Enter your mobile number below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.
Getting the download link through email is temporarily not available. Please check back later.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Amber's Mirage and Other Stories Paperback – 1983

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
"Please retry"

The Amazon Book Review
The Amazon Book Review
Author interviews, book reviews, editors picks, and more. Read it now
click to open popover

New York Times best sellers
Browse the New York Times best sellers in popular categories like Fiction, Nonfiction, Picture Books and more. See more

Product Details

  • Paperback
  • Publisher: Pocket (1983)
  • ASIN: B001VT8YWK
  • Product Dimensions: 7.8 x 5.1 x 1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #10,753,561 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

By Charles Wheeler on August 2, 2014
Format: Library Binding
I am reviewing this from the Pocket Paperback which came out in 1983. This collection of five stories contains some of Zane Grey's best short works--Amber's Mirage, The Horse Thief, aka The Outlaws of Palouse, and Don: The Story of a Lion Dog, all of which had been previously published either in magazines or in book form. Fantoms of Peace is a short work which turned out to be, after some modification, the openning chapter for two books--Desert Gold and Stranger From the Tonto. The remaining story, The Saga of the Icecream Cone Kid is being published for the first time in mass market form, but had been previously printed as a premium for an ice cream company in a book entitled Zane Grey's Cowboys of the West. In my review of the Secret of Quaking Asp Cabin I failed to mention one of the stories in that valume was the other story in ZG's Cowboys of the West; it is The Flight of Fargo Jones. With the fact this Big Little Book is so rare this most likely the only opportunity a person has to obtain these stories. But even without them the other stories make this book worth while to own. Zane Grey will forever be known as the man who made the west famous; perhaps not the originator of the "western" but the one who created the myth all of us who live today believe it was really like. These stories only add to that mystic. Buy it and read for yourself.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse