Kindle Price: $2.99

Save $14.01 (82%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

American Elsewhere by [Bennett, Robert Jackson]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

American Elsewhere Kindle Edition

3.9 out of 5 stars 118 customer reviews

See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$2.99

Length: 673 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible book:
Audible book
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible book with Whispersync for Voice. Add the Audible book for a reduced price of $7.49 when you buy the Kindle book.
Available

click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.


Editorial Reviews

From Booklist

Mona Bright, a former police officer, is surprised to learn that she’s inherited a house from her deceased mother. She’s even more surprised to learn that the house is located in Wink, New Mexico, a town that, according to various sources, including maps, doesn’t seem to exist. Curious to learn more about her mother’s past and about this odd little town, Mona takes up residence in the house. But she didn’t count on Wink being full of dark secrets and on the people of the town being determined to keep them that way. The novel starts out curious and odd but quickly becomes terrifying and haunting, as the author reveals more about the people of Wink, who just may be the most curious and intimidating collection of folks you’re likely to meet outside the pages of Stephen King. We, like Mona, feel the town closing in on us, trying to take us over. A beautifully written, claustrophobic, and deeply memorable horror novel. --David Pitt

Review

"American Elsewhere conjures up echoes of the best works of Ray Bradbury and Stephen King. ... American Elsewhere manages to surprise, terrify and move the reader."―Los Angeles Times

"This wonderful offering is perfect for fans of Stephen King and Neil Gaiman."―Library Journal

"Highly impressive."―Kirkus Reviews

"Bennett's novel may remind readers of the early works of Stephen King, presenting a small town where nothing is what it seems.... Bennett's work also evokes a mood similar to that of Mark Z. Danielewski's House of Leaves, where every darkness may swallow a person only to spit them out into a place akin to Wonderland."―RT Book Reviews

"Bennett gives the idealized image of the American dream a pan-dimensional twist with this alien invasion tale, part Bradbury and part L'Engle with a dash of Edward Scissorhands... Readers will be captivated from start to finish."―Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) on American Elsewhere

"The novel starts out curious and odd but quickly becomes terrifying and haunting, as the author reveals more about the people of Wink, who just may be the most curious and intimidating collection of folks you're likely to meet outside the pages of Stephen King.... A beautifully written, claustrophobic, and deeply memorable horror novel."―Booklist

"Mad and humorous, gory and poignant, American Elsewhere is a sort of mid-20th-century retelling of the embodiment of Lovecraftian Elder Gods by way of Alamogordo's legendary atomic tests. It's not to be missed.―Seattle Times

"So American Elsewhere is basically so good that I want to camp outside @robertjbennett's house until he tells me his secret."―Adam Christopher

Product details

  • File Size: 2025 KB
  • Print Length: 673 pages
  • Publisher: Orbit; 1 edition (February 12, 2013)
  • Publication Date: February 12, 2013
  • Sold by: Hachette Book Group
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B008AS84PM
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #8,526 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer reviews

Rated by customers interested in
Gothic Fiction Books
4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5 stars
Fantasy Books
3.8 out of 5 stars
3.8 out of 5 stars
Science Fiction Books
3.7 out of 5 stars
3.7 out of 5 stars

Top customer reviews

on February 5, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 15, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Most recent customer reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

American Elsewhere
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: American Elsewhere