Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $59.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 44 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 61 reviews
on February 17, 2017
I bought this before heading into meetings with agents and managers in LA and I'm so happy I did!! Getting advice from the person you're most trying to appeal to is brilliant!
His book is full of relevant industry advice, and discusses the nitty gritty behind the scenes dealings that make Hollywood go around-- the good, bad and the ugly. Unfortunately I love what I do too much to give it up after twenty years! If you are an artist and planning to have a long career, do yourself a favor and read this book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2015
This is probably essential information for anyone wanting to break into television in LA. I'm not aiming for LA, but I found the book extremely good at explaining the actor/agent relationship: IE how to be an actor an agent would want to represent.

I gave the book 4 stars instead of 5 only because it's very short and skimps on some of the smaller details I was looking for like how to format and present your resume. There is definitely good information about those topics, just not the practical examples I was hoping to find. That said, I don't think it's a reason not to buy this book.

If you want to know and understand how agents really think and what they are looking for (and not looking for), this is definitely worth the investment of a few dollars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2016
This book is clearly self-published, as the corrective hand of a good editor is missing (repeated use of the word "advice" when "advise" was meant, for example,) but it's a good read, if outdated (the author recommends the Thomas Guide for getting around town to auditions and survival jobs like waiting tables, which make no sense when there are far more lucrative work-on-your-own options available to actors these days.) That said, it was very informative and is written in an easy, conversational tone. A quick read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2013
Christoph Waltz once said, acting is like being a father, "Anyone can have a kid, but it takes time, patience, and skill to be a Dad."

Tony Martinez's book outlines the process it take to not only hone your craft, but make a living in Hollywood. The most valuable part for me is the six-month plan. Some of the things seem obvious: have enough money to survive while pursuing your dream, but others are pure gold bits of advice: don't submit your headshots to agents in the months of January-March since they're bogged down with pilot season.

There are other books out there for actors trying to make it in Hollywood, but I like Martinez's spry writing and down-to-earth approach. Take the right steps with Tony's guide and you'll have a definite leg up on the competition.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2017
Good book. It's a bit outdated but there's a lot of information for the newby actor.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2012
I typically don't like reading, but I read how great this book was so I got it. I got this book a few years ago and I still recommend it to everyone that talks about the desire to break into acting. If you are looking for someone successful in the business to tell you the truth, this is the book for you. If you are thinking about going into acting, read this first! Not only does this book tell you about how to start acting, but it gives you many answers to commonly asked questions. This is about the business side of acting - something that every actor NEEDS to learn about if they are serious.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2013
i was surprised by how short this book was, but i guess that's how a showbiz guide book should be- straight and to the point. i can see this as being very helpful to aspiring actors, but it also leaves a lot to be desired. the author is really funny and makes the book entertaining to read, but i feel that he could have gone into more detail about how exactly actors should go about acquiring agents. he put a lot of emphasis on what actors shouldn't do... and outlined what they should do... but left a lot of gaps inbetween. in any case, this is a great read. i would recommend it for sure!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2014
The basic ABCs of the business of acting in Hollywood. To be a successful actor it is not enough to be good at what you do, you need to know what everyone else does and how you fit in. Tony explains the roles of casting directors, agents, and managers, and why having a good GPS for your car is essential to success(you can't nail the audition unless you know how to get to the studio.) My comfort level with the business went way up after reading this book. It's worth the price!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2016
Tony's writing reads exactly as he speaks. I felt like he was sitting here explaining all this to me himself. Finally, a no nonsense look at how the business works. It's all such a mystery. Thanks for giving us a peek behind the agency curtain!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2017
A bit outdated but very practical and informational

Am seriously not gonna write any more words cuz of amazon. The book was totally worth it tho
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse