Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services Paterson Paterson Paterson  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis Assassins Shop Now STEMClub17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 679 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 929 reviews
on May 29, 2015
Oh, Taleb. You make it so hard to not use vulgar language in my review.

This book, which introduces and describes the concept of antifragility, is pretty revolutionary. Few books have fundamentally changed the way I think about the world, and this is one of them. My understanding of risk and how to address it has shifted dramatically, and the application of the concepts discussed has yielded surprising results.

That being said, the author is as pretentious as they come. Expect a lot of fancy-pants language for no reason other than to show off, and off-topic stories to illustrate just how much better than the rest of mankind Taleb is.

For example, “We gave the appellation ‘antifragile’ to such a package; a neologism was necessary as there is no simple, noncompound word in the Oxford English Dictionary that expresses the point of reverse fragility.”

*facepalm*

It is a frustrating read to say the least. It took me a couple months to slog through this book because of how frequently I wanted to punch Taleb in the teeth, but the content is 100% worth it.
11 comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2015
This is a difficult book to review and while I would have liked to give it a 5 star, there is so much in it that I consider opinion and so much that is new and as yet unchallenged that I prefer to wait and see. Taleb has now written 4 books on how he thinks the world works. The one that most know him by is "The Black Swan" which I read a few years back. Like most books that I have read regarding how and why events occur in life, business, science, personal affairs and medicine, I try to see how they agree or disagree with my own life experience. Initial skepticism is my first reaction and it has served me well. Taleb has an overabundance of ego but much of what he says is backed up by good arguments. Despite having MBA and PhD degrees, he classifies himself as an autodidact with most of his really useful information coming from his reading and his life experience. I fully agree with this point of view and consider most of my useful education has come the same way. This is a very long book and a difficult book, but it is well worth the effort to read it in its entirety even when you disagree. His literary style is aggressive and in your face and he doesn't waste much time on other points of view. There will be lots of discussion and argument at an intellectual level before the test of time sorts out the validity of all that he proposes. I will keep this on my reference shelf.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2017
This is the type of book which truly requires some introspection and reflection on your part. You cannot take this at face value and read it truly as a work of nonfiction. While you are reading, you must imagine how antifragility and all its domains work in your particular life and lifestyle. As Taleb relates at the end of his book, look around you – what is fragile and antifragile? What likes volatility; what dislikes uncertainty? And do you yourself like variation and disorder? That means you are truly alive.

I haven't read many reviews for this book. However, I am sure that there will be a few who will complain about the grammar and syntax Taleb uses when writing the book. While disconcerting at times, you have to look past it. I wouldn't say this about most any author. In a weird sort of way, the variation in grammar and syntax truly makes you more of an antifragile reader! You are more inclined to go back and re-read many of the passages; you are encouraged to take notes. And, like most any book which is worth it's salt, it deserves a second and a third reading to truly grasp the full meaning of what the author is trying to convey.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2017
A true gem that reflects the flaws of modern thinking, forcing the reader to view instead the ancient vision of wisdom that comes from via negativa, a method of reducing uncertainty by removing that which is fake, flawed or fluff.

Breathtaking in its delivery, this book cannot be digested in a single session and must be re-read time and again to assimilate all its valuable nuggets of truth.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2013
First of all, read the book. Whether you agree with Taleb or not, he has here a serious critique of serious things.
Be prepared for a bit of a slog - the 5 stars is for the significance of his ideas, not his literary talent. Imagine striking up a conversation at an airport bar with a very smart, slightly drunk aristocrat who grew up in a war-torn Lebanon, returning from a conference full of people he considers spoiled and irresponsible Westerners. Press record. That's how the book reads.
And that image in my head helped me enjoy the book. Taleb is utterly pissed off by an economic and political ruling class that he sees as oblivious to the fragility of the systems they are creating, and so to the catastrophes they are setting us all up for. The book is less a reasoned arguments than an impassioned rallying cry for people to stop drinking the cool-aid of economic and social quick fixes, attempts to overly-isolate people from the natural vicissitudes of life as well as from the consequences of their own actions. We learn and grow from the stressors of life ( up to a point), and this is how we become " antifragile".
What I find especially refreshing is that this thesis really doesn't come across as being either liberal or conservative - Taleb isn't operating along that axis. He is arguing for us to re-value simplicity in systems, learning from and trusting our experience, taking responsibility for our actions, and being "heroic" in the classical sense of working for (and perhaps sacrificing oneself for) the good of others. It is a deeply traditional view, balancing the individual with society and with nature.
Now be warned, this all comes at you in a somewhat inebriated tirade that bounces all over the map, from the mouths of Brooklyn bankers and (occasionally untranslated) classical writers, and illuminated by episodes from Taleb's globe-trotting life that can sometimes get a bit stale. But that's exactly how you have to hear it - the style is intentionally over-the-top and excessive, the "I'm mad as hell and I'm not going to take it anymore" of a former economic insider. But he has the saving graces of a sense of humor and a deep historical sense, that commands your respect more fully than just another pissed-off Fox New pr CNBC commentator with an axe to grind.
11 comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2014
Every so often I read a book that changes one of my strongly held opinions, and this is one of them.

