Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 38 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 64 reviews
on September 2, 2003
Miraculously unearthed and licensed by Reelinintheyears and released through Experience Hendrix, the 3-hours featuring 36 performances by 24 artists are the real thing filmed at the peak of many of their careers. Filmed in a Baden-Baden Germany studio with sets designed to reflect the realities of the urban blues, the sound and B&W footage is amazing. Imagine seeing Muddy Waters, Howlin' Wolf, Sonny Boy Williamson, Lightnin' Hopkins, T-Bone Walker, John Lee Hooker, Big Mama Thornton, Lonnie Johnson, Big Walter, otis Rush, Otis Spann, blues brother Matt "Guitar" Murphy (as exciting as he is today) and others (with 1969 bonus footage of legends Magic Sam and Earl Hooker) in your living room.
Watch closely Sonny Boy's virtuoso "Bye Bye Bird," "Mojo" with Sonny Boy and Muddy, a five-harp jam with Big Mama, John Lee, Big Walter, J. B. Lenoir and Dr. Ross, and the magic of Lightnin' Hopkins doing "Mojo Hand" and laying out enough hot guitar licks in one song to fuel a rocker's whole career.
Hip-O has released a highlights CD but these two DVDs must be seen to believe. These are the performances that American audiences have never seen since they were filmed but which inspired the Rolling Stones, John Mayall, Ten Years After, Yardbirds, Animals, Van Morrison, Ten Years After and so many of the British blues-rockers.
This was no small event. These artists played the finest concert halls of Europe, stayed in the best hotels, and ate in the best restaurants finding a deep respect they never lived to see in America. Their performances show it. Some didn't want to leave. Sonny Boy Williamson stayed on for over a year after the 1963 festival appearing in clubs and on numerous TV shows and recording with the Yardbirds, Animals, Jimmy Page, jazzman Chris Barber and even Rahsaan Roland Kirk.
As talent scout Willie Dixon said, "The blues are the roots; the rest are the fruits." These are the roots and the British Invasion were only the first blossoming of the fruits. Miss these DVDs at your own risk.
Bill Donoghue AKA 'fessor Mojo,
55 comments| 66 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2015
What a jewel! I am grateful to the folks who produced this video simply because so much of early blues and jazz is lost to the ages. I own music by most of the artists presented here and I am delighted I could watch their performances when they were in their prime. The video is worth the price if only for the rendition of Bye Bye Blues at the end with so many great artists. You won't regret owning this one!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 11, 2017
What a great collection of music! A must have for your collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2010
This is absolutely the best blues DVD I have had the pleasure of watching PERIOD! This is a collection of Blues Masters recorded historically at the prime points in their careers. I'm struck and awed at the quality of the remastering done here in both Video and especially the Audio. Way to Go Eddie Kramer! This would be so phenomenal in DTS Master Audio I implore you to contact (...) or (...) and ask them to reissue on Blu-ray. There are some Blues Artists here you will NEVER get to see anywhere else but on this collection. I don't know if I can wait till this series is reissued on BD, I feel the chains stretching...... I guess I could always sell the DVD versions later. OH WELL. Don't hesitate get this outstanding series ASAP, you won't be disappointed.

I wish Amazon had a 3 criteria rating that would make for a quicker, more accurate and fair rating of Cd's, DVD's and Blu-ray's.

1. Performance
2. Quality of Audio
3. Quality of Video (for DVD's and Blu-ray's)

1.*****
2.*****
3.*****

Artists that wish to have there performances recorded and recognized should be held to a standard. Poor Audio or Video, no matter how good the performance, is still a bad product. Those who would still purchase sub-standard Audio or Video quality recordings and rank that product highly just because of performance are not doing the industry or the band justice. Demand better and we will get it, settle for less and that's what you'll get.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2017
American 20th Century musical history -- matchless
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2013
Great classic footage of some founding fathers of the Blues. Muddy Waters performing "Got my MOJO working" and finale "Bye Bye Blues" with all star cast Willie Dixon on Bass and Sonny Boy Williamson on harp and Memphis Slim all on the same stage! And a real treat to see an original by Otis Rush performing a song Led Zeppelin made classic-"I cant quit you babe" The boys from England definitely owe a debt to these great Blues artist. I cant wait to get the other 3 vol. to complete this must have set. T.P from N.J.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 28, 2017
Enjoy the music, enjoy the disc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2003
This is amazing. I have been collecting copies of these shows for nearly a decade since I started writing a biography of Sonny Boy Williamson. I have never been able to locate copies of the 1962 and 1963 show and am dying to see 1963 with Sonny Boy and Muddy Waters playing "Mojo" together. If you have never seen these you are in for a treat. If these offer clear sound and video, these are the real thing. If you have ever wondered where the British Blues-Rock performers such as the Yardbirds, Animals, Cream, John Mayall and even the Moody Blues heard the blues first hand, these are the shows that did the job. Visit [website]if you want to know more about Sonny Boy Williamson II.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2004
The film was filmed in Germany, but watching it you'd never know... other than the rare sweep of the camera to the audience (and they appear very uptight and stiff... don't know why... the show is awsome), on the live stage performances.Most of the performance were filmed in a studio, with the set dressed up to look like a bar, a front porch of a house, etc.... and very well done. Sort of a blues meets MTv type of thing.The filming is all in black and white and filmed by actual film people.... not some guy in the audience with a beat up camera. It is very very good. Awsome work.Buy both volumes. They are awsome.And all the songs are played in full. Not a bunch of talking... just great great music.... great sound... and outstanding filming.Let me drop a name.... Sonny Boy Williamson.... this guy is awsome awsome awsome.Another.... T Bone Walker.... great guitar.... cool absolutely cool.Brownie McGhee is another... fabulous blues guy.Can't recommend this set enoughGet these dvds
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2017
A real piece oh history . Great quality video , and great sound as well . A great addition to any collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse