Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Shop Popular Services TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Water Sports toystl17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 11-20 of 43 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 168 reviews
on November 9, 2016
Amazing story, amazing man. Great read A+A+A+A+A+. Our military needs this type of leader back in charge now more than ever.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2004
After reading American Soldier, I still don't understand how great men are shaped, but I see how this one was. Tommy Franks tells a down to earth story about an ordinary kid with extraordinary parents who taught him honor, honesty, and dedication. He pulls no punches in taking us along with him, as he grows into manhood. He's plain-spoken and honest and easy to read. This book will not only warm your heart, but it will take you into the world of the U.S. Military in ways that others have failed to do. If he wants to run for President in 2008, he will have my vote. BUY THIS BOOK - THAT'S AN ORDER!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2010
This book was everything it was said to be.

General Franks voice just comes out shooting straight and gave me a good look at the plans of the wars, the behind the scenes conversations that took place.

Also interweaved through out the book is the life of General Franks from a small boy to the General he is today.

You can not go wrong with this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2014
Great insight on how the American military led a Coalition of troops in fighting terrorism in response to the cowardly 9/11 attack.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2016
love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2012
This book is the most amazing book! General Franks is straight forward and tells things like it is and he is no different in the book. I am proud to have served in Operation Iraqi Freedom when he was our Commanding General!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2004
You never really know what to expect when reading a book by a former military commander. Being a great military officer does not necessarily qualify one as a great writer. General Franks has far exceeded my expectations with this fabulous work. Though I'm sure there were ghost writers and editors who may have cleaned up his work, the end result is one for the ages.

Having grown up on the southern plains in the Texas panhandle in the same approximate time, Franks opening chapters telling of his childhood in Wynnewood, OK and Midland, TX was both poignant and reminiscent of my own upbringing, making it most enjoyable.

Military men of my generation will appreciate the chapters on Franks' early military years, including his boot camp with stories of the time when drill sergeants and company commanders could and did (quite regularly) use four letter expletives to convey their point to raw recruits. As you read on, you begin to see how this man soon became a competent leader and eventually, a polished commanding officer.

Even if you are not a military aficionado, along about page 150, about the time General Franks took command of CENTCOM, you will become consumed by this book. You will learn of both the strength and weakness of our foreign intelligence at that time. At this same point in the book, the General is most proficient in giving candid and sometimes scathing personal analysis of key figures such as Donald Rumsfeld, Richard Clark, Pervez Musharraf and countless others.

The second half of this book is absolutely riveting. The reader sees the military precision and coordination of the military in dismantling the Taliban and Al Qaeda forces in Afghanistan. The incessant "Bush lied" battle cry is obliterated as we see one example after another of how decisions were made based on what was obviously thought to be, accurate intelligence. We also see numerous references to the "liberation of the Iraqi people" prior to engagement.

This is not only an outstanding book for it's entertainment value, it also serves to dispel countless attacks from the left upon our Commander in Chief and reveals a candid look into what we knew, and when we knew it, and how that information was utilized.
0Comment| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2015
General Frank is a true American hero and true leader of men.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2015
Very interesting book a great General
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2013
Outstanding writting. Gen Franks keeps it real!! The stories are very intersting. I would recommend this to anyone that has interest in the military.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse