Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning powers4premiere powers4premiere powers4premiere  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now STEMClub17_gno Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 18 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 21 reviews
on March 17, 2014
Too often in my search for folk and fairy tales, the lessons in the stories tended to be the exact opposite of anything I would want to teach my children. This book was such a relief to find, as the stories generally had the good guys behaving well and winning, and the lazy or dishonest people not coming out ahead. One reviewer criticized how the stories arent content appropriate for young kids - I didnt find this to be the case. A fair number of them ended in marriage, but there was no jealousy or violence or themes inappropriate for young kids.

I bought this book for my second grader for homeschooling and meeting CCS for literature. Its worked out well - he reads the stories then is able to retell the stories and give opinions on what happened. Each of the stories are 2-3 pages, which seems about right for keeping my sons attention and interest.

Both of us really enjoyed reading the stories in this book, and that the tales have stayed in our minds and discussions speaks to their effect. :) We really recommend this as a folktale book, especially to anyone whos been discouraged by reading anthologies of stories that dont make a lot of sense to our modern zeitgeist.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2009
This is truly a beautiful book that makes an excellent gift for a child who enjoys reading and / or who enjoys being read to. It is also an interesting choice for a baby shower present--giving the gift of future storytelling and imagination. It should be included in every home library, in our opinion.

The inside covers contain a wonderfully illustrated map depicting the continents, truly emphasizing that this is a book of world stories. The pages are richly decorated with appropriate, story-related images that capture the interest of young minds, and the font is easy to read for those of us who have glasses. The book is organized well, which makes finding stories fun and easy. The stories, which are of reasonable length and scope, always contain life lessons that can be discussed with youngsters; storytelling and story-hearing evoke character and develop critical thinking, observation, and imagination.

Our favorite tales are Anansi and the Plantains; The Half Chick; The Golden Horseshoe; The Rainbow Snake; Wish Upon A Star; The Man in the Moon; The Giant's Causeway; Thirsty are the Reeds; Green Figs, Purple Figs; The Silver Goose; The Parrot's Problem.

The book seems to honor world cultures and promote diversity. All cultures have endearing stories, and universal themes bind humanity together.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2012
I am a teacher for a small private school. I was looking for a more interesting way to have the children learn about countries, rather than just questions and maps. This book is perfect!!! It has a beautiful cover and beautiful pictures inside! The stories are the perfect length and covers countries from across the world. I will use it in the upcoming school year, and am positive it will be a great hit!!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 22, 2012
My son was asked to do a class project where he would present a folk tale to his class and tell what country the tale was from. This book was just amazing when it arrived. It is really a beautiful book. The illustrations are fantastic. It is very thick. Each of the tales is about 1 to 2 pages in length. He didn't want to read it at first because the topic didn't interest him but when he started reading he was drawn right in and kept reading far more tales than I had asked him to. He kept stopping after each one to tell me about it. I liked that the tales were put in groupings by locations around the world. I would definitely recommend this book if you have an interest in Folk Tales.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2016
Every child should have this bok. My grandson,who is 7,takes this book with him wherever he goes. Stories are short enough to read one or two before bedtime.Amazing!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2009
The stories are really cool. There is a great variety. This is a great book for homeschoolers. There are stories from each part of the world, so as you study history or geography, it's fun to have a book like this on hand to read with the kids as you study different countries.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2016
Should used easy words for kids.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2014
This book is for older children 5-8+, though my 3 year old grandson loves it. He will sit and listen even though there are no pictures. Some stories aren't appropriate for his age. It is a beautiful book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2014
With whimsical fancy and genuine curiosity, my children devoured "Around the World in 80 Tales" with unstoppable vigor that could only rival the desire of the Big Bad Wolf to enact delicous revenge on Little Red Riding Hood. The common folktale myths and moral lessons were clear across the 80 wonderfully crafted and beautifully illustrated tales, making reading alongside the children a great escape from the bland repetition that imparting parental wisdom often can degrade towards. Having these stimulating lessons being told through fanciful tales created a deeper understanding of morals and built the children's comprehension for looking critically into stories and pulling out the deeper meaning and themes of the tale. This book will classically transform bedtime stories into the time-tested oral tradition of true storytelling and create dreams of splendor as great imagery, coupled with heroic acts, dance through your little ones heads as they slowly drift away to faraway lands and epic adventures. Every child's bookshelf would be incomplete without this fantastic text.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2015
Great kids book! This is one that we'll keep forever.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse