Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Month Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Made for you. Learn more. GNO for Samsung S9 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon howardsend howardsend howardsend  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now Start your Baby Registry



on May 7, 2015
Sadly, these are not full episodes, and they are edited in some episodes poorly, that the story line is kind of broken in places. I had hoped, when I purchased them, it would have been the full, original episodes. I found this to be true in others that I had purchased where an actor was given credit but doesn't appear in the episode because the scene was edited out. I don't understand why? There is no time constraints.

That said, it is nice to be able to watch a season nearly in tact. I think, however, that if they are edited then it should be stated before you purchase.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 23, 2006
The fifth season of "The Andy Griffith Show" (1964-1965) is yet another admirable and very funny year in the eight-season lifespan of this beloved television comedy series. Season #5 is presented in its complete form on the five discs that make up this handsome DVD set from Paramount Home Entertainment. And each of these 32 episodes looks beautiful, too. Excellent video and audio quality.

All 32 show-closing epilogues are fully intact in this DVD collection (unlike Season 3, which has a select few missing). And as far as I can tell, short of digging up each original script (somehow) and checking all shows word for word, these episodes appear to be "uncut". I can't see any discernible edits, despite a disclaimer at Paramount's webpage for this release that says: "Some episodes may be edited from their original network versions".

However, that same "edits" disclaimer is not included on the back of this Season-Five box (as it was on the S.3 box, which does contain a few edits). Perhaps Paramount was just putting a needless 'fear of God' into fans for no good reason. Beats me. But these shows look fine (and complete) to me.

The average run time per episode here is about 25:30, with the shortest running time being approximately 24:35. So, if there are any "cuts" to these episodes, it must not add up to very much total footage, that's for sure. There are very few eps. in this set that run under 25 full minutes.

Also on the subject of "edits" -- Each of these thirty-two shows does contain its original laugh track (unlike the Season-Four TAGS set, which has a few laugh tracks missing). I diligently checked each and every Season-Five program to see if the laughter is present on the soundtrack....and it is there for all episodes, which is as it should be. I like the shows better with the laughter in the background (canned or otherwise). ;)

Opening & Closing Credits ..... It appears to me that all of the originally-aired opening and closing titles (credits) are used for this Season-Five DVD set. Although it's obvious that the Main Title opening sequence was actually filmed years before this 1964-'65 season, because Opie's much-younger age in the credits is quite noticeable. A new show opening wasn't created between seasons 2 and 5, so the exact same one that was filmed in 1961 (prior to the start of the second season) was used for all of those years.

The original whistling theme music seems to be fully intact here, on both the opening and closing portions of each episode; and the CBS-TV "Eye" (logo) has been left intact on these Andy Griffith prints as well.

Despite the few edits and laugh-track omissions in previous releases, Paramount (in my opinion) has done themselves proud with "The Andy Griffith Show" on DVD. I know I shall enjoy these TAGS season sets for many, many years to come.

This fifth "Andy" season (which was the last year of the series to be filmed in black-and-white) is filled with funny and enduring Mayberry antics, located within such memorable episodes as .... "Barney's Uniform", "Family Visit", "Barney's Physical", "Three Wishes For Opie", "Barney Fife, Realtor", "The Case Of The Punch In The Nose", "Goodbye, Sheriff Taylor", "The Arrest Of The Fun Girls", "Opie Loves Helen", and "If I Had A Quarter-Million".

That "Quarter-Million" episode features one of my favorite lines of spoken dialogue from the series. After another of Barney's frequent mishaps with his revolver, Andy asks his deputy: "You want to give me your pants? I'll take them to the artistic weavers". :)

------------

Some Barney Banter:

Season Five of "The Andy Griffith Show" marks the end of an era -- the "Barney Fife" era, that is. Sadly for "T.A.G.S." fans, Emmy-winning actor Don Knotts, who played Mayberry's clumsy but lovable one-bullet-carrying Deputy Fife for the first five years of the series, left the show as a regular cast member after this fifth season of the show, in order to pursue a career in the movies.

================================================

EDIT (FEBRUARY 26, 2006) --- The news came just one day after I submitted this Amazon review that Don Knotts had passed away at the age of 81. It's quite ironic (and fitting) that this DVD set containing Don's last season as a regular on "TAGS" would be made available to the public just days prior to Don's passing. Fans of Mr. Knotts (and Barney Fife) can now enjoy all 159 episodes that make up the first 5 wonderful "Barney Fife years" of "The Andy Griffith Show", the TV series that made Don a household name in the early 1960s.

Actor Andy Griffith, Knotts' partner in fighting crime in Mayberry from 1960 to 1965, had been a very good friend of Don's for many decades. Griffith, age 79, visited Don in the hospital shortly before his death.

"Don was a small man, but everything else about him was large: his mind, his expressions," Griffith told The Associated Press on Saturday (02/25/2006).

"Don was special. I loved him very much," Griffith added. "We had a long and wonderful life together."

Don Knotts was born in Morgantown, West Virginia, on July 21, 1924. During an acting career that spanned more than half-a-century, he appeared in many TV series and more than 25 motion pictures.

One of Don's very first TV roles was when he played "Wilbur Peterson" from 1953 to 1955 on the daytime soap opera "Search For Tomorrow".

Some of Don's funniest television work (other than as "B. Fife" of course) came during his frequent appearances on "The Steve Allen Show" in the late 1950s, when he would appear in comedy sketches as "The Nervous Man". Don was hilarious in those skits, which were just tailor-made to suit his timid, fidgety acting style.

Don Knotts' death on February 24, 2006, in Los Angeles, was due to pulmonary and respiratory complications. He will forever be missed; but, thankfully, he left behind his Barney Fife legacy on film, and Paramount Home Entertainment has done a bang-up job at preserving all of the Barney episodes of "TAGS" in crystal-clear clarity on DVD-Video.

================================================

Barney Fife returned to Mayberry as a guest star in several post-Season 5 Andy Griffith episodes (which all did very well in the ratings for CBS); but that just left Barney-admirers wanting to see more of the wiry lawman during those last three seasons. For me, the show just wasn't the same after good ol' "Barn" left for greener (movie) pastures. And I know a lot of other TAGS fans agree with that assessment as well.

Don Knotts won five Emmy Awards for his portrayal of Mayberry's mostly-inept (but always funny) town deputy. It's remarkable he survived all those seasons on the Griffith Show, isn't it (what with that super-itchy trigger finger of his)? ~wink~

Over the course of those five full seasons he appeared on "TAGS", Don Knotts practically BECAME "Bernard Fife", playing the part so perfectly in every episode it's no wonder he was singled out for excellence with those multiple Emmy trophies. "Barney Fife" is truly one of television's seminal characters in the history of that medium. And, well, somehow, replacing a Barney Fife with a Deputy Warren Ferguson is kind of like replacing Charlton Heston with Pee Wee Herman in "Ben-Hur". ~grin~

In the episode "Barney's Uniform", Don has to display a whole range of Barney Fife's emotions -- from humor, to anger, to embarrassment, to cowardliness, to tenderness, and finally courage, as he eventually stands up to his nemesis ("Fred Plummer") in that episode.

Plummer was played by Allan Melvin, who was cast in numerous different parts on TAGS over the years, including a character in the third-year episode "Lawman Barney" who was very similar to Fred Plummer. The "Lawman" ep. was yet another time when Barney was forced to summon his inner courage to ward off a troublemaker. And, as always, Don Knotts' performance as Deputy Fife in that "Lawman" installment is wonderful to see...as he believably goes from "weak sister" to "dependable police officer performing his duty well" in just 25 minutes' time.

At the end of "Barney's Uniform", yet another facet of Barney's character emerges -- his good-sized ego -- when he says this to Andy after having just engaged in a victorious confrontation with Mr. Plummer.....

"I told him the same thing I told you -- I'm a symbol of the law whether I'm wearin' a uniform or the ol' salt-and-pepper. He gives me complete respect or else. He got the message. You know, the bigger they are, the bigger they crumble."

Now, in the hands of a lesser talent than that of Jesse Donald Knotts, those words I just quoted above probably wouldn't seem funny at all....they'd just seem spiteful and arrogant. But coming from Don/Barney, it's a different story. Don had a truly unique way of being able to perfectly blend the seemingly-unblendable combination of "a big ego" and "likability". And not many actors could have pulled that off for five consecutive years. But it seemed second nature to Mr. Knotts.

For, no matter how stuck on himself Barney Fife was, Don Knotts always allowed room for that adjective -- "likable" -- to find its way into that character he was portraying every week on CBS-TV. And I've yet to meet the person who didn't like Bernard Fife quite a bit. A truly remarkable character in the long history of television.

Thanks, Don, for knowing how to think and act like Barney Fife.

------------

The Season-Five DVD packaging is consistent with the earlier "TAGS" seasons produced by Paramount, which I like very much .... although the cut-and-paste photos on this box cover aren't my favorites. (Andy wearing a necktie?! Egads, that's just silly-looking! Andy hardly ever wore a tie. But that, of course, is just a very minor packaging quibble however. But, IMO, the Season-One and Season-Four DVD artwork are the best ones that Paramount has done for this TV series.)

I very much like the innards of the fifth-season packaging however, consisting of three slim plastic cases for the five discs (with unique artwork on each of the three cases). Episode titles are located on the back of each slim case, printed on a simulated "Parking Citation" pad, complete with Barney Fife's signature and a little Mayberry Sheriff's Office motto printed at the bottom of each ticket that Barney hands out to the desperate law-breakers of Mayberry -- "Let that be a lesson to you" has been printed on each "ticket". LOL.

The picture that's found on the case for Disc #5 is the best packaging photo in this collection, in my opinion. It's a very nice-looking shot of Andy, Helen, Aunt Bee, Barney, and Thelma Lou. That artwork should have been used on the outer box cover, IMO. It would have looked much better there than the composite photo that was chosen for the slipcase cover. Too bad they can't be switched around.

The discs themselves each contain unique (albeit somewhat odd) color pictures of an assortment of "down home" items, including two things that remind us immediately of Floyd's Barber Shop.

All episode titles are also printed on the back of the outer box too (with corresponding disc numbers), which is a very handy "at-a-glance" feature. Each disc contains either six or seven episodes.

------------

A Few More Stats Concerning This 5-Disc Boxed Set:

Video -- 1.33:1 Full-Frame (as originally aired).

Audio -- Dolby Digital 2.0 Mono (English only).

"Play All" Option? -- Yes.

Special Features -- None.

Menus -- Non-animated design; No music; Main Menu is also the Episode-Selection Menu; No Episode Sub-Menus are included. (Disc 1 has a Menu choice for "Previews", which include a few Paramount ads for other DVDs. An option to watch the Previews or go straight to the Main Menu appears when Disc 1 is initially loaded up.)

Chaptering Available? -- Yes. Five chapter stops per show, including a break right after the opening titles.

Paper Enclosures -- None.

------------

So, Mayberry fans, load up your one bullet (or load up any of these finely-produced Digital Discs into the DVD Player, take your pick), and enjoy the last of the Barney Fife treasures in "The Andy Griffith Show: The Complete Fifth Season".

Goodbye, Barney. We'll miss you dearly.

~~Socks Barney in arm with balled-up fist~~
11 comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 10, 2015
Great programs for a look-back at life in America in the 1960's. The home-spun humor and laid-back life of Andy, his family, his friends, his guitar and singing, and all the inhabitants of Mayberry will bring smiles to your face. This entire series of 249 episodes is just plain fun to watch over and over again. Color programming was introduced in Season 6 (if you want to see Opie's red hair), so Season 5 is the last of the great black and white programs.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 23, 2018
The first five seasons of the Andy Griffith Show are divine jewels. Their black and white vision fits perfectly into their 50's-60's character and lifestyle. These five seasons added real depth to my collection of Americana.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 29, 2013
As an avid AGS rerun watcher, I was very excited to see this set available. I purchase the sets for the entire first 5 seasons, the ones in B and W. Once Don Knotts left the show and went to the color format, the story lines (except for a few) and the new characters (like Warren) really helped to tank the show for true for true fans. They don't get any better...all the episodes are her in their original lengths. Picture and sound quality are very good; no disappointments here. Worth every penny.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 28, 2016
I greatly enjoy the homespun humor and good heart of this show. We try to watch it daily, usually before bedtime, so we can go to sleep with pleasant thoughts. Yes, it might be corny and certainly silly at times, but it's such a disarming type of humor that you forgive it any of its shortcomings. And, as always, seeing it commercial-free on Amazon is a bonus.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 15, 2006
Here are the episodes in Season 5

21 Sep 64 Opie Loves Helen

28 Sep 64 Barney's Physical

5 Oct 64 Family Visit

12 Oct 64 The Education of Ernest T. Bass

19 Oct 64 Aunt Bee's Romance

26 Oct 64 Barney's Bloodhound

2 Nov 64 Man in the Middle

9 Nov 64 Barney's Uniform

16 Nov 64 Opie's Fortune

23 Nov 64 Goodbye, Sheriff Taylor

30 Nov 64 The Pageant

7 Dec 64 The Darling Baby

14 Dec 64 Andy and Helen Have Their Day

21 Dec 64 Three Wishes for Opie

28 Dec 64 Otis Sues the County

4 Jan 65 Barney Fife, Realtor

11 Jan 65 Goober Takes a Car Apart

18 Jan 65 The Rehabilitation of Otis

25 Jan 65 The Lucky Letter

1 Feb 65 Goober and the Art of Love

8 Feb 65 Barney Runs for Sheriff

15 Feb 65 If I Had a Quarter-Million

1 Mar 65 TV or Not TV

8 Mar 65 Guest in the House

15 Mar 65 The Case of the Punch in the Nose

22 Mar 65 Opie's Newspaper

29 Mar 65 Aunt Bee's Invisible Beau

5 Apr 65 The Arrest of the Fun Girls

12 Apr 65 The Luck of Newton Monroe

19 Apr 65 Opie Flunks Arithmetic

26 Apr 65 Opie and the Carnival

3 May 65 Banjo-Playing Deputy
11 comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon December 8, 2006
I'm so glad these DVD box sets exist, because they gave a twenty-something such as myself the opportunity to become acquainted with one of America's finest television programs...

The story is set in the fictitious little town of Mayberry, North Carolina during the early 1960s. Sheriff Andy Taylor (played by Andy Griffith) is a widower with a small son. He asks his Aunt Bee (Frances Bavier) to move in with him and Opie (Ron Howard) as housekeeper and surrogate mother.

Many of the storylines center upon Opie's childhood dilemmas and coming-of-age situations. While Andy is quick to discipline his son, he is also understanding of the gray areas a child might encounter, and no matter the outcome of a situation, he strives to enforce in Opie the need for kindness and truth.

Other storylines focus upon Barney Fife (played by Don Knotts) as Andy's cousin and the town's deputy sheriff. Thanks to Barney's false pride and need to appear all-knowing, Andy spends much of his time trying to straighten out various situations that might otherwise have never occurred. Still, it's apparent that Barney has a good heart, and his sense of humor more than make up for the trouble he often stirs up.

Mayberry also includes a number of unique residents, such as Floyd, the kindhearted but vague barber; Otis, the town drunk who is trusted to let himself into his cell as needed; rock-throwing hlllbilly Ernest T. Bass; Barney's ever-patient girlfriend, Thelma Lou; the goofy and childlike mechanic Goober; and Opie's teacher Helen Crump, who is also Andy's girlfriend.

My pet peeve with this season is the disappearance of Barney. Although Don Knotts chose not to renew his contract, there was no reason for the deputy to leave...and the writers gave none. One episode, Barney is alongside Andy, as he has been for years; the next, he is simply gone, with no explanation. In the next season, he returns as a guest star, and it is then said that Barney left town to take a better job. Still, it's almost an insult to faithful viewers; that explanation should've been given immediately!

If you haven't ever seen an episode of "The Andy Griffith Show," give this box set a try! You'll soon be searching for further seasons.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 4, 2017
This is a great family show with a lesson in a lot of episodes. When there are criminals to be caught the plot is engaging. We have fun figuring out who the guest stars are. By the end of each episode, you will have a smile on your face from laughing at the goofy deputies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 4, 2016
A timeless family show. I grew up watching the reruns, and now he can too. My nine year old African-American son loves to watch this with me in the evenings. Though Mayberry is a kind of mono-culture, my son has never mentioned it. The moral principles and the methods for living them out (with appropriate consequences for both good and evil acts and words) are intact, and my son's character grows as he considers these; I hear him mention the examples from the show throughout our days. Cannot recommend this highly enough for families to watch together. SIX stars!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse