Salon Beauty Kindle 10th Anniversary Hallo nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch New Album by Russell Dickerson Electronics Gift Guide $69.99 Handmade Tote Bags hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy  Three new members of the Echo family Now shipping All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now HTL17_gno



on January 17, 2015
As usual, Seth Godin is amazing! If you are in marketing or management, All Marketers Are Liars will make you think about the story your company (or product) is telling, whether or not that story that will resonate with the right people (worldview) who will then buy your product, and whether or not the story you're telling is authentic (which it must be!). Throughout the book Godin provides many examples -- good and bad -- of the various stories told by businesses, from restaurants to car manufacturers to cosmetic companies.

Marketing is storytelling. As a marketer, your job is to tell stories, and in this book Godin will guide you in doing that effectively.

If you are in marketing, I highly recommend this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2010
Today's world is different from yesteryear's world. Seth Godin is right on the mark with this book. He tells you the real psychology behind the technique of an old word "Marketing." Everyone thinks they know what marketing is, they don't. Do yourself a favor and read this book first, before you do anything else. If you understand the psychology in this book you will understand how to Market your brilliant idea. There is no Top Ten, Best Tips or How To Do This, or That. Those are gimmicks, you are just paying someone to tell you what you already know. And you will find the so-called tips are just borrowed ideas not original content. Actually, your story costs nothing to tell, just tell it properly, once you have read the book you will understand. This is one of the best books about Marketing, written by someone who has 'been there done that', gone through the ups and downs of life, and tells it like it is.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2017
My first book from Seth Godin. I have since bought others by him. It's so easy to understand, that you don't want to put it down. It will make you see products and commercials in a whole new light.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2016
This was the first of Seth's books that I read. I really enjoyed this book. His concept of storytelling your product to the consumer is straight genius. It's the framework of marketing that really got me thinking about how I run my business.

What's written in the book will help your marketing mindset tremendously.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2013
Very thought-provoking. I'm reading it rather slowly, but find myself thinking about Seth's ideas over a longer term that way. His ideas about world views keep floating to the surface, as well as the stories we tell about products--from the ones we make to the ones we are. I'm about to start a business with my two teenaged children, and I want to market the product a certain way. It's not a dishonest way, it is just a way that highlights how this product appeals to a currently growing world view, one about pets. My kids aren't entirely comfortable with the strategy, thinking we can't tell that story unless we tell ALL the stories. I think this book will help us all get on the same page. It will certainly help educate them to how products are being marketed to them at every turn.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2017
Good product. Thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2017
Received in good order
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 25, 2005
Summary: Today's most successful marketers create compelling, authentic stories that frame their offerings. Then, instead of telling their story to everyone, they identify the consumers who deeply want a story to believe in, the story that seems like it's been created just for them.

Pros: Well-written with level-headed, actionable insight; a fun, entertaining read. Profound implications for branding professionals: the brand essentially is the story.

Cons: May be a little simplistic at times; a lot of the examples are anecdotal; if you're looking for hard, quantifiable data to support the author's thesis, you won't find it here.

The breakthrough insight for branding professionals in All Marketers Are Liars comes when Godin couples marketing with framing, a theory about cognition popularized during the 2004 US Presidential election race by UC Berkeley linguistics professor George Lakoff. A "frame" is a thought construct, or more simply, a metaphor, a way of thinking about the world. Where Lakoff applies frames to choices in the political arena, Godin connects them to consumer behavior. Essentially, frames are mental shortcuts that help us make sense of a highly complex world. We all carry around dozens and dozens of frames in our mind at any time: Republican, father, mother, opera lover, Manchester United fan, designer, gamer, CEO, doctor, policeman, Californian, consultant, Dead Head, athlete, student, dieter, coffee drinker, Buddhist, film buff and so on. Many of these frames are just sweet little lies that we tell to ourselves in order to imbue life with some sense of meaning.

When we consider a frame like soccer mom, we may conjure thoughts of married women who are busy raising families full of young children, perhaps shuttling their kids to and fro in SUVs. Godin suggests that in order for a brand to hit the mark with its target consumers, the story enveloping the brand must fit the frame. Messages intended for soccer moms are likely to be ignored by hardcore NASCAR fans, unless of course the mom also likes swilling beers down at The Brickyard. Messages that don't fit a particular frame simply will be ignored. Godin's argument is that only authentic stories -- that is, stories that are true to the frame they're targeting -- will ever have a chance of making it into a consumer's consciousness. In other words, only certain stories will ever spark a consumer's attention.

Once the consumer notices the brand, then the story must ring true; true to the frame though not necessarily to reality. Whether or not the story is actually true, in a raw, forensic sense, is irrelevant. If the story doesn't fit the frame, it will not pass into the consumer's mind. If it doesn't penetrate his mind, forget about the branding. Think about a keyhole: only a key of the proper size and shape will fit and open the lock. A frame is like a keyhole. Since the essense of branding, as Walter Landor once suggested, is to create a preference in the customer's mind, the study of the mechanics of framing may be useful knowledge for branding pros to acquire. Find the story that fits the frame. After all, marketers don't choose the frames, consumers do.

In a sense, Godin's book slyly suggests that in the marketplace it's the consumers who are the liars, and successful marketers are just the ones who help them believe their own fibs. Now, isn't that the truth.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2010
Good storytellers have an amazing gift. They can make people believe what they want them to believe. People turn to storytellers in the times of need and want. It comforts them to reinforce their own ideas, their values and their beliefs. In this book, Seth Godin tries to explain that how successful marketers unleash this power for the purposes of marketing in the new world order. As he categorically states that he "lies" when he titled his book "All Marketers are Liars". In fact it is all of us who are the liars and chose to believe the stories of the marketers and then in turn lie to ourselves.

This book is a great read and I would highly recommend to everyone. With compelling collection of cases studies and stories, it relates to each one of us whether you are a marketing professional or not. It doesn't matter if you are selling soap, car or your services at a job interview; Marketing is key to success.

This book will make your think and help you tell your story in a way that fits other people's worldview.

[...]
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2015
I felt myself saying: "Land". As I read the book.. What I did take from it though, is to find what people are thinking and the support that thought with your marketing. Of course this can be argued as pandering but Seth also mentioned to make sure you are authentic in selling the view point. Find out what a subset of people think, check if you can stand by that viewpoint. Market to that subset of people.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse