Your Garage Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning gotpremiere gotpremiere gotpremiere  Echo $129.99 All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis B06ZY5XM7W Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$10.21+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 63 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 77 reviews
on April 5, 2017
It's Angela Davis, people. She will NEVER disappoint in telling it 100 and making you think. I had not really given consideration to abolition of prisons until reading this - and now I understand why this discussion is so greatly needed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2015
Pivotal reading for anyone attempting to understand the mess that is our prison industrial complex and the way that racism weaves its way throughout its various structures and dysfunctions. Ms. Davis is accessible but challenging to read stretching us to imagine our approach to "prison reform" much differently. I particularly appreciate the way she shines a light on past practices, like slavery and segregation, and reminds us that we once thought those were "necessary evils" too. Even though she wrote it a while ago, it still has valuable lessons to teach.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2012
This book is a logical, well-documented and timely exposé of the uselessness and insidiousness of the prison system: bastion of the dehumanised society, prisons should be abolished and replaced by more useful measures that really aim to give everybody the opportunity to live, and not just survive. A sick society has constructed this perverse form of control, the history of which Davis links so clearly to earlier social control such as farm and industrial slavery. This book together with Michel Foucault's "Discipline and Punish" should convince you, if you haven't already understood, that the prison system does not "rehabilitate", nor "reintegrate", but on the contrary, simply controls the disposable but feared "masses". The question is answered clearly, prisons are obsolete.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2016
Davis has been making many of the arguments in this text for a long time, but they are clearly and cogently collected and articulated here. This is a must read primer for Michelle Alexander's more recent book, THE NEW JIM CROW. Davis, of course, brings the important insight of a woman who has been incarcerated for political reasons rooted in race. It is a thin volume but loaded with straight talk and wisdom.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2016
I used this book to help guide me o =na college paper. I found the book to be interesting. Good read, very informal. Would recommend to anyone interested on the subject.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2016
A very quick read-- something you can finish in an afternoon-- that makes you really contemplate the current state of our prisons/jails. Davis puts forth some solid arguments for prison abolition, and makes you contemplate the, "What if?" of it all.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2017
So enlightening and devastating.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2017
Great And Timely Service, Thanks A Bunch..... Best Regards, Joe
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2017
Great read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 29, 2016
Great book, fast read. I think this is a great starter book for folks who are on the edge about how they feel about the prison system. This book gives you some great fundamental concepts that you can take with you to read and understand other books about prison abolition. Plus, Angela Davis is just amazing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse