Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 16 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 40 reviews
on March 1, 2016
I bought this DVD so I could see this movie again and again it is a powerful narrative questioning man's place in Nature. Young Christian Bale portrays a young man coming of age, running from the atrocities of a cruel stepfather to the wisdom of a reluctant but ultimately kind mentor.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2013
This film is not one of the better known films of either Christian Bale or John Hurt, however it is a gem well worth viewing.

It is an intimate drama exploring the tightly knit relationship between Bobby, a young man, his abusive step-father, and his companion, "Mr. Summers."

The characters are painted with depth and understanding: Bobby's unstable upbringing results in his adult difficulties, but the beauty and fragility of all nature is shown as redemptive.

I highly recommend purchasing this film through Amazon - you'll find a portrait of interesting characters and a quietly moving plot.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2013
Thought-provoking and original. An ex-banker escapes into the woods, takes-up residence in an abandoned cottage, and exercises his love of animals by providing them with the proper burial when cars and trucks run over them on a highway that runs through the forest. A young man, also an animal lover, runs away from his evil stepfather, and their paths cross. As an animal lover and a vegetarian, this is one of my favorite films.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2010
Christian Bale and John Hurt deliver the finest performances I've watched in quite some time. I was particularly impressed with Mr. Bale's portrayal of Bobby, a young man who is slightly afflicted with minor mental retardation as the outcome of a car crash where his parents died.

He has reached the "age of consent" (18) and comes to the realization that his Uncle (and guardian) is really an evil man who is about to have him institutionalized so he can control Bobby's very sizable inheritance. Bobby runs away and his life starts to open for him.

John Hurt plays a very mysterious man who lives in the forrest and survives by his own talents and his wits. What he teaches Bobby is how good can overtake evil.

Any further storyline description could be a "spoiler," so that's as far as I tread.

I will however, say that the entire production of this "sleeper" film was executed by devine professionals who knew what they were doing and did it! Nothing was shoddy in any respect.

Mr. Bale is an absolute knock-out in every way.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2014
Great job done by all the featured actors in a very interesting and unusual story. Animal lovers, in particular, should enjoy this one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2013
I've always loved Christian Bale. He is such a talented and gifted actor. He can do anything. And this movie is no exception. WOW...he is so good in it. He made me cry so many times. Beautiful movie...very moving and touching
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 16, 2013
Just a brilliant little story from England. There is some gripping innocense to the characters and I recommend this to anyone who likes British cinema as well as an excitement and a glimpse into humanity.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2017
Item was brand new, still sealed! Extremely happy with purchase!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2013
Bought this film for a class assignment a few years ago. VERY well acted, especially on Mr. Bale's part. I would highly recommend to others to see, class assignment or not.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2014
Rare to find and when I did I bought it. It is a great film with surprise twists and turns
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here