Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 69 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 78 reviews
on September 18, 2013
What an incredible time to live...what an extraordinary woman ...what an enormous ability to LOVE...and she loved J.Paul like no other woman every did...What a gloriously warm and open armed woman she is...how lucky Getty was to have had her in his life...It is no wonder that he never was able to marry again....Her story truly made me feel as though I was living back in the days of fabulous night clubs of Manhattan in the 20's-30's-40's and 50's....I cannot wait to read her story again and again and intend to buy it as Christmas gifts for all of my friends...I am so hoping that Teddy Lynch Getty Gaston might honor us with another chapter from her life!!!! ABSOLUTELY MAD FOR THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! A MUST MUST MUST READ
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2017
The author has done a wonderful job describing her unique life. The scenes come to life with 1930s transatlantic travel, famous people and of course J Paul Getty. I love this book. It has a lot of heartbreak, and a lot of people were not there for her when she needed them. Just an amazing story and it really brings you back in time. So interesting!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 30, 2013
Alone Together takes the reader away to another time and place. I had a hard time putting it down and loved the honest style of Teddy Gaston's storytelling ! What a life and time in our history! A wonderful story of dedication ,desire,love and loss and a woman that was way ahead of her time. Bravo!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2013
Teddy Gaston Getty is now 100 years old, but in her pages, one feels the thrill of the teenager booked her first singing jobs, determined to be an independent woman, willing to work hard, all the while savoring her independence and advocating for those who were not as strong as she was. From debutante parties, to artists salons, deprivation, jail cell and air raids in Europe, motherhood--Teddy's unsentimental and exhilarating pacing make this book a thrill to read. I could not put it down; even when a tropical storm knocked the power out, I lit candles and took on the final chapters braving the storms just like Teddy. To say the reader will be inspired by Teddy's words is an understatement. She aptly describes joys and pains of her life, all the while showing how both inspired her to always keep moving forward, learning to be grateful for lessons even when they are painful ones. Every young woman who is about to strike out into adulthood should read this book. I know I have already purchased many copies for graduation gifts!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2014
This is the kind of woman about whom, after reading this & then learning that she's 100 and has her own Facebook page, anyone would say, I wish I knew her. She's great. This is a fascinating book, well done by ex-Times staffer Diehl, about an amazing relationship between Getty and a woman who really tried to build a career rather than live off her husband's millions and become one of the Beverly HIlls "ladies who lunch." Her account of her young son's losing battle and death from a brain tumor left me in tears. A day later, I'm still choking up, and I'm not like that. The story is honest and just very well told. One mystery is J. Paul Getty's sad, wistful prologue, specifically referring to "the years covered by Teddy in this book" and saying if he could, he would "do it all over again [but] in a better way next time." However, he wrote this in 1976, died in 1982, and the book came out in 2013. Huh? Was there an earlier version? That oddity is never explained, but one comes away sure that these two people truly cared about each other, and shows how no marriage can survive being alone together.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 13, 2013
What was it like being married to the US's first billionaire? Well, even after reading this I can't say. This is a pretty guarded account of their marriage. He sounds difficult at best and almost criminally neglectful at worst but we never get much of a real insight into their lives together. Essentially, it was a marriage of two individuals who lived their marriage like that - I had the impression it was never a real partnership as both were madly intent on themselves and their own ambitions. (The title "Alone Together" says it all.) Still, it's poignant in one respect - at the time when she really needed him to be there for her and their son, he was unfathomably absent leaving her to cope with the tragedy of their son's short life by herself. But it's a pretty good read and an easy one - if you like reading about the nightclub life of New York in the late thirties, which is where they met, you'll enjoy those aspects of it. And her time, essentially trapped in Italy during the rise of Mussolini, is interesting. Overall though, this is a very slight story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Teddy Getty Gaston shows guts and resiliency in her account of life with (or without, as it were) J. Paul Getty during their 18-year marriage. Teddy comes sparklingly alive on these pages as she paints the portrait of her marriage in glowing terms again and again while relating the actual facts of neglect and abandonment by American's first billionaire--a disconnect made understandable by her tragic introduction to womanhood, related unflinchingly. Her account of son Timmy's six years of struggle with a brain tumor will break your heart. Above all, you will wish you had met this woman who rose above all and tells her fascinating tale with both honesty and forgiveness. Brava, Maestra. Paris Adieu
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2013
Knowing this wonderful woman and admiring her for my many years of our friendship more than many women of quality, I find this book on her life captivating as is she!
22 comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2014
I knew nothing about this wife of J. Paul Getty, nor of the son he had with her. I did know Getty was a tightwad, but didn't know how he treated this wife and expected her to do a lot of the support of herself and his son. If you want to know what a stinker J. Paul Getty was, this book will give you a lot of information.

I saw an interview on British TV with some of the women who lived with Getty at Sutton Place. One woman said Getty promised that if she would move in he would take care of her for life. When she wasn't left any money by Getty she said she thought he meant he would take care of her for her life, not Getty's.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2014
While telling her story with many insightful personal letters, photo's, and documents, it seems very real. But, after reading one gets the idea that maybe this is very one sided. It tells of a strange love affair dealing with one of the wealthiest families of that era. Confusing in the fact that many known details are left out. A gripper when it comes to a love story that is seems is very one sided.
A very interesting woman with a very exciting life. Could not put it down. When I did finish, I felt that a lot of facts had been skipped over. All in all, I enjoyed this very entertaining lady.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse