Your Garage Luxury Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Shop Popular Services henriettalacks henriettalacks henriettalacks  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis GNO National Bike Month on Amazon disgotg_gno_17

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
25
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 16 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 25 reviews
on January 31, 2016
I'm only halfway through this huge work, but I'm finding it completely compelling. I've read several histories and historical novels about the Civil War and the half-century leading up to it, but this is the first truly readable story that details the sociological and (to a lesser extent) political history of the U.S. from the Colonial period through the highs and lows of Western Expansion. Daniel J. Boorstin examines many extremely interesting and lesser known/understood factors, weaving the development of all forms of transportation; the politics of forming (and naming!) the Territories and States; the development of "upstart" cities; quintessentially American establishments, inventions, language, literature, etc., with the anomalous and tenacious "American spirit." This is definitely a must-read for history buffs and trivia fans.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2015
I rate this (5) stars, Daniel Boorstin is an incredible writer and has an incredible understanding of the events that shaped early America, While this is a great book to truly get an appreciation of Boorstin, and then this book, I recommend reading The Discovers first if you haven't yet.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2014
I am reading The Americans for the second time and enjoying it even more than the first. It provides great context for the family historian to better understand the lives of our ancestors. At times a bit meandering, but nevertheless, there is fascinating detail here about things affecting daily life in the nineteenth century that I have not seen anywhere else. I would highly recommend all of Boorstin's books to the family researcher seeking to grasp the joys and challenges of life two hundred years ago.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2016
Full of interesting information but typical of Boorstin it is wordy and show to get through.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2016
Wonderful account of how America was put together as a functioning world.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2011
An excellent way to learn about the history of America. Written with a bit of American self-humor, this is a much better approach to history. It does not have the dryness of traditional history books, yet provides the facts all the same.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2013
I would recommend this book to anyone interested in American History. This is one of the best authors that I know of.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2014
Perfect experience in the purchasing of the book. Boorstin write with grace and knowledge.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2015
Every new american, (& old ) should read this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2014
very happy with the book and very happy with Artmatrix
thanks very much John 5 stars for the great service the great help from you I am still very happy with the Artmatrix store
cu next time

very much greets from Nico Brouwers
From the Netherlands
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse