Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Andean Folk Knits: Great Designs from Peru, Chile, Argentina, Ecuador & Bolivia
Your Garage Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Dolly Parton Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer PilotWave7B PilotWave7B PilotWave7B  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis DollyParton Shop Now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 27, 2005
I purchased this book about a month ago and still have not put it on the shelf -- I can't resist picking it up and looking through it every now and then. It is full of colorful and charming projects, all of which are beautifully photographed. The author also provides plenty of background information on the various regions and cultures represented along with photographs of the people and countryside. Most of the patterns are for small bags, but also included are several patterns for accessories such as scarves, gloves and mittens, and socks. The multi-colored designs are ideal for using up leftover bits of yarn. The instructions and charts are very clear, and special techniques are thoroughly discussed. This book is, without a doubt, one of the most attractive and enjoyable knitting books I've ever seen. Any knitter is sure to find inspiration in its pages. Very highly recommended!
11 comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2006
I wanted to like this book: the author has such obvious affection for the hand-knits of Peru, Chile, et al., and her designs, which are based on Andean themes and motifs, are, for the most part, charming. But the emphasis is on folkloric purses and bags that look as though they might have come from one of the better South American airport shops. They'd be fun to make but not very functional for actually carrying your stuff (unless you happen to be an Andean shepherd). The introductory section has the feel of a personal travelogue, snapshots and all. But I wanted to learn more about the origins and techniques of indigenous knitting, and in these areas the coverage was, to my mind, superficial.

At the same time I bought this book I also purchased Marianne Isager's "Knitting Out of Africa," and found it much more satisfying. Inspired by African patterns, Isager used them in creative ways to design knitwear that is immensely original, beautiful and wearable. Wish I could say the same for the Andean book.
11 comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2005
This is a beautiful book full of history and gorgeous photos. The designs are fantastic and explained well. A must have for any knitting library.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2010
I am very impressed by the book. Its mainly pieces are purses and mittens.
There are also socks, a scarf, leg warmers, a belt pocket, a men's cap and a Llama Purse (in the shape of a Llama)

The one that I adore is a purse in the form of a peasant girl doll with two children.
There is also a purse in the form of a peasant man complete with his chullo or cap.
Lots of fun!!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
There was a wonderful book on Andean Knitting (LeCount's worthy volume) that is now out of print, so Marcia Lewandowski's book is long overdue on the knitting scene.

The Andean knitters, some of them, well a lot of them men, do patternwork of fine detail in glorious colors. They use a lot of embellishment. Typical garments are the well-known chullo hat but they also make wonderful wrist bands and leggings.

For pure colorwork and inspiration for the knitting designer, this is a must-have in your library. If you like fine gauge color work or need a source of interesting designs for colorwork, this is a useful book. Hats, wristbands, a diamond shaped bag...patterns in book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 2010
I was an exchange student in Colombia and I will always remember a trip we took to Sylvia, a mountain village of Sylvian Indians sharing their crafts. I was very excited about this book and have enjoyed reading it. HOWEVER, I am now working on my first project (mittens) and I have already found an error in the chart. Please be careful. This is not a beginners book. Go over your pattern make sure the math is right. I plan on knitting the llama purse next! It is just too cute for words!
22 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2007
This is such al lovely book in all aspects! Marcia gives us, devoted knitters, not only a lovely range of completely original knitting patterns, but also she tells al lot of really interesting things about the countries she visited. She gives interesting explanations about the symbolism of the motivs and their background and gives a lot of information about the materials and the various animals they come from. The book has a very appealing layout and the many foto's and explanations makes it interesting even to people who don't knit. One of my daughters (no knitter) spent a whole evening reading and enjoying it.

But if you are a knitter, this is a must have. There is a tradition of making intricate pouches (all with their own symbols and meanings) in Northern South America that is thouroughly explained and there are many lovely challenging projects in this book. It's great to use leftovers in your stash. And it's inspiring to try variations on the themes that Marcia Lewandowski presents.

It's certainly the best book with knitting patterns I bought in a long time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2007
Lovely bags and accessories based on Andean knitting traditions are covered in a unique guide holding over thirty knitting projects of Andean-based patterns. Experienced knitters receive both color photo examples and step-by-step instructions on creating unique Andean patterns which translate not only to these projects, but will be easily applied to any knitting endeavor. Libraries catering to experienced knitters, especially those with multicultural focus, will appreciate the many unique projects here.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2014
This book is full of designs. Even if you don't want to make the things in the book, there are plenty of designs to use in your own creations. I'm happy to have it in my knitting library.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2014
Some great Andean folk art graphics but not much variety in the knitted projects. Most of the patterns were for handbags, in many variations, with a few patterns for socks and gloves.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse