Your Garage Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Samsung S8 Launch Limited time offer STEM Handmade Mother's Day Gifts STEM Shop Popular Services henriettalacks henriettalacks henriettalacks  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch National Bike Month on Amazon disgotg_gno_17



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 14 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 35 reviews
on March 1, 2004
I have tried nearly every recipe in this cookbook. All of them came out well, and the explanations that come with the recipes are excellent.
You can find more recipes in the Joy of Cooking, but you won't be as assured the food will taste good. Cooks Illustrated runs through several iterations to create the "perfect" recipe. Most of the ingredients are simple and readily available. The instructions are easy to follow.
This is an excellent cookbook for inexperienced and experienced cooks alike.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2015
One of the best starter/Intermediate cookbooks I have. Makes a novice into a skilled cook in minutes. Must read through all instructions and background information.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2015
Love this book! Tells you the whys and ways of cooking classic foods. The binding was dry so out it's trying to come loose, but that happens sometimes with old books. Still, glad I bought it. :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2015
Incredibly disappointed in this cookbook - serious lack of photos and the ones there are are a horrible quality. There is nothing to tempt you to make any of the dishes. Seriously unappealing book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 24, 2012
Tis is a great book for beginning cooks. At 48, I'm hardly a beginner oer se, but I have only recently begun to really create food. This book has as it's genius a chance for you to start easy, with things you've already eaten. I love the lengthy, nerdy explanation. This would also be an excellent bridal gift, in my opinion.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2008
This couldn't be your only cookbook, but almost. It covers many of the recipes that you use on a regular basis, and tells you how to make them great, and WHY you need to do what it says. The books Cook's puts out would be wonderful for a beginner cook - you might as well start out doing it the right way. I only wish they had been around when I was a kid. And if you haven't yet, you should catch their tv show on PBS.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2016
This is the best American classic cookbook ever! I love the experimental approach they document for each and every recipe. I've made about 10 things out of this book so far and every one has been fantastic! I made a roast turkey for Thanksgiving just as they described, brined and stuffed, and it was the best turkey I've ever made. This is my number one recipe book now!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2013
I like how they test proof and illustrate their recipes in well displayed photos. I love country food and old time recipes. AMT staff bring back the wholesome cooking and the taste of the past.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2014
These cookbooks are amazing. You not only get perfect results every single time you try one of their recipes, but you understand the science behind why it works.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2012
This is a must have recipe book. If you've never looked at or read anything Cooks Magazine published you're in for a real treat!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse