& FREE Shipping on orders over $49. Details
Only 1 left in stock.
Sold by WeeBee CD's N Stuff and Fulfilled by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
April in Paris has been added to your Cart
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by Round3
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Shipped next day from GA, United States. All products are inspected and playing quality guaranteed (excluding any digital content). Our friendly multilingual customer service team will be happy to resolve your queries.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

April in Paris

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, February 11, 1992
"Please retry"
$12.94 $0.87

Stream Millions of Songs FREE with Amazon Prime
Unlimited Streaming with Amazon Prime Start your 30-day free trial to stream millions of songs FREE with Amazon Prime. Start your free trial.
$22.00 & FREE Shipping on orders over $49. Details Only 1 left in stock. Sold by WeeBee CD's N Stuff and Fulfilled by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Body And Soul
  2. When Day Is Done
  3. Bouncing With Bean
  4. April In Paris
  5. Angel Face
  6. I Love You
  7. There Will Never Be Another You
  8. Little Girl Blue
  9. The Bean Stalks Again
  10. Have You Met Miss Jones?

Product Details

  • Audio CD (February 11, 1992)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: RCA Legacy
  • ASIN: B000002WGU
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #633,288 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Amazon's Coleman Hawkins Store

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
In order to review this CD with some accuracy, it will be necessary first to list the tunes included on my copy because the track listing presented on the Amazon.com web site is incorrect. The ten tracks with the date of the recordings are as follows:

1. Body and Soul (October 11, 1939)
2. When Day Is Done (January 3, 1940)
3. Bouncing With Bean (January 3, 1940)
4. April In Paris (December 11, 1947)
5. Angel Face (December 11, 1947)
6. I Love You (December 11, 1947)
7. There Will Never Be Another You (January 17, 1956)
8. Little Girl Blue (January 17, 1956)
9. The Bean Stalks Again (Januay 18, 1956)
10. Have You Met Miss Jones? (January 20, 1956)

For this reviewer, one of the pleasures of a recording of this type comes from hearing the contributions of those musicians in the various groups accompanying the Hawk, who are frequently as distinctive on their instruments as the soloist is on his tenor saxophone. For example, on tracks 2 and 3 we get a taste of the multi-talented Benny Carter on trumpet. Likewise, on tracks 4, 5, and 6 we can hear, as part of a small group, Fats Navarro on trumpet, J.J. Johnson on trombone, and the incomparable Hank Jones on piano.

Since this compilation has selected recordings spanning three decades, there are major differences in the styles of the music presented. For tracks 2 and 3, for example, there is an upbeat sound that at times verges on Dixieland. On the other hand, tracks 8 and 10 are recorded with a sizable string section, plus assorted woodwinds and brass instruments. Track 9, a Hawkins composition, features him on tenor sax backed by a fairly large contingent of fellow reed players (including Zoot Sims and Al Cohn)as well as several musicians on trumpets and trombones.
Read more ›
1 Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse


Look for Similar Items by Category