Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Nothing More PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 54 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 78 reviews
on March 20, 2014
Excellente!!!! How can America be so diverse and not be so divisive? This is something the book asks in its final chapter.
Very interesting topics and the vignettes were very helpful in bringing home the points or topics the chapters tried to make.
Not only did they help bring home a point they made it more meaningful and relevant. The authors feel that perhaps religion is not as divisive as are politics and racial and ethnic topics, but that remains to be seen.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2015
Excellent book regarding religion and the importance of it as an institution in American Political life. A refreshing view compared to the likes of Richard Dawkins or Krakaurer's "Under the Banner Of Heaven"
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 13, 2016
Fantastic book! Some startling and unexpected findings that challenge conventional wisdom. Helps explain a lot about us.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2014
Relevant for our polarized religious culture. Encouraging for our inclusive religious communities. Resource for individuals or communities who want a deeper understanding of the state and role of religion in our culture.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2015
Book is full of a lot of good research information about religion. There were some sections I felt the author could have cut short. Made the reading tedious and almost boring, but overall the research information was interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2013
After Bowling Alone, I was hooked on Putnam's writing...a Harvard professor who writes accessible studies that illuminate real life. Who knew?
Heavy on statistics, American Grace nevertheless is easy to understand and offers hints that explain our "religious wars" as well as our possibilities.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2014
This is a brilliant book. It offers much insight into the history of religion in American society and into how religions work in American society today.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2012
This book by Putnam and Cambell provides insight of how religion and politics in someway intertwine with each other or not so. Although it may appeal to be "insanely long" to some people, the writing is actually pretty interesting and many pages include chart or diagram that helps explain the statistic and data they have acquired through other sources. In short, great specialized book on religion and American politics.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 11, 2013
This book isn't something you can sit down and read. At least I couldn't. So much info, not trying to get you to believe anything, but how does religion control our live and politics and how religion is changing and how people are changeing about religion. I would read a few pages, think about it, read something else and read a few more pages.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2017
Probably the most comprehensive review of religion in the US
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse