Industrial Deals Beauty Save up to 90% on textbooks STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning ballerss3 ballerss3,
image-map-link=rect  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7, starting at $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite Trade it in. Fund the next. Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 20 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 26 reviews
on July 18, 2017
What a refreshing book to read. Loved it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2016
I was totally committed to this book. This book has the type of action that can easily go from page to screen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2016
Once you're a couple chapters in, you can't put the book down. J.Poston, a master storyteller, grabs you by the jugular and forces you into Carl Johnson's skin, and you live the hero's experiences without taking a break or missing a page. This is a great read with enough unpredictability and surprises, the main character that's a living, breathing man a reader can identify with, an absence of the cautious moralizing so prevalent in the today's American novel, and the style of writing that explodes from the page .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2015
This book is absolutely amazing! It is dark, suspenseful and difficult to put down. This is the best book I have read in a long time. Strap in and get ready for a wild ride!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2015
outsdanding
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2015
As an African-American man, Carl Johnson had previously hassled by the cops, so he thought he understood racial profiling. But, when the daughter of a high-profile figure is kidnapped and government authorities who have the incident on tape identify Carl as one of the kidnappers, a nightmare begins that he’s afraid he might never awake from.
Carl has the misfortune of being an exact double of a notorious drug dealer who was involved in the kidnapping. Agents from a shadowy counter-terrorism arrest Carl and subject him to eleven days of torture designed to break mind, spirit and body. But, their plans backfire. Although somewhat broken in body, Carl finds within himself a reserve of strength that he never knew he possessed. Then his torturers make a deadly mistake—actually two—they let him go, and then they run an operation that gets his son, Mark, killed.
Now, Carl has two aims in life: the first is to get the people who took everything from him; the second comes later—he will find the missing girl and return her to her family. His initial success in striking back at his tormentors earns him the title, ‘The American Terrorist,’ not a sobriquet that’s a guarantee for a long life.
There are some books that you should never start reading unless you’re sure you have time to finish them. American Terrorist: Where is the Girl? By Jeffrey Poston is one of them. I started this book last night at 9:00 pm, thinking I’d read a couple of hours, put it away, and finish it today. I reached the last sentence at 1:00 am—unaware of the passage of time.
Great writing. Characters come alive, reaching out from the page and smacking you on the kisser. Dialogue is so realistic you can feel the spittle spraying your face as they sputter. And, the descriptions are so vivid, you smell the sweat of fear. Within an expertly crafted adventure/thriller is also a discourse on government over-reach, the arrogance of power, and the dangers of using what our government euphemistically calls ‘enhanced’ interrogation techniques – in other words, torture. Not only does it risk damaging the mind and body of the victim, but it serves to dehumanize the one who applies it—and it makes more enemies, at a time when they are definitely not needed.
This was book number one of two, and I’m planning to read two as well. Just one question: will there be a number three?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2015
I liked this story and look forward to more. I like the New Mexico backdrop. It is worth the time to read it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2015
I loved it. Read book 2 as well & can't wait for his 3rd book to come out. Recommended it to my friend.fun
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2015
Thin line between the good guys and the bad guys when they keep switching roles. Strong characters and multiple intertwined storylines.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2015
BEST book I've read in a long time! Is the good guy really good? The bad guy bad? In this story, that question comes up frequently. I could not put this book down, kept on reading, got involved emotionally in the story, and immediately bought book 2 when this one came to its conclusion.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here