Industrial Deals Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheOnlyLivingBoy TheOnlyLivingBoy TheOnlyLivingBoy  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7, starting at $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite uncharted Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 463 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 513 reviews
on May 13, 2012
Pros:

This book gives a fantastic explanation of what you'll need to set up your own aquaponics system, including the benefits and drawbacks of various materials, size ratios, etc. The information is comprehensive and extremely useful - everything from what size tanks one should use to the pros and cons of using lava rocks, gravel, etc. as a medium, to what you can grow to feed the fish.

Cons:

There weren't any major drawbacks to the book, but it seemed like the first third of it was a discussion of the environmental and food sustainability issues facing the world. While this is related to aquaponics, this section was old and common sense information that should have taken a couple paragraphs, not 33% of the book. Regardless, the other 67% was invaluable.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 24, 2016
I had no prior knowledge of aquaponics but after reading this book I feel confident that I have the resources and basic concepts in mind and readily available. I enjoyed the chapter summaries at the end of each chapter and the author went into great detail
about concepts without sounding dull or uninspired.

At some point in life I will pursue aquaponics as a hobby and will be referring to this book consistently. I highly recommend this book as a starter guide to aquaponics as well as a point of reference.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2016
The perfect primer for anyone interested in Aquaponics from system design to nutritional considerations with exceptional references and down to earth language to guide both novice and pro alike. After several reads I remain amazed at how much I take away each time in not only guiding decision making regarding my current set-up, but also in how it supports me as I grow as an Aquaponics producer. Essential.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2012
I love this book. Just a quick explanation in case you are wondering what aquaponics is all about. Hydroponics is similar - growing plants without conventional soils. The big difference is that while hydroponics usually involves a lot of chemicals (pretty much forget organics) and frequent changes of the water used, aquaponics is a much more natural approach. You use the excrement from fish you are growing to fertilize your plants. The plants generate conditions that clean up the water for the fish. Life is good. You don't waste water, you grow your plants quickly in a balanced and stable closed loop system, requiring a lot less maintenance than hydroponics.

I had just finished reading "Mini-Farming: Self-Sufficiency on ¼ acre", and was ready to get my greenhouse started. In the midst of applying the material in that first rate book (you should read it and Maximizing Your Mini Farm: Self-Sufficiency on 1/4 Acre as well), I got started on the aquaponics book. The books, gardening styles, and logic mesh well together. SO, while I have not yet gotten the aquaponics installation up and running (one thing that does not come with the books is time), that is where all of this reading and preparation is heading.

Especially if you are inclined toward organics, this is the book you want to read. The author doesn't just provide instructions, she explains what is going on and why. She also provides alternatives. You end up with the information you need, enabling you to make informed decisions. Especially if the weather in your area is unpredictable, this can let you grow your crops in stable and controlled conditions. That's a good thing....
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2012
So, you go online to learn about aquaponics and three hours later you've got so much information about so many different aspects and methods that it's hard to say what's what. Add to that the potential scam factor and the monster web has not helped too much. Aquaponics forums are great, but don't expect and A to Z that you can hold in your hands (unless you're using barrels or IBCs). Enter Aquaponic Gardening. It is a step by step guide. It does not give all the detail that you need, or at least that I need. I'm still online, using the forums. The difference is that now I know what I'm looking at, and where it fits in the overall plan. In a project that requires both a big picture and minute details, a book like this is completely worth it's price. For a single volume to encompass the whole thing...well, it would be great, and it would be a great big volume. Start here, and then use the webs to seek out the little details that you need.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2013
This book is an eye-opener on statistics in our world and how beneficial aquaponic systems can be in every home. Not only does it offer past comparisons in water usage globally through standard farm methods, but it also spells out the variables involved with future global droughts, food shortages, and severe climate changes that have an impact on the supply and demand for food production. Written by someone who has opted for a very organic way of life by raising her own farm animals and conserving energy, this comes from an experienced individual who knows exactly what she's talking about. I can see how aquaponics may become a future requirement in every home throughout the world to provide adequate food and reduce the impact man is having on our fragile world and nature in general. I highly, highly recommend this book to everyone who cares about the future of this world, a possible upcoming food and water crisis, and the ecological footprint we are leaving behind.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2013
Having never had fish nor an aquaponics garden I purchased this book.

It is very informative but does not cover all the aspects of doing your garden along with problems the fish might have other than the normal low ph, ammonia, nitrites and nitrates.

Im sure the author could not cover ever aspect in this book such as fish ich and how to treat naturally, which ended up being my issues.

I use this book as my go-to and also the many great websites that are out there....this is definitely a book Im glad I purchased as it really taught me a great deal but just understand as with most books you will still have to do your own research but will at least have a great guideline for what else you might need to know.

She does give a lot of resources you can use and has her own blog.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2016
This is an excellent resource for anyone wanting to get started with aquaponics. It explains complex technical information in simple terms that demystifys the science surrounding aquaponics, making it accessible to everyone that dreams of eating wholesome, organic, sustainably grown food produced in their own back garden (or basement).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2017
A good story but hard to pull off. I suspect there is a lot of wishful thinking, if not exaggeration, in this book. I converted my aquaponic system to hydroponics and get much better results.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2012
I always thought there had to be a way to keep fishes with plants without expensive filters and constant maintenance and happened to stumble upon this Aquaponics phenomenon and it was beyond what i had even thought to hope for! Not only does it show how to combine fish and plants without filters, but it combined my love of herb and veggie gardening with my wish for a sustainable ecosystem that includes aquatic animals in a "circle of life" kind of way that is beneficial to both! Add in the most water efficient gardening system i have ever seen (NO water is wasted), accelerated plant growth, NO over-watering, and harvestable fish and it is a dream come true!
Aquaponic Gardening: A Step-By-Step Guide to Raising Vegetables and Fish Together is truly a wonderful book. It explains the science and how-it-works behind Aquaponics, as well as a breakdown of all the components, from the "hardware" (the tubs, pvc pipes and growing media) to the "software" (the plants and fish). It demonstrates how to do the simplest setup to more complex while explaining the pros and cons of each. If something goes wrong, somewhere in this book it tells you what went wrong, why, and how to fix it. Even at the end of the book when you have read everything, if you still have questions or need extra help, you are not left to drown. She gives you directions to different resources and reliable websites and online communities (including her own) for help.

If you are looking for looking for a simple "screw point A to point B, plug into wall" Instruction book, then you have come to the wrong place. Buy a fish tank and plant a dirt garden, because if you want anything less than this book, then you are already doomed for failure. Nothing in this book is added idly.
If you want to skip past the science and just follow the steps and monitor your system as directed, you can, by all means, and good luck to you. But knowing the magic that is happening right in your backyard, greenhouse or basement is half the fun!
So if this sounds like something for you, BUY THIS BOOK and get started!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse