BCA Month Beauty Magazine Deals Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums $69.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon outlanders3premiere outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on September 27, 2011
I love this book, the concept, the price, the fun. I would definitely buy it as a gift for a young child. But, I was distressed to see some inaccuracies. I haven't read the whole thing, and I'm not an expert on every country, but here were the ones I saw:

-"The tomato plant was first grown in Argentina." Most experts say they're from PERU, where the greatest biological diversity was found, some say maybe Ecuador. It was definitely up in the Andes, so it's possible it was over the border in Argentina, but I've seen no credible source claiming that.

-The Australian national wonder, once called Ayer's Rock, is now called ULURU, not "Ulura."

-The Wodaabe nomads have an annual male beauty pageant which usually occurs in Niger, not Nigeria. With all the ethnic groups in Nigeria, I'm surprised they highlighted one mainly associated with Niger.

There are some other odd editorial choices in terms of what is highlighted. Some nations seem to be shafted in terms of interesting facts- when there are so many available. I thought Turkey's page was wildly lackluster- no mentions of grand empires, Constantinople, Suleiman the Magnificent, whirling dervishes, turkish delight, kilim carpets.. Instead we find out about its production of tobacco and their native Angora goats which produce mohair wool. Turkey barely makes the top ten in tobacco producing countries,and it's not in the top mohair producers.

But, as long as you aren't taking this coloring book as gospel, it's still great for teaching kids the name and shapes of many countries as well as MANY interesting facts, almost all of which are true.
0Comment| 170 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2011
I bought this coloring book for a unit study on countries. On each page, it has an outline of the country with capital, mountains, rivers, etc labeled. It has a box at the bottom of the page titled Fast Facts which includes the capital, area, population, language, currency and main exports. It also has a blank flag (all the colored flags are listed on the back page of the book). Then it has little symbols to color in around the map with descriptions (i.e. Spain it has a flameco dancer with description, Brazil has rain forest animals, etc.) The information I would have liked to know before I bought it was which countries did it feature? Here they are: Argentina, Australia, Austria, Brazil, Canada, China, Denmark, Egypt, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, North Korea, South Korea, Mexico, Netherlands, Nigeria, Norway, Poland, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United States, and United Kingdom. Quite the handy little book for the price!
11 comment| 218 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2016
My kids love this book as part of our World Geography study. We use Galloping the Globe along with this book and it has helped so much! Each page features one country, complete with a map, fun facts and interesting graphics they can color. We usually take turns reading the facts and discuss each one, then color the map and graphics. I did get each of my kids their own (no one likes to share coloring books). If you do plan to use Galloping the Globe know there are a few countries missing from this workbook, but there are many more in here that aren't covered in GTG so you can either swap them out or find a different coloring page for those.

I would recommend this workbook for elementary teachers or parents who want to supplement their World Geography study to give visual learners a boost.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2009
Eventually, Amazon will need to get a library cataloguing system for its millions of items. Would you have guessed there was a coloring book for countries "Around the World" unless you just happened across it as I did with this little book? Nope, me neither.

"Around the World" takes the colorist exactly there: to "more than thirty nations, with fun stories, facts, and illustrations to highlight the features that makes each country special" (Note from copyright page).

Here is a specific example: Saudi Arabia (Asia/Middle East) with a country outline in the upper center of the page (for coloring). Inside the borders are images of a camel and a man's bust (head and shoulders picture). The man wears a ghutra; the book explains it.

At the bottom of the page are a Saudi flag (just itching to be colored) and a list of Fast Facts about Arabia. Images of Saudi Arabia that lie outside the borders include a ship carrying oil, one of Mecca with explanation of its importance to Islam and the last of The Rub al Khala ("Empty Quarter"), a place completely uninhabitable.

A teacher could use a book like this as a culminating activity to a study of the countries of the world, or as an introduction, especially if projects are assigned. A sampling of the thirty countries includes Russia, the region of Scandinavia, United Kingdom, Japan, North and South Korea, Indonesia, Ireland, and Australia.

The point of this book is to provide basic information about each country in a simple format for coloring; yet, don't expect a typical coloring book. However, there is enough to color to make a point. Recommended.
44 comments| 65 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2017
I love it so much.๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡ฑ๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡ด๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡ถ๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡น๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡ผ๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡ฝ๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡ฟ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ฑ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ฏ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ญ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ด๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ถ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡น๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ผ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡พ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ฟ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ด๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฑ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฐ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ญ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ป๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ผ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฝ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡พ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ฏ๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ฐ๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ด๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ฟ๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡น๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡ญ๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ฏ๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ฐ๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ด๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ญ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ฑ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ถ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡น๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ผ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡พ๐Ÿ‡ญ๐Ÿ‡ฐ๐Ÿ‡ญ๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡ญ๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ญ๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡ญ๐Ÿ‡น๐Ÿ‡ญ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡ฑ๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡น๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡ถ๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡ด๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡ฑ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฑ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ฑ๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡ฐ๐Ÿ‡ฟ๐Ÿ‡ฑ๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡ฑ๐Ÿ‡ฐ๐Ÿ‡ฑ๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡ฑ๐Ÿ‡พ๐Ÿ‡ฑ๐Ÿ‡น๐Ÿ‡ฑ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ฐ๐Ÿ‡พ๐Ÿ‡ฐ๐Ÿ‡ผ๐Ÿ‡ฐ๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡ฐ๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ฐ๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡ฐ๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡ฏ๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡ฏ๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡ฏ๐Ÿ‡ด๐Ÿ‡ฏ๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡ฐ๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡ฐ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ฐ๐Ÿ‡ญ๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡ญ๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡ฐ๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡ด๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡ถ๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡น๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡ฟ๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡พ๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡ฝ๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡ผ๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡ป๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ฑ๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ด

From Mommy: our son loved this coloring book. Highly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2017
So I ordered this book because I love the body book and how it shows everything the body does. I was super excited to use it to supplement work we are doing to learn about other countries... Unfortunately not all countries are in the nook which is supposed to represent the world... I was really hoping for something more detailed and. With all the contries. I was kind of disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2017
Love them its a nice arrangement of facts to color while studying more about each country. I got 3 for 2nd 4th an 6th graders so good for all ages
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
We use this for homeschooling. The kids seem to retain the information when they have something to color and to look at. They are very hands on. I'd highly recommend this book for somebody looking for a "Hands on" educational book for kids! A++++ book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2017
Bought this to supplement the Build Your Library kindergarten curriculum. Wonderful book for any home library!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2017
This is a nice coloring book. Hours of busy work for any age. Quite indepth.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse