Kindle Price: $0.99

Save $11.00 (92%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Among The Shadows: A Detective Byron Mystery (A John Byron Novel) by [Coffin, Bruce Robert]
Kindle App Ad

Among The Shadows: A Detective Byron Mystery (A John Byron Novel) Kindle Edition

4.7 out of 5 stars 230 customer reviews
Book 1 of 3 in A John Byron Novel (3 Book Series)

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$0.99

Length: 400 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled

Never miss a new release from Robert Dugoni
Follow Robert Dugoni for new book notifications, email exclusives and more. Learn more
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.


Editorial Reviews

Review

“Bruce Robert Coffin knows cops—how they talk, how they act, how they think—and he deploys that knowledge to devastating effect in Among the Shadows. A tense, twisty tale of greed, betrayal, and revenge, it heralds the arrival of a powerful new voice in crime fiction.”
— Chris Holm, author of The Killing Kind

“Among the Shadows is the best debut I’ve read in ages, filled with suspense, great writing, a perfectly realized setting in Portland, Maine, and an intriguing main character. Detective John Byron promises to become a breakout favorite among readers of crime fiction. He’s already one of mine.”
— Paul Doiron, author of Widowmaker

“With the twists and racing pace of a thriller and the profound authenticity of a police procedural, Among the Shadows is the kind of debut crime novel that could only be written by an ex-cop.”
— Brian Thiem, author of Red Line

“Bruce Robert Coffin’s debut crime novel is a compelling page-turner that keeps you guessing—and rooting for his determined investigator—until the very end.”
— Kate Clark Flora, author of Finding Amy

From the Back Cover

Fall in Portland, Maine, usually arrives as a welcome respite from summer's sweltering temperatures and, with the tourists gone, a return to normal life-usually. But when a retired cop is murdered, things heat up quickly, setting the city on edge.

Detective Sergeant John Byron, a second-generation cop, is tasked with investigating the case-at the very moment his life is unraveling. On the outs with his department's upper echelon, separated from his wife, and feeling the strong pull of the bottle, Byron remains all business as he tries to solve the murder of one of their own. And when another ex-Portland PD officer dies under suspicious circumstances, he quickly realizes there's much more to these cases than meets the eye. The closer Byron gets to the truth, the greater the danger from him and his fellow detectives.
 
This taut, atmospheric thriller will appeal to fans of Michael Connelly and John Sanford.

Product details

  • File Size: 812 KB
  • Print Length: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Witness Impulse (September 13, 2016)
  • Publication Date: September 13, 2016
  • Sold by: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01CNLOZ3Q
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #730 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer reviews

Rated by customers interested in
Thriller Books
4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5 stars
Mystery Books
4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5 stars
Literary Fiction
4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5 stars

Top customer reviews

January 15, 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
December 29, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
January 5, 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
October 29, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
January 14, 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
December 28, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
October 25, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
May 12, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Most recent customer reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Among The Shadows: A Detective Byron Mystery (A John Byron Novel)
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Among The Shadows: A Detective Byron Mystery (A John Byron Novel)