Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 11-19 of 19 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 63 reviews
on March 29, 2014
The quality of the facts interwoven with fiction is exceptional. Recommend this series for history buffs and those who may want to try a new venue.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2013
Enjoyable start to the series. Looking forward to reading the reaming books on the life of Alexander. If you like history, Manfredi is a great well researched easy reading author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2009
Not a bad book. Just not great. Perhaps reading "The Persian Boy", by Mary Renault, spoiled me.

"Alexander, Child of a Dream", while a nice a nice collection of facts and anecdotes, does not have the magic to carry beyond the ordinary. There are several books on Alexander the Great by Mary Renault I would not hesitate to recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2013
The first book in the legendary tale of the most inspirational person in history. This books reveals how Alexander was shaped for greatness.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2013
Very well written as are all the books of Valerio Massimo Manfredi. He makes history come alive. This is an excellent series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2006
There isn't enough left of Alexander's life to be able to flesh out his childhood this thoroughly. What Manfredi has done is taken information of what life might have been like for a "barbarian" king's son being raised to be an acceptable Greek of that time. What Manfredi has fantasized is a good read. The timeline feels a bit screwy too. Read a good history of Alexander first to get a good grounding in what we do know about Alexander's life, then read this fairy tale. It's a good fantasy.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2011
There are many books on Alexander the Great, and I have read as many as possible. Without hesitation I can recommend Manfredi's book as the best I have yet encountered.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2009
Nice book, entertaining as it mixes well-known historical facts with author-guessed facts, to give a nice novel with deep historical insight. Willing to read the second part. Convenient price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2010
Very good novel.
I read it first at my friend's house and it was fantastic.
I decided to buy them from amazon for collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$11.17

Need customer service? Click here