Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 60 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 91 reviews
on July 23, 2017
D. T. Suzuki has walked a tightrope in this work. He intellectually engages the reader just enough to hold their attention but also keeps the atmosphere of reading almost poetic and fluid like in a way where the many examples of satori flow right along with his explanations and deeper insights like adding water to a flowing stream. Nothing is disturbed but yet something is added. I grasped something yet I left with nothing more than I came with. If you feel disappointed by this work, read it again but don't let your mind abide too much on this page or that. Let your mind be free, read the words like a dog drinks from a bowl. Simply take it in and feel it. Don't just stare at the words and make inferences. Let them flow through your consciousness.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2016
As a well written, quite entertaining introduction to some aspects of some forms of Zen, it is well worth the two hours read. The bulk of typos is rather annoying, but more objectionable is Suzukis bias towards Rinzai Zen, as though that were the only existing form, and its anti-intellectualism, which is rather peculiar considering Professor Suzuki's own academic status. This latter aspect has created the impression amongst some western adapts that any deeper inquiry into Buddhist thought is superfluous, while Suzuki's own use of terms like 'dualism', 'oneness', 'emptiness' and 'Dharmakaya' suppose a good grounding in Buddhism's Indian heritage. As Dogen clarifies, the problem lies in philosophy separated from practice. Then again, as a Tibetan Buddhist monk I might be biased; but if the intellectual aspect of the mind is to be avoided, which to me seems a rather artificial construct in itself, why did Dogen write the voluminous and profound Shobogenzo?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2017
I cannot believe Amazon would even allowed this to be sold. I returned it.

This is a knock-off with just three chapters instead of nine, and it looks like somebody made it at the local copy-shop.

Note: I saw the bad reviews for the kindle edition, but assumed that was a format issue and the paperback would be okay.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2017
This book appears to be a reprint of a 1934 book of this name by D. T. Suzuki. It contains 3 chapters and 50 content pages. However, there is a 1964 book by Suzuki of the same name that contains 9 chapters--including the 3 chapters from the 1934 version--and (in my edition) about 124 content pages. I can find nothing in the online descriptive materials for this current Stellar Books offering to inform buyers they are purchasing an earlier, less complete version of the book rather than the more extensive 1964 version. If I have overlooked something I apologize. Otherwise, I find this reissue of an earlier version of the book rather misleading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2017
The Jung forward is a bit longwinded and heavy handed; too academic for a subject like Zen. The essays I truly enjoyed but I could see them being a bitt too intense for non or light readers just starting to learn about Zen. For those people I would recommend Zen Flesh, Zen Bones.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2017
Excellent book for even the neophyte like myself. This text offers some clarity in explanation of a subject marked by its indefinability. This is no small feat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2017
I have read vol 1,11,111 before.
This time I will keep them.
quick service good price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2017
Think of a circle. Start anywhere you want, then look for an end. That about sums up this book. It's intentionally abstract because that is the essence of Zen. It's a really good read for understanding the basics of a very complicated idea.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2017
Very dry read but hyper informative D.T. Suzuki dives deep into some intense thoughts in Buddhism and speculates and many koans great for the serious student of buddhism
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2007
The book is divided into several chapters which were originaly published as a single articles on several publications, but have a reworking that makes them easier to read. First a rather long foreword by Dr. Jung let us oversee the entire oriental vision of the world. Afte a short prelimiray done by the author, chapter two discusses on what is zen and what is not zen. On the third chapter the question of the supposed nihilism of zen is brought to the board. Then on chaper four an introduction the the logic (or ilogic) of the zen is done. Still, on chapter five the author reaches the partial conclusion that zen rather than a nihilistic and ilogical doctrine is a higher affirmation of the whole of the universe. On chapter six, a general realization of the practicity of zen (in contrast with other branches of buddism and christianity) is done. On chapter seven, the author try to describe the reaching of illumination or "satori". On chapter eight, author make an explanation of the aim and functioning of the so called "koans", which are excescies composed of brief cases that exposes the zen mind and logic further hard to explain and understand. Finally on chaper nine a short description of a monk's life in a zen monastery is done, to show up the central role of the "zendo" or meditation hall within the monastery.
A brief reading that can be taken as an exelent introduction to the zen, highgly recomended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse