Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Ancient Rome : from the earliest times down to 476 A. D.
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Gemini Syndrome Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 26, 2010
This book is a great place to start for those wishing to study the history that was Rome from geography and goverment, to people and events this gives a very good idea of Rome. though I must forworn the reader the illustrations from the book are not to be found on free kindle
11 comment| 67 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2011
This is a review of the free Kindle version.

This book was written in 1890, but does a great job of summing up Roman history, the mythical history and lots of detail in just 2,730 locations. True, the illustrations aren't there, but for free this does a very good job of providing the framework. This book covers a number of things about Rome I hadn't read before, such as the history archs in Rome (surprising number still left) and the various types of priests.

Highly recommend to any history buff.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2012
If you are looking for a straightforward, clearly-written recitation of the events associated with the 1000+ year history of Ancient Rome, this is hard to beat. Yes, it was written in the 1890s, and Pennel's perspectives are different from today's, but in a way that makes the book all the more interesting. It would be hard to cram that much history into a book the 174 paper-book-equivalent-page length of this Kindle book more efficiently and effectively than this one does.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2015
Gave a good overview of the beginnings of Rome which was what I was interested in as I was going on an archeology tour. He did get slightly preachy about what he viewed as the downfall of the Roman character due to a influx of foriegn influence and blood.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2014
A little short and quick to cover so much history but it does give a good overview of the Roman Civilization. Don't expect to go into details of the lives and times, however if you want to know most of the major players, events and flavors of the roughly 1000 years when Rome began and then ruled the world, this is very good. The book gives explanations and descriptions of the culture, politics, times, army setup and basic all-around feel for the era.

Worth reading, a lot of information in a relatively short book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2015
An excellent source for information on Ancient Rome and her conquests and way of life. Contains information on major historical figures such as Caesar and Cicero. I highly recommend this to anyone who wants to build on their knowledge of the Romans from what they learned in class and has a passion for history, specifically the age of antiquity.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2013
I enjoyed this work very much. Pennell is an excellent writer, and he gives a very detailed account of all the big "who, what, and wheres" of Roman History. Pennell wrote this book in 1878. He clearly did not write it to sell books; he was not trying to sex up or jazz up Roman history. In fact, it is with great subtlety that he glazes over many of the sexually explicit historical facts of Roman history. I find all of these things to be welcomed departures from modern historical works. Pennell just wanted to write a pure historical text, and he succeeded superbly.

This is a great read for anyone with an interest in Roman history.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2012
You want to learn a lot about the Roman era from it's start to it's end.... this is the book for you... well done, well written, well researched, accurate, with a lot of facts on many aspects of Rome! A lot of fun facts in this book that most do not know!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2016
This book by Robert Pennell is an excellent introduction to Roman history. However, it is completely butchered by this Palatine Press edition. It seems they just downloaded the public version from archive.org or something, put some headers in Microsoft Word and printed it out in really small font with no book design whatsoever. The copy I had actually finished in the middle of the text; it went like "somebody did something who..." and that was the end of the book. I threw it away and downloaded the much better, free version from Project Gutenberg.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2014
Although I have been to Italy several times, I'm preparing for extend stay in Rome and then separate trip next Spring to Italian and Greek islands, onto Turkey. I wanted to brush up on Ancient history for these regions, when finished with this volume, I,will get the next in series. It reads like a concise version of a college text, but more detailed than "Cliff Notes", and it was free download. It's perfect for my needs, others might like either more or less information.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse