Oil month Automotive HPC World Book Day Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Made for you. Learn more. PCB for select Bang & Olufsen Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Mother's Day gifts Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon westworldS2 westworldS2 westworldS2  Echo Dot Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now Start your Baby Registry

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
56
All Woman and Springtime
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$29.80+ $3.99 shipping


on May 1, 2016
I really got a hangover from this book! I have thought about it many times since finishing it. How does any international human trafficking exist in this day and age? How did this author do his research? I think author Jones has left an opening for a sequel and I for one, hope he does.It was an eye opening fictional work re No. Korean daily life, kidnapping of uneducated naive orphans for the sex trade plied via the internet as well as in sleazy clubs. I felt as if I too was being held captive until the end. And the end posed another common problem...the issue of homelessness in our society.There was compassion by agency workers, but they didn't ask the right questions, or their questions were not understood because of the language barrier, and of course the main character was afraid to tell her story for fear of being sent back to be punished in N. Korea. (The story ends in Seattle).
This was written by a 30 something living on Molokai. It was my Book Club's selection by a member who knows the author. I might not have ever heard of this book were it not for the Book Club. There is so much to discuss! Great choice for a BC.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 9, 2014
This is a very powerful story told from the point of view of the main character and those whose lives intersect with hers. The story starts in North Korea and by a series of unfortunate events ends up in Seattle. The descriptions of life in North Korea are fascinating and so well written I could easily imagine it. The author paints a vivid picture of first love, betrayal and the loss of everything in a society where even dust on a picture can get you sent to the work farm for "re-education" individual thought is discouraged. The novel delves into the world of sexual slavery and ends ... Well, you'll have to read this excellent book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 9, 2012
The dangers of idolatry drew me in and made the last third of the book go twice as fast as the first two thirds. I was constantly looking for the references back to 20 years of constant Kim Jong worship and the effect they would have on the two girls as they entered a constrained and difficult "life" outside North Korea.

Just as no one fully lets go of their religion, these two had events determined by psychological conditioning in their formative years. "Springtime" does not deviate from this reality and that's why I give it 5 stars. Too many stories, both real and fiction portray North Korea as a form of hell. When for many North Koreans, their reality is a far better life than anywhere else in the world since their life has been permanently programmed.

Read this book and the horrors experienced. Understand both the real and artificial barriers in these characters. Then self examine and see what programming exists in your life that has created real and artificial barriers to achieving your dreams.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 11, 2012
I could have read another 10 chapters! I didn't want the story to end. The writer makes you care very much about the characters in this book. I've read quite a few stories (fiction and non-fiction) regarding North Korea since it is a fascinating yet very troublesome, horrible place to be. Remarkable story about resilience and overcoming the worst that could happen to a person. Can't wait to see what the author has in store for us in the future.

The sex trade is so real - I've read non-fiction books that took place in India and Thailand and other places around the world. It is very a very sad state of affairs that this still happens. Very ugly but unless we learn more about it, there will never be an end to it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 14, 2014
This wonderfully written epic tale of several women who are caught up in the maelstrom when they leave the repressive but tightly woven structure of life in North Korea , and have to deal with their own selves as they struggle to survive ,first in South Korea and then in the United States. This should be read by all who deal with those from other countries, and those who try to understand the realities of womens' lives. This book doesn't look the other way, yet finds both redemption and hope in the unlikeliest of places. Could not put the book down. Incredible. Dean Brunel
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 26, 2017
The author does an excellent job of telling the stories of young women facing existential challenges. Please, dear author, write a sequel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 16, 2014
The story was ok, but my main reason for giving this book 3 stars was the abrupt ending. The story followed the main character through many important moments in her life, but her final journey from homelessness to living the American dream was completely left out. Certainly someone who was in the country illegally and without formal education would have faced hurdles and challenges before becoming the mathematics professor that we see her as in the Epilogue. I know a good book should always leave you wanting more, but I felt that the story told was incomplete.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 12, 2014
You know a writer captures a culture when you can picture your grandmother saying the same things as Nei Nei. I felt like Brandon Jones was describing my traditional Chinese grandmother, her cooking, and her simplicity. And the writer captured the way the Chinese people could say loving hurtful statements with just a few words and a look.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 1, 2012
This story opens your eyes on the totalitarian regime in North Korea , but more so, it describes the lives of two women who are victims over and over again, first by their country, then by pimps. The different emotions of being a sex slave are beautifully analyzed and makes the reader fully sympathize with these women. It explains the subtle brain wash and intimidation techniques that pimps use to control their powerless prostitutes. This story is very realistic and hopefully, more people will fight to free all enslaved women and girls in the world.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 12, 2014
I almost never write reviews, but I feel compelled to write this one. This is a very interesting story about the cultural influence of North Korea and how The Dear Leader is viewed as a god to be worshipped. This to me, is the main theme of the book. The sex trade and drugs, etc are almost secondary to understanding how powerful the culture affects the lives of these three women. I was truly impressed. This is an outstanding book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here