Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 37 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 44 reviews
on June 7, 2017
An enjoyable read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2017
Not a bad book, just a little disappointing. Too many vague endings that didn't really wrap the stories up to my liking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2013
If I had a choice, I think I would have given this three and a half stars, but the last story was good enough that I'm willing to give a four instead of a three. While a number of stories in this collection are rather typical military shooters, there are enough that stand out for reasons of plot, character, or concept that I feel I need to recommend this book. Not all of the stories are worth your time, but enough that even if you skip through some of the entries, you'll be glad you spent the money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2016
40% really good, the rest of the stories where interesting but not amazing, it helped me find some new authors.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2013
This is the book for you. I'm not making a critical review - analyzing the writing or characterizations, but it was a very fun read. The only complaint about the fun level is that I wish many of the stories were much longer.

Of Mice and Men this isn't, but for a solidly entertaining read, I give it 5 stars.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2016
Good book for the military SciFi group.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2012
This collection is an awesome collection of stories from some of the best authors around. I, especially, liked the one by Carrie Vaugh.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2013
this book is an accumulation of all kinds of stories i enjoyed the most of them, some weren't my type but i didn't let them ruin the rest of the book, hope you enjoy it as much as i did
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2013
Its an anthology, so you know on the front end its gonna be hit-or-miss. There are 3 really good stories, 1 or 2 crap ones, and the rest are just 'meh'. Your mileage may vary, of course.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2013
I'm a big fan of short story collections. Seems the older I get, the less time I have to read, so collections like this are truly wonderful. Granted not every story is a winner (Power Armor: A Love Story. I'm looking straight at you. Don't try to sneak out the back). But some of these are truly fun (Trauma Pod by Alistair Reynolds, and The Johnson Maneuver by Ian Douglas both look at the frustrations of soldiers at war, and while the technology changes the impact, it doesn't alter the fact the it takes brave men ready to wield the sword, or the gun, or the power armor to make the difference.) Buy this book, and enjoy this book. Read it and feel the bravery!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$7.13

Need customer service? Click here