Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: All In: The Education of General David Petraeus
Amazon Vehicles Back to School Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Chris Staples Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Back to School

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 17, 2012
Paula Broadwell has produced a book that is both deceptive to its audience while pouring undeserved adulation on General Petraeus. It may have been an interesting book if there had been any true attempt made to be objective and to do a true journalistic endeavor by checking out the General's presentation points to make sure that he was not being deceptive. For a true narration of Petraeus contribution to the wars please read Graham Porter in Truth Out.

Don't waste your money on Paula's attempt at a biography. Hopefully her last attempt!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 11, 2012
Pretty sad to hear about Gen David Petraeus and his resignation as CIA Director, after an admitted affair with his biographer.

Before you go out to buy the book, or even check it out from your local library, I'll give you a tip: don't.

It's horrible. I checked this book out a year or more ago, from the library, and it's one of the very, very few books I've failed to finish. As I recall, it seemed to border on pure hero worship and seemed to be nothing but the worst kind of suck-up writing that I almost gagged as I labored through the first few pages.

I eventually did something I never do, which was flip from chapter to chapter, trying without success to find some redeeming quality. From my perspective, there was none.
1111 comments| 109 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2012
Reads like a term paper - and not a very good one. Everyone seems to be writing a "book" these days. Unfortunately there are too few publishers around that will tell a writer the truth. Publicity and sales are the criteria, not good writing.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2012
I read the book--at the time I thought it was so much flattery of the General. General P was a "political" general--first, marrying the Superintendent's (MG Knowlton) daughter gave him a fast track forward advantage within his USMA class pursuit of stars. Paula gives credit to MG Knowlton for the Hamlet Evaluation System(HES) in RVN--(that was a total failure IMHO as an advisor with John Paul Vann in Pleiku). However, General P did his doctoral thesis on Vietnam at Princeton, but never served there.
Question for SECDEF and OMB DOD analysts: Why did General P need a PhD? A waste of money and time. Paula reports that General P is surrounded by his many "mentees" who are active duty PhD's!! The Army Mentorship Program that needs review. She reported he had a "flat" organization where all his many mentees at any rank can advise him. Question for SECDEF: How many personnel were in General P's entourage in AFGHANISTAN? Count all mentees, aides-de-camp, stenos, speechwriters, cooks, uniform managers, drivers, personal security, and others. On the Imus show, the author of Assassin was in country and claimed the General P's entourage exceeded in numbers of the George Bush road entourage.
Question for SECDEF: Examine the results of Army promotion boards for the last 10 years--what was the selections rate of Petraeus mentees compared to mentees of others, and those with no mentor--the officers who can do the job on their own without special supporters of higher rank. An equal opportunity problem?
Question for SECDEF: Was Paula recalled for active duty for book writing or otherwise paid for the book effort by DOD funds?
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2013
I didn't really expect much from this book and I was not disappointed. Read like a TV documentary and with very little interesting details.
Given the circumstances between author and subject the title of book is appropriate I guess.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2013
Broadwell had an assignment. Write a dissertation. And for the first few chapters, her biography ALL IN sounds like a doctoral dissertation. I almost expected footnotes on each page. Her style is university modern, with stilted sentences, stilted text and stilted style.

Then it gets worse. I can't blame her love affair, but I can blame the tone of "awe" she uses with every description of Petraeus. Of course, she is quoting him and adopting his point of view. Why? Isn't she a biographer first? This is not fulsome autobiography is it?

I expected and needed a critical view, not necessarily negative criticism, but just wide-awake journalism. Instead. I received wide-eyed hero-worship.

However, at times her prose gets more involved, especially in the action sequences. She is better at describing events rather than concepts. Parts of the book held my interest, but not many.

For much better book on Petraeus, read I LOST MY LOVE IN IRAQ by Michael Hastings.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2013
This book is poorly written and a lot of "facts" are grossly overstated or simply incorrect. There's no real analysis either. Don't waste your time on it.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 11, 2012
Hard to believe this book had its beginnings as a dissertation. The entire work lacks intellectual rigor, and Broadwell's assessment of Petraeus comes off as apologetic from the start. On the upside, the work is a great example of skillful rhetoric. The serious failures of the Afghan campaign (and its architect) are cleverly masked as the nation's crowning achievements; it's a rhetorical style reminiscent of Petraeus himself. And I guess now we know why.
44 comments| 61 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2012
I think it's fairly clear how Paula has garnered her "achievements" in life...probably not based on merit. Apparently this is true of authorship too...she couldn't write the book herself, so the publisher had to hire a ghost writer to do it for her. The book is not worth your money. It's not even worth your time, even if the book is given to you.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2015
A waste of paper written by an adulteress for an adulterer. Petraeus is completely disgraced now, pleading guilt to providing classified information to Paula Broadwell. It's a shame Petraeus won't see the inside of a jail cell.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse