Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services _fof _fof _fof  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Shop Now toystl17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 150 reviews(1 star, Verified Purchases). See all 2,159 reviews
on April 13, 2017
I returned the item because Anova updated the phone app to force you to buy Wifi access. My model was bluetooth only and I could no longer control the device via the app. Plus, my model didn't come with Wifi Access, so I was forced to use the manual control. When I purchased the item, I had full control from the app, as it was advertized. This was a complete bait and switch. The worst part is, I now have angry friends and family who bought one on my word that it was a good product.
44 comments| 124 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 11, 2017
Until recently this was a five star product, That was until Anova decided to require a login or Facebook information to use the app. There's no need for this on the bluetooth version.
22 comments| 116 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2017
This was great until they added an account registration/login to use the associated app.

Don't buy this look for something else.

I would return it but the change was made after my return window was up.
0Comment| 63 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 11, 2017
It was great but then!
I went to use it yesterday and they locked me out of there app. I tried to bypass the mandatory account creation but to no avail. I do not need to log into my cooking device with an 8 Character password that requires a CAP, lower case, number, and a special character. This is more secure than my bank requirements.

This in now les secure than before because now they have info on me and before they knew nothing about me.

So Sad
66 comments| 54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2017
Weeell. This _was_ an amazing cooker. I mean, it was it did was it was supposed to do.: It cooked things. It was a kitchen appliance. Life moved on.

Then Anova pushed an update to their app that requires you to pair your kitchen appliance with your facebook profile. I'm not kidding here. You need to link your facebook account in order to use your kitchen appliance. I mean, i'm looking at my blender and my pressure cooker and they seem to work fine without needing access to my social network.

I just want to heat up water to cook things.
44 comments| 73 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2016
I'd checked out the reviews and understood the positives and negatives (inexpensive entry into Sous Vide / inconsistent production quality) but with Amazon's terrific customer support I figured I'd give it a chance - Lucky for me I went through Amazon - The cooker I received had issues and after two weeks of phone calls and emails without a response from Anova I returned the product - Hard to believe they never even acknowledged my correspondence - I ended up going with a Vacmaster SV-1 and could not be happier

The VacMaster is more expensive than the Anova but performance wise it is markedly better (Actually when the VacMaster site runs a sale it was only $40 difference) - Anyway the Anova is mostly plastic and tops out at 800 watts ... Vacmaster is stainless steel and tops out at 1500 watts and that is a huge time difference when you are heating up your water bath - Also as stainless steel wears better the VacMater will last a lot longer

The Anova pumps 2 gallons a minute with a max container size of 4 gallons ... Vacmaster circulates 4 gallons a minute with a max container of 8 gallons and than translates to more even cooking with the option of to cook multiple rib racks and larger pieces of meat - Figure you'll have a vacuum sealing system anyway so why not cook enough for several meals and vacuum seal the extras for a future day - We use two containers for our set up ... a 4 gallon for small groups and the 8 gallon when we have a party

VacMaster beats Anova hand down when it comes to customer service - Call VacMaster and you'll get an actual person to pick up the phone and real time answers to your questions ... which is very helpful on soooooooooo many levels - My experience with Anova was complete frustration

In fact friends that have the Anova have moved to the VacMaster SV-1 after seeing it's performance (look for used Anova cookers on ebay)

The bottom line is the Anova is an introductory level machine for casual sous vide cooking - Buy from Amazon so you are protected against inconsistent quality and poor Anova customer service - On the other hand if you can spend a little more money consider VacMaster and get professional level performance
11 comment| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2017
While the product itself is fine, the requirement that I have to create an account with Anova to connect to my device via their app is ridiculous.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2017
As far as the product goes with respect to it being an appliance, it works quite well. However the reason that I bought this particular device over competing brands was the Bluetooth capability.

Turns out their recent app update kills this feature. Unless you don't mind forking over your private details such as your Facebook account to use the app.

Don't bother with this device when there are competing brands that don't demand to know your social network to use it.
22 comments| 63 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2017
Anova changed the app to require a login just to cook a meal. They are apparently more interested in mining data than pleasing their customers. I bought the Bluetooth version so I could monitor it, but now the app requires a login, and I object to logging in just to monitor this expensive device. I can't recommend it any more. Would give it ZERO STARS if possible!
0Comment| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2017
Anova updated the app to require creating an account, even for the Bluetooth-only model. The app is the only way to control some settings, such as temperature display and calibration. Extremely disappointing that they feel entitled to break a product you paid for long after you bought it.
0Comment| 99 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse