Your Garage Luxury Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Book House Cleaning Catastrophe Catastrophe Catastrophe  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now disgotg_gno_17

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 31 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 37 reviews
on January 2, 2013
DO NOT BUY THIS PACKAGE! Do buy the game however! The Magicka Collection through Amazon has not had new DLC included since after September 2011. In the meantime the developer has practically doubled the total DLC for the game, and seems to be continuing (that's a good thing overall). If you are interested in this game, you are much better off finding the best value package for it. Purchase through this package and you will practically double your total cost over purchasing other, more complete packages. As you will need to activate through Steam, check there for pricing as well.

As for the game itself, which is the only source of my star score, it can be great fun but has a fair share of flaws. If you're interested in trying out novel game mechanics, the combat system can provide fairly constant novelty throughout the game. Try not to let yourself get stuck using just a single tactic or two. Be creative and the combat can end up feeling surprisingly fast and fluid. Teaming up with a partner can definitely increase the potential combat shenanigans. Steam does have a demo for the title, so you can try it for yourself a bit, but I think the demo doesn't quite live up to the full game.

Others can review this game more fully than myself, and have. I suggest you check their reviews out.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2012
Magicka not only downloaded quickly and runs great, I actually have enjoyed it a lot more than I expected. Its a real game of casting skill! Each spell has to be entered on the keyboard as a series of keystrokes and then triggered by in one of five ways: Cast out in front, cast around, cast on self, cast on weapon, or triggered with the space bar for special casts (named spells with distinct effects). Be warned, it takes practice and experimenting to find powerful combinations and get good at them but its soooo much fun as you get the hang of it. I've never played a game like it before. =]
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2013
This game is a great multiplayer game. I recommend buying a couple of wired XBOX 360 controllers with it to bring back the fun of playing with friends in the same place. The accidental discovery of new spells is great, and the action is engaging.

It requires a Steam account. I'm not a fan of Steam, but I'm in the minority.

The reason it didn't get 5 starts is it's a resource hog. My laptop with an i5 2410M, GeForce GT 540M, and 8 GB of RAM has trouble handling it. It became playable when I dropped the resolution to 800x600, but it still has slowdowns during battles. For reference, this laptop handles Starcraft 2 on default settings and Minecraft on the highest settings without any problems.

Most cut scenes do not display and I get a black screen instead.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2012
I read many good reviews of Magicka online and took advantage when this game as in a good deal to give it a go.

- What it does right.

It removes most of the equipment problem many action rpg have that you have to keep constantly upgrading your gear. it is much more simplified and focuses on the fun. The magic system starts a bit hard to learn but once you get the hang of it you dominate your enemies and can get some new weapons as you advance in the game.

In multiplayer the game is really fun and everyone can enjoy the adventure, from novice to experienced players, the game appeals to everyone.

- What it does wrong

While the developers removed many stuff that slows the pace compared to other games, they also removed the sense of exploration. You travel in linear paths with very little variations so you're stuck in completing the level. The more you play the more this feels evident and in single-player you get tired easily.

While many people say that you can play the style you want, it is not entirely correct. The moment you find the weapons and spells you like, you're pretty much stuck with them because they are efficient 98% of the time. Once you reach this point, enemies become mere obstacles that take away the adventure while you go see the stage boss that is actually interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2014
Great game, I wouldn't think the game could get any better, but bundle the game with the DLCs and you got one hell of a deal. The game itself is pretty fun, i like the game's humor, the spells convos can be a bit hard to get used to, but it's a nice change from what every other game is doing, and you get used to it after a while.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2012
Magicka is a blast! it is almost like diablo meets fable. however if you are running on a laptop with an integrated gpu like myself, Alienware m17x r4, I have an nvidia gtx 660m and the integrated dell gpu... you MUST MUST MUST go into your gpu settings and select the NON integrated gpu. for example the game defaults with my dell integrated gpu, it was not starting and crashing, when I changed the default gpu to my nvidia it worked like a charm. this is an Indie game, they probably only had a few programmers working on it and they either did not have the time or resources to program integrated graphics cards into the game. Also yes you do need steam to play the game, but however, buying it here is way cheaper than buying on steam!
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2013
The game is actually really fun, but I had some trouble getting it to play on my computer and I found that those are fairly normal when trying to download it. Also, once I got the game running I had some issues with bugs and general slowness.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 29, 2013
This game is an innovative splash at something that hasn't really been tried before. It provides lots of replay value and a great amount of fun for a group of 4. Definitely worth a purchase and a play!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2013
lots of bugs and difficulties when you try to enter online games ,fun to play though ,different style of gameplay.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2012
It's a great game to play with when you want to pass the time. I got better at playing it alone, and once I am better at it, it's very fun to play with people. Definitely recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.

Customers also viewed these items

$9.99

Need customer service? Click here