Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MozartintheJungle MozartintheJungle MozartintheJungle  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 364 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 453 reviews
on March 8, 2017
This book is a quick read and some people may easily miss its genius. By illustrating the kinds of dilemmas the author faced on his path toward success, he gives us permission to ask an entirely new set of questions ourselves. For me, the takeaway was this: am I happy and do I have enough? Good questions to ponder. Great book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2017
I like that he's illustrated a different approach. There's some great, sound, simple advice in here that you could easily implement. However, some of it is extremely anecdotal and specific to him and his beliefs. He usually tries to define that in those areas but some are a little extreme. Overall, great read and approach, just skim over some of the stuff with a grain of salt (as per usual with any book).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2017
Out-of-the-ordinary entrepreneur that values happiness over money and it does make a lot of sense.

Do only what makes you happy, not just for the money .

The best part of this book is that it is very sobering with some hilarious stories and comparisons that validate the silliness of human behaviour in certain situations.

Read this book to get wiser and inspired to do things differently.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon December 1, 2015
The story of CD Baby is certainly very different from many other companies or founders whose book I've read. So it's rather refreshing to see what Derek Sivers' mindset and his management style when it comes to running the company.

The stories are interesting but the book's rather brief. I managed to finish reading it in an hour on the train.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2013
Derek Sivers is the ultimate Spiritual Entrepreneur. After starting the highly successful music distribution site, CD Baby, he sold it without extreme financial gain and then moved on to writing and speaking about the topics of this book. Can a company be successful and still have a conscious? Sivers explains how. Some of the advice is obvious, some is profound. Definitely a quick and fulfilling read for D.I.Y. types of all backgrounds and persuasions. I highly recommend this book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2016
I read this book over two days and cannot recommend it enough. Each chapter is 1-3 pages long and gets to the point quickly. In today's world, whether you are an entrepreneur or work at a large corporation, it seems like every activity we perform requires way too much prep, research, outside counsel (attorneys, CPAs, etc), and approval from multiple sources which creates a daunting atmosphere and stifles creation. This book proves that you do not have to get bogged down in all that BS and can move quickly, be nimble and learn from your mistakes along the way. Truly a refreshing read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2017
This is a very short book but don't be fooled, it's filled with so many practical stories that I highlited more sentences that most of much longer books. Derek presents some very inspirational views on the world and life in general. Also the books os very nicely written, easily red but not at all trivial in it's message.

I would really love to read/hear more wisdom from Derek!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2017
As a heavy reader of business, self help, and entrepreneurship books, I believe most are too lengthy, requiring me to do my own summary afterwards to distill the important points. This book is concise, informative, and is already a summary, which I love.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2016
Love this book!
It's concise, written in a familiar fashion, feels as if listening to a friend, easy and fun to read, but most of all it delivers real value.
Derek is one of my favorites modern time entrepreneurs and philosophers.
He excels in an unorthodox thinking, out of the box. The lessons in book are handed in the form of a bunch of short stories.
I'm positive that they will open your mind. If you're still not sure about the purchase, search for his blog and listen to his interviews in the Tim Ferris's podcast.
Buy it, you won't regret.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2017
Concise. Derek never rattles on to make a point. Not everything he writes applies to every entrepreneur or new business. But he succinctly describes big decisions and ankle biter situations w relatable vignettes. He really loved his business, his employees, his passion and processes and his customers...not necessarily in that order. That fact makes it much more enjoyable to read. He also makes it clear that his way is not the ONLY way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse