Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: AmazonBasics AA High-Capacity Rechargeable Batteries (8-Pack) Pre-charged - Packaging May Vary
Amazon Vehicles Back to School Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Britney Spears Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Florida Georgia Line Water Sports STEM

Style: Batteries|Size: AA 8 Pack|Change
Price:$19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

I have previously tested the AmazonBasics AA Pre-Charged Rechargeable Batteries (in white wrappers), and concluded that they are just rebranded Sanyo eneloop AA Batteries. When I first heard about the new AmazonBasics High-Capacity Pre-Charged Rechargeable Batteries, my immediate suspicion is that those are rebranded Sanyo eneloop XX batteries. That's why I purchased this product for testing, just to satisfy my own curiosity.

I measured a set of those AmazonBasics 'high-capacity' AA batteries, using my La Crosse BC1000 Battery Charger/Analyzer. Here are my findings:

- Right out of the box, the average remaining charge was 1204mAh, or 48% of the rated 2500mAh capacity. Date code on them says '2014-02', but just like other eneloop batteries, they were not fully charged when then left factory.

- After just one recharge/discharge cycle, the average capacity jumped to 2547mAh.

- After another two more recharge/discharge cycles, the average capacity settled at 2555mAh. The spread is very tight between 2510 and 2610mAh, which indicates good quality control.

The above behavior is nearly identical to that of the Sanyo XX cell, which I have previously tested in 2011.

Mechanically, the AmazonBasics high-capacity cells appear identical to the Sanyo XX. Refer to the photo I uploaded to the 'Customer Images' section, and you will see that they have exactly the same shape for positive terminals, same texture on their wrappers, even down to the same 'vent hole' design.

I should note that the Duracell 'Ion Core' AA Rechargeable Batteries also have identical electrical and mechanical characteristic as the Sanyo XX and AmazonBasics High-Capacity batteries. The Duracell batteries are marketed as just 2400mAh, even though they were tested to be over 2500mAh in capacity. I believe this is done for price differentiation purpose.

Bottom Line:
As of this writing, you can get an 8-pack of Amazon High-Capacity AA batteries for less cost than a 4-pack of eneloop XX batteries. So obviously the AmazonBasics version is a great bargain. My advice is to grab them - before Amazon gets greedy and jacks up the price.

One important note:
The AmazonBasic High-Capacity AA (or Sanyo XX, or Duracell Ion Core) is fatter than a normal-capacity NiMH AA cell, which itself is fatter than a typical alkaline AA cell. So it may not fit if your appliance has extremely tight battery compartment.

[Update on Dec 10, 2014]
Long-term self-discharge data: Tested one pair of AmazonBasics AA high-capacity batteries after 5 months in storage. The average remaining charge is 2175mAh, or 85% of the original capacity. This is even better than my previous 5-month test result for Sanyo XX batteries which showed 2040mAh, or 78% of original capacity.
review image
101101 comments| 1,086 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Style: Batteries|Size: AA 4 Pack|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
THE battery of choice for electronics, similar to Eneloop XX

The precharged (sometimes called hybrid) NiMh (NOT simple conventional NiMh) batteries are about the best alternative to Lithium AA batteries for electronic devices such as digital cameras. These Amazon Basics are similar to the Eneloop XX high capacity cells at a lower cost eneloop XX 2500mAh Typical / 2400 mAh Minimum, High Capacity, 4 Pack AA Ni-MH Pre-Charged Rechargeable Batteries. My tests show (see picture - using La Crosse BC9009 smart charger) that they can last up to 75 minutes or 27% longer in digital cameras compared to the older generation 2000 mAh Amazon Basic Precharged and Eneloop 2000 mAh batteries. An excellent deal.

In depth explanation: The reason is that despite the high capacity claims of the NON precharged variety NiMh batteries, they self discharge, and even when they are used right after a charge, they tend to loose voltage more rapidly. With smart electronic devices, they will shut off when the voltage drops below a certain predetermined level (this has been between 1.15 and 1.20 volts in my experience). As a result a higher capacity conventional NiMh battery may give a dead signal quicker than a hybrid/pre charged NiMh battery with a lower rated capacity. You can see this on my picture where the highest rated capacity 2600mAh La Crosse battery was the first to drop below the cutoff point in my test. True it would have lasted the longest in a flashlight (when freshly charged), but not in an electronic device. The precharged cells are now in a third generation where you can choose very high capacities, or up to 1800 recharge cycles. These Amazon cells are the high capacity, and lower 500 recharge cycles rating. The graph is Lacrosse conventional 2600 mAh, Duracell precharged 2000mAh, Eneloop precharged second gen 2000 mAh, Amazon second gen precharged 2000 mAh, and the current Amazon Basics 3rd gen 2400min 2500 mAh rated precharged batteries (Top light blue plot). The capacity as reported by the La Crosse 9009 after two conditioning discharge cycles was 2585 mAh.

Note: Test results back up in user images
review image
55 comments| 346 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2015
They work well? I preformed comparative mAh test (using a Lacrosse battery charger) with four AmazonBasics AAA H.C. batteries versus four Eneloop AAA (first gen) batteries. The data is as follows (in mAh) - AmazonBasics AAA H.C.: 866; 892; 910; 912 & Eneloop (first gen): 818; 821; 828; 830.
The min mAh rating printed on the batteries for the Amazon Basics H.C.and Eneloop (first gen) is 800 and 750, respectively. I have no 'in the field' performance review since I just purchased these batteries. However, I have been using Eneloops for two and a half years and they are performing great. I have high hopes for AmazonBasics AAA H.C. batteries. I came here to answer some questions I had had before making this purchase....and hopefully this helped.
review image review image review image
44 comments| 62 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2014
Style: Batteries|Size: AA 8 Pack|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
UPDATE (October, 2015): These were higher priced when released, but currently the prices for 2400 mah AA batteries and 2000 mAh AA batteries can be very close, depending on when you buy. If that's the case when you're buying, for many people it probably makes sense to go with these higher capacity batteries.

These batteries have been great to use over the past year and a half. We don't use them intensively, and don't usually fully discharge them. So the reduced life (in terms of the number of charge cycles) isn't a big factor for us. 500 full charge cycles is several years of use for us, or anyone else who uses them even a couple times per week, on average.

If you can get a great deal on some of the other AA options, you may want to consider them. Also consider your needs, in terms of how often you charge them and whether you will use them often enough to get the benefit of a higher number of cycles. The newer Eneloop batteries claim a life of up to 2100 charge cycles. If you recharge them very often, batteries with a higher number of cycles in their life may be a better fit for you.

(For us, we'd probably never get the benefit of 1000-2000 cycles on a set of batteries because that's 10-20 years worth of use for most of our applications. By that time, it seems likely the basic chemistry of the battery will deteriorate, or much better batteries will come along, or we'll lose them or damage them.)

Finally, my review is for the AA batteries. Note that the additional benefit to the high capacity option for AAA batteries is much smaller - a difference of 50-100 mAh (850 vs. 750 or 800). So again, the regular capacity batteries may be a good option for you.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

THE QUICK TAKE: The AmazonBasics High Capacity AA Rechargeable batteries are a nice product, but that comes at a higher price (at current pricing). Unless you need the extra capacity of a 2400 mAh battery, you may want to get the regular 2000 mAh Eneloop or AmazonBasics batteries at a lower price. Similarly, if you don't need to store them before using them, conventional rechargeables will do the job.

The product description on the Amazon product page has a good summary, if you're not familiar with the advantages of "pre-charged" or "low-self discharge" batteries. This is a somewhat new technology, available in the last 10 years or so; the batteries are slow to lose their charge, so they can be sold charged and ready to use; and will hold a charge for some time. It's only relatively recently that higher-capacity versions have been available.

If cost isn't important, and you don't want to have to figure out which battery is which - then sure, stock up on these. But given the cost, most people will want to use these where they are needed.

