Industrial Deals Beauty Summer Reading STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning _fof _fof _fof  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now STEMClub17_gno

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$8.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 35 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 72 reviews
on May 31, 2011
Just a comment, and I don't want to give a low rating to Patti's (et al.) fabulous recording... which I already own. Do not be misled, as I was, by the "2011" date on this CD -- this is NOT the recent revival with Sutton Foster. I could have sworn her name was listed on the description page when I pre-ordered this, but I may have been mistaken. At the time I placed my order, there were no audio samples or descriptions from the publisher.

Considering you can still buy the 1988 CD (for a few bucks cheaper), I'm not sure what Sony was thinking with this re-release, especially as it comes in a cardboard wallet rather than a plastic jewel case. It's the exact same tracks from that version, only with a 2011 copyright date. It also doesn't help that this CD is the first result when searching for "anything goes 2011" or "anything goes sutton foster" on Amazon. Very confusing.

After a bit of googling, I discovered that the real 2011 revival recording was just announced last week, so hopefully it will be available later this year.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2015
I saw the musical in Broadway a long time ago with my children and never forgot it. I loved the chance to hear it again by the original players, specially Patty Lupone. You cannot go wrong with Cole Porter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2011
Music from the great Cole Porter still packs a wollop. Patti
LuPone was a pleasant surprise in the lead. I hadn't heard of
her before and think she has a better voice than Ethal Merman
that LuPone has been doing reprises of on stage such as Gypsy,
and Anything Goes. After researching her, I found she was in
Evita and Les Miserables. I am enjoying this recording immensly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2016
My daughter loves show tunes, and vinyl. I couldn't go wrong with this one! Love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2014
I was worried that I wouldn't be receiving the right recording, but it is the 1987 Patti LuPone version. There are some really cool pictures inside of the show. I ordered this for Anything Goes research and this is the recording.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2016
Pretty similar to the Beaumont version.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2014
I love this music. I saw a local production several years ago and could have gone every night.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2016
Great voices, and such wonderful music!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2009
Wow! I just want to say thank you to the seller first off - the quality was incredible! Thank you so much! Secondly, this production is phenomenal! Patti LuPone really gives it her all here and it shows! I love this show and this recording is the best representaion to Cole Porter and his wonderful music! What a performance! I'm sad I didn't get to view it Live at the Lincon Center!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2013
Anything Goes is great music........and I am pleased with this purchase.
Cole Porter was indeed great, more people need to teach his music to their children.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$11.75

Need customer service? Click here