Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Listen for a chance to win STEM Limited time offer Try it first with samples Handmade Last Minute Gifts Holiday Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon JCVJ JCVJ JCVJ  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on December 11, 2017
Absolutely the BEST version of this movie available. You get several scenes that were cut from the theatre version that explain why Constanze reacts to Salieri so negatively at the end. Lots of other extras, too. You just can't go wrong with this DVD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 9, 2017
Packaging is good with a nice insert, but wish it had a slider box cover. The complimentary CD is great. Almost 5 stars.

The movie, of course is 5 stars and the print this film is from is very good quality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 28, 2016
Seriously one of the finest movies ever made. 2nd to the "Godfather Series." If you want to learn about Mozart and classical music in real time, wow this will blow your mind. As a performing pianist,this moved me sharply.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 5, 2017
Why are DVD's outside the US country code even sold in the US? I ended up renting it on Amazon Video. I like the movie, I just wish I owned it.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 27, 2017
A great film and the package is well documented and includes a Cd. Not 100% historically accurate but tons of fun for Mozart fans
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 16, 2017
Great movie. That Mozart was a rockstar back in his days. Movie is about 3hrs long but very entertaining.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 14, 2007
Of the main characters in the film, the only one that initially made sense to me was F. Murray Abraham. And, what a performance he gives! His Salieri is worth the price of the DVD alone.

On the face of it, Tom Hulce and Elizabeth Berridge were miscast. This is a serious piece and I didn't think either had the depth as an actor to pull it off. But, both did - especially Hulce. He goes from Mozart's childish confidence in his superior abilities, never for a moment thinking perhaps he should be a bit more circumspect, to the agonies of depression and illness.

It was love of this film that made me visit the Mozart house in Vienna last year. I felt that the apartment the film showed the Mozarts living in looked too big, too grand for people like them who were 1) middle class (if there was such a thing in that day) and 2) always having money problems. The actual apartment has quite a few rooms but they are all much smaller than the film suggests.

The other interesting thing in Vienna was that the Mozarts married in Stephansdom cathedral - truly one of the most elaborate and beautiful churches ever built. I wish the film had shown even a little of its magnificence.

This is a movie of great depth but also a wonderful choice to introduce people to classical music.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 21, 2016
I have been a fan of this film since it came out in 1984 and needless to say the Director's Cut is the version to have more detail to the story and by far the better version highly recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
This production is quite lavish. The music is fantastic. The cinematography can't be beat. Listening to the commentary of F. Murray Abraham about how he played the role is great. The scenes included in director's cut makes the movie make more sense. This movie made me interested in classical music.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 6, 2017
The Movie is clear, sharp in new condition and came on time. I really enjoyed this movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Amadeus Director's Cut

Need customer service? Click here