DO YOU NEED THE CAPACITY? You're paying more for an extra 25% capacity; unless you have a high-drain device that will use that charge, you may be able to use the regular capacity version - such as the AmazonBasics 8 Pack AA Ni-MH Pre-Charged Rechargeable Batteries, 1000 Cycle (Typical 2000mAh, Minimum 1900mAh) or eneloop AA 1800 cycle, Ni-MH Pre-Charged Rechargeable Batteries, 8 Pack. Cameras are a good example of a use where the extra capacity could be important. Slower-draining children's toys, on the other, may not need these batteries.

DO YOU NEED LOW SELF DISCHARGE? If you're looking for a high-capacity battery and you don't plan to store the batteries before using them - for example, you're able to charge your camera batteries each night - there's no need to pay extra for the LSD feature.

CYCLES: Note that these high capacity batteries also state a life of 500 cycles, versus 1000 cycles or more on the regular capacity batteries. Many people overstate the importance of this - if you use even 500 cycles, you're getting your money's worth; and honestly, if you're recharging them within a few days of use, you don't need LSD batteries - regular rechargeables will do. Still, it's another example of how you may want to use these batteries selectively.

USE A SMART CHARGER: You'll want to use a charger that charges each battery individually, often referred to as a smart charger.

The ones I received have a black top, and are made in Japan.
77 comments| 205 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2015
After one discharge/recharge cycle 7 out of 8 of my batteries are showing a capacity around 2500 mAh. This was corresponds to what I have been reading in many of the other reviews. However, a single battery was DOA. It doesn't register in my BT-C2000 charger, and zero potential according to my multimeter. All the batteries show the same manufacture date and there is no external signs indicating damage. I guess I got unlucky and got a dud.

Over all I am pretty satisfied considering I am still play less for each battery, even with the DOA, then I would for Eneloop Pro AA.
review image
22 comments| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon July 21, 2014
Style: Batteries|Size: AA 8 Pack|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The Amazon Basics are a great value if you're looking for rechargeable batteries that last a long time. They come conveniently pre-charged and ready to use out of the box. In my testing, they had about 85% power left straight out of the box and lasted 3 weeks (8 hours a day) in my Apple Magic Mouse. Each battery is 2,600maH which is really nice since they can compete very well with alkaline batteries that typically have the same capacity.

The batteries charge quickly within 3-4 hours and have no compatibility issues with my Apple brand AA battery charger. They stop charging as soon as they hit 100%, so there's no worry if you leave them on the charger overnight for a few extra hours as it won't harm the batteries. They should work with any Ni-MH battery charger, so it's not a surprise. Just be careful and don't try placing these into an older lithium ion battery charger because you may potentially damage them!

Alkaline batteries can cost a lot of money, especially if you buy a trustworthy brand like Energize or Duracell. These batteries have saved me a ton of money since it costs cents to recharge, and they last for weeks. They even last a long time if you let them sit without use, so they're always powered and ready to use thanks to the Ni-HM technology. I would highly recommend these and would buy more if I ever need more rechargeable batteries.
11 comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2016
Very disappointed with these batteries. I had similar problems fitting a couple of the batteries into a Christmas toy, though I thought at the time it was an issue with the toy rather than the batteries. Reading reviews here makes me realize now that it's a widespread issue.

The worst aspect is that last night I charged one of the batteries for the first time and when I checked it today it had leaked white fluid out of the battery and onto the charger. Very unsafe.

In the past I've used Eneloops and they have been great. I will be going back to them, even if they're a few dollars more.

I tried to deal with this through Amazon's customer feedback chat but apparently Amazon's regular customer service can't address an order through Prime Now so now I have to call a phone customer service line.
review image
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2015
Great but the capacity is not as high as a Duracell rechargeable battery 2400mAh vs 2500mAh but not a big deal
review image
11 comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2015
I have had several brands of rechargeables over the years such as rayovacs and energizers. This is a much better battery. They hold charges better and seem to last longer than the others. Would like to see a warranty such as energizer's to replace damaged devices due to battery leakage though.
review image
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2016
These batteries are AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!! Without a doubt never going back to play and charge or standard batteries. These bad boys lasted for more than a month without a second charge on my Xbox controller just amazing!
review image
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 212 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here