This book answers the question "Why do individual, central, and global banks inevitably collapse, losing all of their historical profits, literally overnight, while for restaurants it is usually only individual restaurants fail. Why has there never been a global restaurant melt-down?" The answer to this question, when asked about many different domains, is probably more important to you than you think.

In Antifragile, Taleb made me aware of several cognitive biases that made me hold contradictory beliefs in different domains. For example, I believe that collaborative, distributed, decision making is the best way to run the internet - both technologically and policy wise. Yet I strongly supported the ever growing executive powers of the EU, believing that the individual countries governments are basically corrupt and easily corrupted. So removing the power to decide on the Irish economy from local (and international) lobbyists with hidden agendas, able to wield undue influence on the government, and putting that power into the hands of EU bureaucrats with no bias seems to make sense. Yet, this is exactly why people in governments are so easily corruptible - it is easy to lie to, and steal from, people whom they don't know, and will probably never meet in person. And easy to move numbers on a spreadsheet and justify sweeping socio-economic hardship if all you are looking at is numbers, not real individual people that you personally know. If you are the local mayor of a small village, then you have to look your victims in the eye, and will be caught out much sooner. So - in fact, city states make much more sense - historically they performed much better than countries, and the modern equivalent of the loose alliance between small practically independent regions in Switzerland works today (and has weathered the storms of major economic collapses profitably over the last hundred years) . So small local government is Antifragile (if petty and boring) while central governments, and central banks, (though not boring, but still petty on a much more damaging scale) make systems fragile - as the recent economic crashes have yet again proven.

Read this book to become aware of societal, and probably your own, biases. Knowing where your thinking is too much influenced by nonsense "accepted wisdom", and which "old wives tales" are actually valid heuristics that should be more broadly applied, may not change the world, but might make your life a bit better. Apply it to your business to become resilient and more profitable when the next calamity strikes your industry or economy - instead of following the lemmings over the inevitable recurring fiscal cliff.

So read this book. Today. Really!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2017
Talib provokes thought because he spends 300 days a year alone and thinking.

Most of us squeeze our ideas into someone else's "model" and we receive awards, but often the knowledge is dated and narrow.

Learning how to think is the challenge of ours times and maybe the battle of the century as traditionalist hunker down to protect the status quo and the progressive thinkers continue the phrase that is the bane of all conservative thinker, "what if things were better for all".
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2017
The information and concepts exposed here are very interesting, but the delivery of information is disjointed and ineffective. The book jumps all over the place from Greek mythology to modern times in no order and in random fashion. It is not an enjoyable read. That being said, the information is interesting, and the concept behind antifragile is worth exploring. The book seems cluttered, better delivery and organization of concepts would have been great.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2013
I can deal with the author being a self-important ass, but this book is almost completely anecdotal and non-rigorous, lazily researched, poorly footnoted, and spends a couple hundred pages going on about a pretty simple concept that should take 30 seconds to explain. It's baby-level complex systems theory dressed up with a bunch of forced classical literature and pop culture references (and a big dollop of self-aggrandizement). Congrats to Mr. Taleb for throwing together something people are willing to pay for, but don't waste your money.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2015
Antifragile is one of the best books I've read in the last 20 years. Taleb brings to light many vital truths and principles that can lead to a deeper life experience if followed. Albeit a bit "deep" and repetitive, Tale does a great job getting his points across. We learned many of these principles in Chiropractic Philosophy 101 and although for some reason Taleb doesn't understand or acknowledge that many of his principles are vitalistic in nature and completely support the principles underlying the "natural wellness revolution" that is increasingly sweeping the U.S. Antifragile is a MUST READ for anyone with an ethical or moral fiber in their body. A new "manifesto" for global honesty.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse