Beauty Kindle 10th Anniversary Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Russell Dickerson PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition $99.99. Limited-time offer. All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now HTL17_gno


on April 20, 2015
Love Stephane Grappelli, timeless
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2014
But of course. A do have for your collection.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2013
its a must.....this cd must be in all collections......grappelli is one of the best .........you can't go wrong buying this cd
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2013
Also classic Grappelli and easy to listen to while doing other things. While masterful, it is soothing and a calming influence
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2009
this is such fantastic music! I totally love it. I LOVE jazz music with violins and Stephane Grapelli is probably the best at it. I've heard other grapelli cds but the recordings are sooooo old, you can hear it. but this cd is great, and if you close your eyes while listening you feel as if you were in paris. Mr. Grapelli is fantastic!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2007
A beloved friend introduced me to Grappelli's gypsy jazz, and I'm forever indebted. There's music here to fit a multitude of moods--romantic, teasing, playful, sweetly sad, full of longing, joyous . . . It's music I live by. And I've asked my children to play a selection at my funeral--"You Were Only Passing By."
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2005
True Grappelli fans know the various phases of Stephane's career. The early years with Django, the post-Django era where Stephane played mostly in hotels and restaurants with jazz combos featuring drums and piano, and the post-1973 era where he gained international recognition playing with guitarists again like Martin Taylor, Diz Dizley, and Mark Fosset sans drums and piano. This album was recorded in 1971 and fits into the second category.

If you're into the "nightclub" Stephane then you'll love this album. It reminds me of the lineup he had during WWII with George Shearing on piano. Marc Hemmeler does a great job on piano assisted by Kenny Clare on drums and Eberhard Weber on upright bass. This is a studio recording as opposed to the live recordings which were so numerous in the post-1973 era, and is therefore a bit more on the polished and structured side. Those of us who love to hear him improvise with wreckless abandon as he tended to do in a live performance can't help but notice that something is missing here, and yet the results are so tasteful you really feel guilty for complaining.

My favorite cut is probably #7 - Manoir De Mes Reves/Daphne which were composed by Django Reinhardt. This is vintage Stephane, starting off with a slow, melodic piano accompaniment that transforms into a swinging tribute to a lady friend of the Hot Club Quintet.

Picture yourself in a smoky jazz club around 1970 with your sophisticated friends soaking in the avant-garde artistry of a musical legend while downing a few cocktails and discussing world events. No music would be more fitting than the contents of this recording.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2005
This music is pure enjoyment. The joyfull afternoon in paris; you can tap your feet while watching people from a sidewalk cafe. This was the first CD by Stephane Grapelli I bought. I knew of him and his association with Django Reinhardt but never explored their music before. Stephane swings, he can be lyrical, witty and full of grace. The sound of his violing just lightens up the room. You might be surprised by bassist Eberhard Weber, if you know him from his later solo ECM efforts, and his solid ability to do the "walking". This music passes every test, whether you listen attentively, feel like dancing or doing the ironing.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 1999
I really like Jazz Music, and one of my favorite Jazz musicians are Stephane Grappelli, who as far as I know was the "King of Jazz Violin." I listened to his album, Afternoon in Paris, and some of the songs such as Autumn Leaves, at it's speed get me in a jazz/swing dancing mood. Some other songs, such as Misty, sooth and relax me. If you are a jazz fan, and you have not yet listened to this album, rush to the nearest record store and buy it-immediately! "Ce Est Une GRAND Album!!!!!"
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2001
This is a great CD for weekend afternoon. It always reminds me about my relaxing and excellent Paris afternoon in an outdoor coffe shop or Cafe. If you have visited Paris, definitely enjoy this CD. If you have not got to Paris, listening this CD will get you excited about your future Paris vocation.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here