Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Wonder Woman now available on Blu-ray, 3D, and 4K Shop Now ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 36 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 162 reviews
on October 20, 2016
Not Gibson's strongest outing, but I like him a lot and this one kept my attention. It's a nice sequel to the Bridge Series and wraps up some hanging character threads.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2014
I'm rereading Gibson's three trilogies for the umpteenth time. For me the Bridge Trilogy is the most enjoyable read. Not necessarily the best written,or most prophetic,but the most enjoyable. Likable characters,elegant prose,and a ending that leaves hope for the human condition. What more can a soul ask for. Well done,Mr. Gibson.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2016
William Gibson creates such a vivid landscape in which we operate along with his characters. It's always a future we can envision and the trip on which we're taken can be suspenseful, thrilling and satisfying.
It's impossible to ignore anything he's written and I wouldn't recommend it...you may miss something vital.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2006
A "puppet" (in this novel a virtual personality constucted in software) yearns to be a real boy (in this novel... a real girl!).

This fine book is the culmination of couple of pseudo-episodic Gibson novels...his writing gets better and better and some of the passages are almost impossibly beautiful in their spare conciseness and wonderful language/syntax. Highly recommended for reading out-loud to (or by) your partner.

Gibson skillfully weaves the theory of historical inflection points (or cusps) into a story about how an artifical intelligence/personality (who apparently yearns to be free) manipulates various characters and the public nano-compiler network in order to become embodied as a young woman!

If you didn't catch that your first time through, read it again!

Told almost entirely from the meats' point of view and populated with hints of themes to come in Gibson's following (and very highly recommended) book, Pattern Recognition. Also, for relevant background, read the previous novel: Idoru.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 1999
To describe William Gibson's writing style in one word, it would probably be "energetic." Using a sharp staccato like pen, Gibson manages to construct unique and interesting scenarios. This book has all the characteristic Gibsonian qualities: distributed plot progression, characters covering both ends of the scale from cold and detached to drug crazed frenzy... it also manages to pull in a large number of characters from previous works (Virtual Light, Idoru).. Gibson's last trilogy (the Sprawl) was unique in that one never realized it was that much of a trilogy till the very end...
One annoying fact of this book is that it has a classic Gibson ending.. without giving anything away let's just say it required many readings of the ending before one felt satisfied. It seems the information density per sentence increases exponentially as one reaches the last few pages.
Still, the book is interesting and well worth the read..
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2017
I found that the cyber-punk world painted is not unoike the current arch of our world. The story is shaped so you fall in to the world of the story and need not to find reason.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 10, 1999
I don't give five star reviews easily. Nevertheless, I'll say that both stylistically and in terms of dealing with real ideas about the future, this is Gibson's best or second best book.
As others have noted, he's stylistically back to the evocative, Delaney-inspired prose that made _Neuromancer_ and so many of his short stories work so well. And the characterization is much stronger than in the previous installations of the series. It eschews the contrived "gotta have a plot" scripting of _Virtual Light_ and _Idoru_ in favor of a well-thought-out progression toward an end that, as another reviewer has noted, passes almost too quickly to see -- a typical "Gibson ending", to be sure.
As for the future he depicts.... let's just say that in its own way, it's one of the more chilling dystopias I've ever encountered, wherein society and culture are made manifest in lawsuits and trash TV, and grim hope lives out on the margins in the "autonomous zones"....
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2013
I had read this book many many years ago and honestly I didn't "get it."

After a second read, it fascinates me how nicely this story falls together (in typical Gibson fashion). For a book that was published in 1993, many parts of it could be happening today (!!!).

This book is a challenging yet rewarding reading experience.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 19, 2014
Some good ideas in here. But the "Gibson recipe" used as a narrative template is getting on one's nerves here. It doesn't make the plot richer, but just stretches it in a predictable pattern. The bridge community is an important aspect, though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2000
I found this book to be incredibly frustrating to read and ultimately unsatisfying. Gibson's writing style, hallmarked by inserting long paragraphs in the middle of a character's spoken dialogue, kept me from connecting to the characters. The plot, such as it is, is so thin and pointless that the book would be a pamphlet but for the long descriptions about the mundanity of Gibson's futuristic world.
As a fan of science fiction, and particularly this genre of books, I cannot recommend this book to anyone.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$5.99

Need customer service? Click here