Kindle Price: $2.99

Save $12.00 (80%)

Unlimited reading. Over 1 million titles. Learn more
Read for Free
with Kindle Unlimited
OR

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Allegiance: a Border War Thriller (Book #3) (The Cruz Marquez Thrillers) by [Blass, Derek]
Kindle App Ad

Allegiance: a Border War Thriller (Book #3) (The Cruz Marquez Thrillers) Kindle Edition

3.8 out of 5 stars 69 customer reviews
Book 3 of 3 in The Cruz Marquez Thrillers (3 Book Series)
See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$2.99

The Underground Railroad
The latest book club pick from Oprah
"The Underground Railroad" by Colson Whitehead is a magnificent tour de force chronicling a young slave's adventures as she makes a desperate bid for freedom in the antebellum South. See more
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.


Product Details

  • File Size: 2598 KB
  • Print Length: 319 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: Rogue Books, LLC (April 24, 2012)
  • Publication Date: April 24, 2012
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B007XE1QX6
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #402,279 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images or tell us about a lower price?

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

By Clare Chu on April 26, 2012
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Whichever side you are on about the immigration debate, Allegiance hits you in the gut. Set in the borderlands of Arizona, in the frontera between the US and Mexico, Allegiance tells of the invisible war between migrants, militia, and drug mafia. Loyalties shift with the sands of the desert as Cruz Marquez, the activist lawyer finds himself imprisoned by a cruel and sadistic tyrant.

The story draws a complex thread around the debate, intertwining the poignant story of El Santo with the abused drifter, Tyler, and the mafia boss, Tzompantli, whose rite of passage was the fire beard, a network of burn scars where his beard would have been.

The action escalates when the unlikely alliance hits the militia compound with nonstop fighting, tension and violence.

Hard hitting, Allegiance includes bad language, worse attitudes, and gruesome images. Be prepared to have your gut wrenched and your heart broken, as there are no winners in this relentless border war.
Comment 57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
Allegiance was the first book I've read by Mr. Blass and I must say, it took my completely by surprise with both the intensity and the strong prose. From the very beginning where we are introduced to an eclectic and sometimes creepy cast of characters, , "Allegiance" takes off like a formula one race car, barely breaking for the curves in the road.

With writing reminiscent of John Grisham, Blass takes the reader through the world of illegal border crossing, torture, and fast paced action that will make you sit up and take notice. I found the development of Cruz's character particularly well done as he went from (trying not to give away the spoilers here) his life as he knew it, through extreme torture and then the person he came out the other side as, and where that brought him by the end of the book. Realistic, gritty, well done.

To the very end, "Allegiance" pulls you under, Blass' talent is obvious and I have no doubt that he'll be around a very, very long time.

For readers of John Grisham, this is SO your next fix!
Comment 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Derek Blass has another hit with Allegiance! In this follow up to Enemy in Blue, follow Cruz Marquez in this action packed, riveting page turner. It works nicely as a sequel but also can be enjoyed as a complete standalone book on its own. Well written with a fast paced story you will look forward to reading at every opportunity. This is one you don't want to miss.
Comment 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Great read. Good character s and the story just kept getting better. Not something you ever imagined would be the next step. Everything was believable not something that could not actually happen' this would be great if there was a continuation of this story.
Comment 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
Allegiance is the sequel to Enemy in Blue, which I reviewed previously.
The story begins with Cruz and his wife being tortured by an extremist group. The rest of the book is the story of how they "take down" the organization.

The first book was non-stop action. Allegiance seemed to have a bit more character development and details. In fact, I had to put the book down quite a few times and read something else before returning due to the dark and graphic nature of the story. It's a story about drugs, immigration issues and deceit. Quite a few of the incidences are unrealistic, but the issues that the story deals with are a very real issue in our country. It's a good book and definitely worth the read if you enjoy dark, detailed stories that tackle political and racial issues.

I received this book free of charge in exchange for my honest review.
Comment 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By Annie on February 17, 2013
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Thanks for the free sequel. The story line changes a lot after the first books but I enjoyed this book very much too.
Comment 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This is the second best book I've read this week. Of course the best book is also by the same author. The only complaint I have with this book is I would have preferred to know more about the main characters life between the books. Maybe the author could write a short story bridge book like I have seen from other authors. I look forward to seeing if these characters continue in in subsequent books I would definetly purchase them. I have seen both sides of the immigration issue being in EMS and law enforcement for 20 years and marrying into an Hispanic family 22 years ago. Bravo Mr. Glass for your fair portrayal of both sides of a complicated story. I think either or both books would make for an excellent movie franchise.
Comment 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
A really great mystery that requires you to think and draw some of your own conclusions as you read. I won't say more, just read this book. I really enjoyed it and Derek Blass is definitely a author to follow.
Comment 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Allegiance: a Border War Thriller (Book #3) (The Cruz Marquez Thrillers)
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Allegiance: a Border War Thriller (Book #3) (The Cruz Marquez Thrillers)