Industrial Deals Beauty Oprah's Book Club STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services _fof _fof _fof  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now STEMClub17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 11-20 of 67 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 76 reviews
on December 5, 2011
I wish it had the charts on knitters graph paper and I wish there were stitch and row counts. Other than that it's a wonderful inspirational resource.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2017
Anyone who does stranded knitting should have this gorgeous pattern book. No one can beat Alice Starmore when it comes to fair-isle design. This book is awesome.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2013
Get this if you want crystal clear charts to play with. I had the cover cut and ring bound at Staples so it's easier to follow or copy the designs. There is an explanation of how to translate your swatch measurements into numbers of stitches and rows for particular sizes but you have to decide on the design yourself. There are examples of her work and how she puts designs and colors together but don't buy this if you are wanting an actual garment pattern. It's a book for ideas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2014
The designs and all the technique information in this book make it a classic. I only wish there were color charts for all of Starmore's colors. Since most of the charts are shown in black and white, you need to have some experience with planning colors for Fair Isle to proceed with confidence. If all her colors were charted in the book, it would be easier to "play" with them to create your own mix.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2014
These books are full of beautiful knitting designs. I've been a knitter for a long time, and I've never seen such elegant, artistic designs for knitting. I think the author is an artist, a photographer, and studied design and color. I'm just amazed at the quality of the designs, and can't wait to use them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2016
Absolutely beautiful patterns! I just wish it was in a "binder" format so the pages lay flat while trying to work a pattern.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2015
Wonderful book! A must for anyone interested in fair isle/color knitting. Great companion to Alice Starmore's "Book of Fair Isle Knitting." Simply filled with beautiful patterns.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2013
Alice Starmore does some of the most stunning Fair Isle sweaters seen on the earth. She has added incredible knowledge to the knitting world by sharing her method of color changing in Fair Isle patterns. In this book she shares the charts for the patterns themselves as well.

A stunning book, and a great lesson in making beautiful knitted garments.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2013
This book really does give you lots of ideas and color charts I have used several ideas in my current project and plan to use many more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2013
I have used this book so many times since getting it! I have used it in at least 15 projects so far and I just love incorporating traditional "Norwegian/Swedish" patterns into my knitting! great refernce book for the experienced/colorwork knitter to have on hand!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse