Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Amy Winehouse At The BBC [CD/DVD Combo][Explicit]
Your Garage Editors' Picks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer PilotWave7B PilotWave7B PilotWave7B  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis DollyParton Shop Now

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$14.82+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 17, 2012
This album contains an amazing collection of live tunes from the late, great Amy...
These performances are perfect, Amy is at the top of her game, backing band sounds very tight and at times very hard to tell its a live preformance.
The DVD is also amazing, Amy was one of a kind.... Album Inserts are also very good, with cute pictures and great stories...
great collection
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 19, 2012
i love amy winehouse--and this is a fantastic cd/dvd set to buy--im just not sure why the uk version comes with 3 dvd's and 1 cd--and this usa version only has one of each---if/when the set comes to the usa with the 3 dvd's i will be buying that also
1414 comments| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2012
This 2-disc collection (fyi, the U.K. version contains 2 additional DVDs) showcases Amy Winehouse at a time when her voice was still projecting the brilliance she contained. The DVD concert / docu is filmed in Ireland in late 2006, and the 6 songs performed are stunning and emotive. She delivers with conviction, yet with subtle, winding, spontaneous jazzy nuance that just makes you shake your head (particularly in "Me and Mr. Jones"). The docu gives good insight into her musical influences with actual archival footage of many of them. She's witty, sweet, intense, and charismatic. A joy to watch all around.

The CD mix has likewise captured Winehouse at some of her better moments. She's brilliant, and a true artist. If you listen to enough versions of her songs or the countless amateur footage available on youtube, you'll notice she literally never sings a song the same way twice. There is nothing manufactured or pretentious about this girl. She gives you rawness and authenticity every time. Sometimes that means stumbling around half-heartily, and other times she is the most exquisite singer of our time, but every performance is a unique one (reminds me a lot of Nina Simone that way). On this disc, they have compiled some of her better live performances from 2004-2007, including 2 jazz standards ("Lullaby of Birdland" and "I should Care") which leave no doubt about her credentials as a true jazz vocalist, and makes one wish she'd done a CD of only standards. Other highlights for me were "Rehab", "Love is a Losing Game", "Just Friends" (big band special), "You Know I'm No Good", "Valerie", and "To Know Him Is To Love Him". Not a huge fan of the Frank songs they included here, but they're no doubt good versions as well.

Bottom line: NO REGRETS!
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Just this weekend I saw the documentary "Amy" in the theater (more on that later). Afterwards I just had to dig up my Amy Winehouse CDs, which I hadn't listened to in forever. "At the BBC" is a CD/DVD combo that was released in November, 2012 (just in time for the Christmas shopping season of course--as was the previous year's "Lioness").

The CD (12 tracks; 48 min.), called "BBC Sessions", provides a smorgasbord of various live appearances, starting with the excellent big band-reminding intro on "Know You Now" (from Leicester Summer Sundae 2004). Amy's voice is strong and confident throughout these carefully selected tracks. T In the Park 2004 provides 3 songs, including a very nice "In My Bed". The sequencing of this collection is sometimes a head-scratcher (for example, all 3 T In the Park tunes are together, but the 3 tunes from Jo Wiley Live Lounge 2007 are scattered all over for no apparent reason, etc.). It doesn't take away from the ultimate quality of the songs, though, that's how strong they are. Perhaps my favorite on there is the reggae-dripping "Just Friends" (from Big Band Special 2009), just delightful. The latest recording on here is "Love Is a Losing Game" (from Jools Holland 2009), with that chilling chorus "And now the final frame/Love is a losing game", wow. Even though by then Amy was already is serious trouble health-wise, she sounds pretty darn good on this tune. In all, this is a very nice collection of live tunes, showcasing Amy at the top of her game. (As an aside, I had the good fortune of seeing Amy perform at Coachella in April, 2007. She played in one of the (smaller) tents, before a small but appreciative crowd. She looked and sounded fantastic. Unforgettable.)

The DVD (50 min.), called "Amy Winehouse - The Day She Came To Dingle" is an interesting item. The performance from Amy and the interview with Amy was shot in December, 2006 (just after "Back to Black" came out) for a BBC program called "Other Voices", and was recorded in Dingle, Ireland. In the interview, Amy discusses her influences (Sarah Vaughan, Ella Fitzgerald, Soweto Kinch, Thelonious Monk, Ray Charles, etc.) and we are treated to video footage from those performers as well. But this also includes more recent comments from various people (the head of Universal Records, etc.) that was clearly shot after Amy's passing away. As to the actual performances from Amy, there's sadly enough only 6 songs, but what a beauty they are. It's just Amy with bass (Dale Davis) and guitar (Banerjee), allowing clear focus and attention on Amy's singing, and boy, she just sounds fantastic. Very nice addition to the CD.

As to the documentary, "Amy" was directed by the same guy who made the outstanding documentary called "Senna" some 3-4 ago on the life and times of F-1 driver Ayrton Senna, and here as well, he delivers a top-notch documentary that will enrage and shock and sadden you. Given complete access to all video and audio archives by the Winehouse family (read: Amy's dad Mitch), Mitch now has disavowed this documentary (because he looks more interested in Amy's money than Amy's well-being). Family bickering aside, there is performance footage in the documentary that will make your jaw drop to the floor, the most amazing for me being when Amy is filmed while's she's recording the song "Back to Black", we see/hear her mostly a-cappella while she has headphones on, with an arm casually on a chair, and after the song Amy commenting to no-one in particular "that was a bit heavy, no?" (it turned out to be the take that ended u on the album). "Amy" is a MUST-SEE!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2012
I never got to hear Amy live, and hearing this compilation of selected performances from BBC shows only makes one more wistful. The full range of human emotion is here in recordings that go as far back as 2004, with cuts from Frank, Back to Black, and other jazz/r&b standards. So much power and tenderness, so broad a range, so much more the loss. Miss you Amy, and what you could have done. This collection makes a remarkable and completely unforgettable reminder.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2016
The little church which held 80 ticket holders was such an intimate venue, Amy was so comfortable there. She Sang wonderfully with just two musicians and no backup singers. The interview was also very pleasant it seems for Amy. She was relaxed & enjoyed talking about jazz , her music & the singers who influenced her. BBC recordings are clear & great, less orchestrated & more raw Amy! A must for Amy fans. The Brit set has 3 discs this is two, honestly I wish there was more, that's how much I enjoyed this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2015
This is a little deceiving, the picture on cover seems like it will be another convert. It is good, Amy Winehouse was amazing, but I thought from the picture it would be a different setting. Dvd and Cd together so you get alot for your money.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2012
Great addition to the Winehouse collection. I can't say enough good things about this set if you're an Amy fan. The Dingle dvd is about an hour long. It contains 6 songs in a stripped down format with just guitar and bass. There are also portions of an interview with Amy and others between songs along with some nice shots of Dingle. The UK version of this set has two additional dvds. One being a tribute and another being a 2007 Porchester Hall concert. Having seen some of the clips from the Porchester show it looks great. It is a shame this was not released in the US. Bottom line: if you're an Amy fan buy this set and hope the other material is released separately in the near future.
22 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2012
Amy Winehouse is in top jazz form on this double set.The dvd takes place in a little church in Dingle Ireland,and Amy has never been more charming,relaxed and consummate. The live cd on the BBC is so terrific too,and there are a couple standards here that are a pleasure to hear.After "The Lioness" was sadly less than her best work.This reminds one of her greatness.The recordings are from different locales but all are fresh and lively!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2015
This is so nice yet so bittersweet. A bit of everything on the CD. The DVD is one of her best performances when she was on top of her game & her mind & body! The interviews show the musical genius that she was & the knowledge that she had of it all. What an awful loss. I will always miss Amy, especially knowing that this doomed little girl could & would have done so much more. God bless her!
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$10.99

Need customer service? Click here