Binding|Change
Price:$19.37+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 774 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 888 reviews
VINE VOICEon March 5, 2010
I've always loved Aesop's Fables and to have them all in one neat collection here on my Kindle for my PC is just great! There ARE capital letters where appropriate, so I'm not sure what the other reviewer here had going on with their version. Rest assured that the problem has now been fixed and it's easy reading. My only complaint is that the individual stories listed in the contents are not click-able and you do have to navigate page by page to get where you need to go. I still believe that this deserves a five star rating though in spite of that just because it is so nice to have all the fables in one place like this for free. You can't beat it!
33 comments| 117 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2012
The CD is an excellent addition to this book! While the book contains over 100 stories the CD covers 42 of the best of them and references the title of each story and the page it can be found in the book.

For parents who would like to convert the disc to MP3 files and add the story/track information here is a list of are all the stories on the CD. If you use J. River Media Center the track information has also been uploaded to their servers so it should automatically add it when you rip/convert the CD to MP3 files.

Aesop's Fables for Children CD Tracklist
Track 1: Introduction
Track 2: The Wolf And The Kid
Track 3: The Frog And The Ox
Track 4: The Dog, The Cock And The Fox
Track 5: Belling The Cat
Track 6: Hercules And The Wagoner
Track 7: The Town Mouse And The Country Mouse
Track 8: The Fox And The Grapes
Track 9: The Bundle Of Sticks
Track 10: The Lion And The Mouse
Track 11: The Shepherd Boy And The Wolf
Track 12: The Farmer And The Stork
Track 13: The Travelers And The Purse
Track 14: The Owl And The Grasshopper
Track 15: The Oak And The Reeds
Track 16: The Rat And The Elephant
Track 17: The Crow And The Pitcher
Track 18: The Ants And The Grasshopper
Track 19: The Ass And The Load Of Salt
Track 20: The Ass, The Fox, And The Lion
Track 21: The Fox And The Stork
Track 22: The Wolf And The Lean Dog
Track 23: The Lion And The Ass
Track 24: The Monkey And The Dolphin
Track 25: The Rabbit, The Weasel, And The Cat
Track 26: The Heron
Track 27: The Cock And The Fox
Track 28: The Fox And The Goat
Track 29: The Cat, The Cock, And The Young Mouse
Track 30: The Goose And The Golden Egg
Track 31: The Mouse And The Weasel
Track 32: The Goatherd And The Wild Goats
Track 33: Mercury And The Woodman
Track 34: The Serpent And The Eagle
Track 35: The Wolf In Sheep's Clothing
Track 36: The Dog And His Reflection
Track 37: The Hare And The Tortoise
Track 38: The Fox And The Crow]
Track 39: The Ant And The Dove
Track 40: The Wolf, The Kid, And The Goat
Track 41: The Lion's Share
Track 42: The North Wind And The Sun

J. River Media Center: [...]
44 comments| 52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2015
Based on the reviews I made sure to purchase a hardback edition. However, we purchased a used edition from an independent seller. We got the 1st edition from Chronicle books, however it did not look like the pictures. I have attached some pictures to show. The Rose and the butterfly picture is included in the book but is not on the cover. Each fable is illustrated by a different artist. This is an interesting approach, but I don't always care for all the styles.

I bought this for my daughter who is 3. She's a bit young to understand the moral lesson of the fables, however this is a nice book to have in a child's library. I have been enjoying reading the fables which I hadn't read since I was a child, as now I am better able to appreciate the morals.
review image review image review image review image review image review image
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2013
Great write up of the fables. I read it to my 5 and 7 year old, they love the one with the bear and the travelers.

Mr. Pinkney puts the "moral" at the end of the story which sums up the learning point very well. Real short and too the point. Though some of the "morals" at the end of each tale are a little difficult to describe to little ones, it takes little effort to make them work.

Great read with plenty of short stories and big elaborate pictures the kids love.

Only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is some morals are written a bit beyond the 1st or 2nd grade level, when the rest of the work in the book is all at the level. Its not an exhaustive either, there are more Aesop fables that aren't included, but it works for what I'm using it to do. Great for bedtime stories.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2017
We can learn something from these ancient stories, which have been handed down from generation to generation since a Greek slave named Aesop supposedly compiled them. What can we learn? Humans have been passing down state-the-obvious drivel for a long, long time.

“The Tortoise and the Hare,” “The Boy Who Cried Wolf” – for every one of those legendary tales, which actually have a point, Aesop delivers ten more pearls of wisdom like this one:

"The Gnat and the Bull"

A Gnat alighted on one of the horns of a Bull, and remained sitting there for a considerable time. When it had rested sufficiently and was about to fly away, it said to the Bull, “Do you mind if I go now?” The Bull merely raised his eyes and remarked, without interest, “It’s all one to me; I didn’t notice when you came, and I shan’t know when you go away.”

Feel smarter now? -- grouchyeditor.com
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2014
Every child should have this quaint book and become familiar with the fables. It will help with their literacy, as allusions to the fables occur in many books and in conversations. By reading widely, children develop crucial background knowledge that they can then bring to their writing, their thinking, and their own conversations. It's the wise parent who continually provides books to children (and themselves) that expand ideas and help to develop a rich inner life.

Some have quailed over the use of the word "ass" in this text. It's the old way of referring to a donkey. When I read these aloud to my children, I simply said "donkey" when the alternative word presented itself in the fable, as I didn't want my children to be embarrassed by using "ass" themselves, however innocently. As they got older and read for themselves, I explained this and it was no problem.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2015
As other reviewers have said, the worst thing about this is the fact that the stories have all been "updated". A lot of the charm was lost from the original stories, at least in my opinion. The morals do still remain, so it doesn't make them irrelevant. The pictures are extremely beautiful, too, so if you don't mind the changes to the story, then it's well worth a dollar.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2016
Aesop, [ 620 - 560 B.C. ] Ambassador to King Croesus, didn't write down his fables, but they were so well received as stories that they were handed down from generation to generation and country to country to the present day.

This handsome 1999 edition, The Classic Treasury of Aesop's Fables beautifully illustrated by Don Daily [ 1940- 2002 A.D. ] sets out Aesop's best loved stories and their moral message to delight and inform children of all ages.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2017
The hardback edition has pretty pictures but most of the fables are little more than a paragraph. And the paragraphs are mostly 5 lines long! There is not enough story in here to get the point across. They are little more than a synopsis. I was very disappointed in this thin book that does not do the fables any justice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2014
With this latest pop-up book the authors Chris Beatrice and Bruce Whatley have out done themselves in illustrating the classic Aesop Fables! Each story is breathtakingly illustrated with lush colour pictures and paper engineering by Kees Moerbeek! With the GOOSE THAT LAID THE GOLDEN EGG the surprises that the farmer and the wife find are well illustrated and presented with each turn of the pop-up page! And when the farmer has a look of concern over what his wife will do next as she decides to kill the goose to get all the eggs at once a flip of the page reveals the goose has been killed and the animals look sad at the loss! These smaller pop-ups reveal the full story while the large center piece shows the goose in full glory before her demise!

In THE FOX AND THE CROW a spectacular tree stands in full view with the fox at bottom and the crow at the very top! When the fox compliments the crow and says I bet your voice is preetier then the other birds, the crow agrees and lets out a caw, caw sound and the fox gobbles up the cheese that the crow had in it's beak! The fox said, "You do have a beautiful voice but you don't seem to have a brain!"

In the familar story The TORTOISE AND THE HARE the pop-ups present the wily hare who is outdone by the tortoise in the last pop-up page! The next 5 storys are presented with one pop-up for each story on a 2 page spread! THE HORSE AND THE STAG, THE DOG AND HIS BONE, TWO TRAVELERS AND A BEAR, THE WIND AND THE SUN, and THE FOX AND THE GRAPES each have an approprite pop-up to illustrate their tale. At times the pop-ups are tricky to fold back in but they fold in well for the most part!

The next to last story is THE LION AND THE MOUSE with the tale starting out with the lion catching a mouse who has woken him up! When the mouse suggests he might help the lion some day the lion lets him go! The center pop-up shows the lion captured in a net and the last pop-up shows the lion freed by the mouse for a happy ending!

Finnaly there is THE ANTS AND THE GRASSHOPPER with this pop-up tale well presented and Aesop is presented as a boy surrounded by his animal friends! Highly recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse