& FREE Shipping on orders over $49. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
American Voices: The Afri... has been added to your Cart
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by Round3
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Shipped next day from GA, United States. All products are inspected and playing quality guaranteed (excluding any digital content). Our friendly multilingual customer service team will be happy to resolve your queries.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

American Voices: The African-American Composers' Project

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, July 9, 2006
"Please retry"
$1.70 $0.84

Stream Millions of Songs FREE with Amazon Prime
Get Started with Amazon Prime Stream millions of songs anytime, anywhere, included with an Amazon Prime membership. Get started
$14.94 & FREE Shipping on orders over $49. Details Only 1 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Introduction
  2. Afro-American Fragment
  3. Interlude
  4. A Mother To Her First-Born
  5. Interlude
  6. Voice Of The Karaw
  7. I. Jitterbug
  8. I. Slow Drag
  9. III. Calypso
  10. If Bernstein Wrote It
  11. In An Ellington Mood
  12. I'm Dizzy Over Miles
  13. Someone Said Her Name Was Sarah

Product Details

  • Orchestra: Akron Symphony Orchestra
  • Conductor: Alan Balter
  • Composer: Billy Childs, David Baker, William Banfield
  • Audio CD (July 9, 2006)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Telarc
  • ASIN: B000003D1C
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #526,919 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

American Voices: The African American Composers Project, the title of this cd correctly ushers you into the reality that Contemporary African American Composers are masterfully gifted creators of music for Symphonic orchestras as well as jazz and popular music.

These masterful symphonic works of Billy Childs, Bill Banfield and David Baker- all attest to this.

Notable in particular is Billy Childs, The Distant Land for Orchestra,Vocalist,Piano and African Percussion. In its 30 minute format, it is an EPIC tour de force of expansive Vistas,visuals and evocative history about The Mother Land of Africa. It is a work that deserves to be performed and experienced all over the country and the world. The Distant Land communicates universally, beyond race and culture.

Bill Banfield's Symphony#6,Four Songs for Five American Voices is an excellent new showcase of the world of Third Stream Music for symphony. Third Stream Music is the convergence of jazz with classical music that came to fore in the mid 1940s with Stan Kenton's Progressive Music and associated composers/arrangers:Pete Rugolo and Bob Graetinger and in the late 1950s with John Lewis and The Modern Jazz Quartet.
In particular, Banfield's ode to Dizzy Gillespie and Miles Davis in "Dizzy Over Miles" is a fantastic example that has embedded into it riffs from James Brown, which Miles embraced in his late career recordings.

Black Contemporary Composers are American Voices. May we celebrate them and lift them up. To learn more about the rich world of Contemporary Black Composers, visit: [...]

BUY THIS CD and share it with others. Ask for it to become available as an Mp3 album.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse


Set up an Amazon Giveaway

American Voices: The African-American Composers' Project
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: American Voices: The African-American Composers' Project