Industrial Deals Beauty Oprah's Book Club STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
37
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$25.20+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 22 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 37 reviews
on February 11, 2015
I read this book for research purposes, as such it is a good textbook. Chock full of anecdotes and personal experiences written by an author who grew up Amish, this book gives an honest peek inside this reclusive religious group. However, the reader should not expect a thrilling or "can't put it down" read. This IS a textbook and like all textbooks tends to be analytical as well as informative. If historical research is your objective, this is a "go to" book for that purpose, especially since it is somewhat dated. Most of the research deals with the roots of the Amish movement and its development before the 21st century. There is very little from our current era. I've yet to discover an up to date volume dealing with current Amish settlements and issues. That said, since Amish society tends to be somewhat static, that is, change happens at the pace the congregation sings one of their hymns at church, John A. Hostetler's, "Amish Society", should do nicely in providing a rather comprehensive view of "Amish Society".
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2007
After reading Brad Igou's "The Amish: In Their Own Words" I then came to this book by Hostettler - and am glad I did. This book "fills in" the portrait of the Amish by providing a very clear, readable, though factual history of the Amish "progression", if you will. With the Amish existence being much more fragmented than many people think as they lump them all under the term "Amish", this book really brings about an enlightened understanding of the range of the sects and their relation to each other and "the outside World" over the course of their development. It also offers the reader a very gracious, very real portrayal of the Amish that, thankfully, dispels many of the traditional misconceptions about these kind and earnest people.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2013
In depth no nonsense review of the Amish Society from European immigration to present day. Informative and answered nearly all the questions I had. Getting to know and understand the customs of our neighbors was important to me and this book was wonderful with its detailed information
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2009
A very interesting and informative look into the history of the Amish religion. Their trials and tribulations to acheive the simple life. The way they were treated in their native country and the way that they were accepted here in America. Their fight to keep what they believe in as a way of life is awe inspiring. The way they have been treated and they can still be non- conformist and non- violent is a tribute to their religious upbringing. A very good read and an eye opener to these "plain people".
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2013
Amish Society was purchased for an American Culture class in order to learn how wealthy the Amish are, which rather surprises and shocks us considering their lifestyle. Are they wealthy because the have less expenses, or are smarter with money...or both? Hard to say. All in all a good read. Not what you expect.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2006
I'm not Amish, nor do I know anyone Amish, but I like reading about other people and they've sparked my curiosity! I've read other books on the Amish but this one is by far the most interesting and well written of all of them so far! Once you start reading it, it's hard to put it down. They take you into the Amish life and you learn so many things about their way of life. There are many pictures! This book is well worth buying!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 16, 2016
Great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2015
Easy to read for my school assignment, thoroughly enjoyed this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2013
Very educational. I learned information that I never realized before about the amish and the lives that they lead. From the people that know the most about their history.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2015
I live close to Amish and find their lives fascinating, admirable, and almost incomprehensible.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here