Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Artemis Fowl: Lost Colony, The
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 2, 2006
Averaging one a year, Eoin Colfer's Artemis Fowl series is no rush-job, I am increasingly enjoying and looking forward to every entry more than the Harry Potter series. Colfer's magical world just seems more accessible and imaginative. And he is constantly changing the type of story rather than just another labored part of a single massive arc.

Slightly longer this time around, the book has Artemis tracking demon activity on the time-displaced island of Hybras. The time spell which keeps Hybras stuck in oblivion is beginning to unravel and Artemis is busy investigating how to fix it when a 12-year-old French female rival (and love interest) kidnaps an insecure, classically educated demon, just as he manifests on Earth, right under Artemis' nose. Not knowing what trouble she has started, Artemis must break into her chatau, travel to Taiwan and match wits with her psychotic security in the Taipei 101 Tower to get the demon back before travelling to Hybras to fix the time spell with Captain Holly in tow.

I especially like the relationship between Artemis and Holly. Once enemies but now close friends. And the ending, not only including an imaginative and pretty damn cool twist, in which they become a part of each other forever (not giving anything away) was a nice touch.

As usual it's packed with ultra-technology that always seems realistic now matter how far-fetched, the typical amount of globe-trotting and the right amount of humor.

Artemis Fowl is definitely the best fantasy boy-hero. Harry Who?
1313 comments| 137 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is the fifth installment of the Artemis Fowl series, with reportedly just one more to go. Most of the surviving characters are back, including of course Artemis, the teenaged criminal genius and Butler his bodyguard, as well as Holly, the former female LEPrecon official, Foley the Centaur and Mulch the amazing digging dwarf, but this time there are also new and exciting characters. There's Minerva Paradizo, a twelve year old French child genius who can give Artemis' brain cells a challenge, Doodah Day, a thief who's the Michael Schumacher of the Pixie world, Imp No. 1 the non-warping demon, and the megalomaniac Leon Abbot, but that's not all folks.

Way back when humans and fairies were fighting over the island of Ireland, the eighth fairy family, the Demons, refused to go live underground with the others, instead choosing to take their island home of Hybras into another time dimension until they were ready once again to attack the humans. Unfortunately, something went wrong with the transfer, and the whole island, demons and all ended up in Limbo. However, even time spells don't last forever, and as it unravels, demons begin appearing in the present, and even Foley can't work out exactly where the next one will pop up.

As you may have guessed, Artemis has already figured it out, and starts staking out the sites where demons are due to appear, but is thrown for a loop when he realizes that someone else has done the math, and that the demon he's been stalking has been demon-napped under his very nose. To make it worse, his new rival is a girl, albeit a very pretty one.

Book five has all the elements for an exciting read, including time travel, volcanoes, mercenaries, magical creatures (including a Yoda-like Warlock), and weapons - lots of weapons. There's also the code that runs along the bottom of each page, and I can tell you that it has to do with scrolls, demons and the slapping of rude body parts, but the rest is up to you to find out.

Another great addition to the Artemis Fowl series from Eoin Colfer, certified genius.

Amanda Richards, September 17, 2006
0Comment| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2006
Eoin colfer is the author of Benny & Omar, Benny & Babe, The Supernaturalist, and of course the Artemis Fowl Books. In early 2006, Eoin Colfer spent several weeks touring the US and he'll beback in the US in October.

The Artemis Fowl series has five books so far

1 Artemis Fowl

2 The Artic Incident

3 The Eternity code

4 The Opal Deception

5 The Lost Colony

The Lost Colony came out in the UK in August and a friend who works at bookstores who got me a copy.

The Artemis Fowl books aren't popular for their depth or their detail, they are known for their fast pace and fun adventure. If you haven't read the previoius books, you may find this one tough as a starting point, but this isn't a deep book and there's no deep thought required, so you may be able to step right in. To catch you up, Artemis Fowl II is the son of a European crime lord, Artemis Senior. At the beginning of the first book, Artemis's father disappeared, along with the family's fortune, which sent his mother into a catatonic state.

When Artemis, along with his friend and bodyguard Butler, discovers the existence of fairies, he decodes their book in order to capture one. The fairie he eventually captures is Captain Holly Short, and capturing Holly is what gets the entire LEPrecon force after him.

In The Lost Colony, Artemis Fowl is dealing with another child prodigy, a new race of the fairy people and battling his own puberty. As a grown up reading Artemis Fowl, I enjoy it because it takes me a way to a new reality. The plot twists and turns as Artemis thinks on his feet to avoid another disaster - with the aid of Butler, Holly and Mulch along with some new characters.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2006
I went to the bookstore with my mom yesterday. She told me she would buy me ONE BOOK. Such a deal is precious, and I was deeply considering which lucky (hardcover, of course) book I would choose.

Moments after arriving in Borders and seeing the fifth Artemis Fowl, that privileged book slot had been filled.

And all I can say is...wow! I've always loved this series, ever since I discovered it about a year or so ago. But this is really incredible...I mean, how many authors can pull off a character that spouts synonyms during crises?

I was a bit shocked in the end, with the whole time-change...ah, but I shouldn't say anything. Goodness knows I've checked reviews on Amazon before buying a book and had a major plotline ruined...

Just buy this book. And while you're at it, get the others, too.

Haley

P.S. I've always wanted to make a list of books that SHOULD be turned into movies but AREN'T, and this seems like an okay place, especially since many Amazon browsers want more titles to read. So...

1. Underland Chronicles (Get Luxa and Ripred right)
2. Shadow Children (Get Trey and Jen right)
3. Artemis Fowl (Get Holly, Artemis, Root and Butler right)
4. Books of Pellinor (Get Cadvan right)
5. Young Wizards (Get Dairine right)
6. Prydain Chronicles (The Disney movie THE BLACK CAULDRON does NOT count.) (Get Gurgi, Eilonwy, and Fflewddur Fflam right)
7. The Dark Is Rising (um, actually, they ARE making this into a movie. Yay! Same studio that did Chronicles of Narnia, I think...)
8. The Hollow Kingdom Trilogy (Get Emily and Marak right.

And now, for books that have been (or will be) made into movies that you need to read anyway, if you haven't already:

1. Harry Potter
2. Lord of the Rings (any person who has not read this by their fifteenth birthday is severely deprived and should contact their local Social Services immediately.)
4. Chronicles of Narnia

Maybe that will help sustain you until the next Artemis Fowl book!

Rating: Very Good
33 comments| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon October 2, 2006
The Artemis Fowl series has always been superbly written and brilliantly conceived, with an astonishing array of humor, techno-gadgets, mind-bending plots, daredevil escapes and rescues...frankly, they have a tendency to leave one dizzy - but enchanted.

And this might be the best entry in the series to date.

There are many reasons for this. First, there were at least three places where Colfer could have stopped writing, wrapped the book up, given it a different title, and shipped it off to his publisher and wait to collect his (surely) generous royalty checks. But he didn't. He took us from climax to climax as if we rode a roller coaster, each one at least as exciting and breathtaking as the last - if not more so. Second, Colfer introduces a magnificent new character, Minerva, a 12-year old girl who is quite similar to the 12-year old Artemis we met in the first book. Artemis has a nemesis. Third, and perhaps most importantly, Artemis himself has changed. He is fully in possession of a conscience now, is 14-years old, and finds himself quite uncomfortably pubescent.

As always, Colfer writes in a very loose third-person omniscient voice, hopping from character to character. This is dangerous, unless the author has a firm grasp on all of the elements of his story. Luckily, Colfer does. It's a rare author that can take us into the enemy camp, show us who they are, how they live, their blueprints for whatever foul act they plan to commit, and still leave the pages of the book dripping with tension.

The demands that Colfer places on Artemis are staggering, and by extension the demands he places on himself as a writer are similarly so. To not violate Artemis' core-identity, yet have him find his way with the use of a moral compass, is virtually unthinkable. But Colfer did it. Artemis grew, he changed, but yet he was still Artemis at heart. Brilliant, conniving, and, when need be, ruthless. Ruthless...and still a good guy? Yup.

I'm thankful that Colfer didn't take the easy way out, and that he pushed himself harder and further than I've seen him do yet. If this book is any indication of what we can expect from the next - I'm holding my breath. Thankfully, Colfer writes quickly, so it shouldn't be too long of a wait, and I won't find myself in a morgue somewhere. <grin>
33 comments| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2006
"Not all those who wander are lost."

Over the past few years, Irish author Eoin Colfer has sculpted his Artemis Fowl character from the anti-hero of a criminal caper yarn with a magical twist into a rock star of young adult fantasy. Albeit a highly-cultured (now 14-year-old) genius rock star with a penchant for ventures of questionable legality, a wit dryer than Bond's favorite martini, and a habit of saving the Underground world of the Fairies from destruction and/or discovery.

With Artemis Fowl: The Lost Colony, Colfer weaves a tapestry of break-neck magical mayhem, criminal intrigue, and globe-trotting adventure. Young Artemis (now using his towering intellect less for the detrement of others) and his faithful manservant Butler have made a startling discovery: ten thousand years ago, during the great war between humans and Fairies, one race of the magical people did not end up in Underground in the refuges of Atlantis or Haven. The Demons, 8th Family of the Fairies, are suspended in a magical bubble outside of time, awaiting their chance to strike back at an unsuspecting Earth.

But something has gone wrong - their time spell is unravelling, the dimensions are starting to bleed into one another, and demons are beginning to pop up, literally, all over the world. Seeing the inherent danger of humans coming into contact with the magical world, Artemis Fowl is on the case, joined once again by former elven LEPrecon officer Holly Short, dwarfen jail-breaker Mulch Diggums, Foaly the paranoid and technically brilliant centaur, and a number of other eccentric humans and non-humans. However, apart from nasty demons, unpredictable spells, crazy hitmen, and the other assorted hazards Artemis has become used to over the last few years, a new (and possibly more dangerous) threat emerges. Even as Artemis begins to crack the code that has been causing the human and demon dimensions to collide, he discovers another human hot on the magical trail - a 12-year-old girl who's motives are unclear, and who may just be a mental match for Master Fowl.

With The Lost Colony, Colfer continues his now-traditional tongue-in-cheek style of modern-day fantasy adventure, cleverly putting new spins on fairy folklore and genre mainstays (several genres at once more often than not), and poking fun at the inherently ridiculousness of his characters and the situations in which they find themselves. If the original Artemis Fowl was "Die Hard with Fairies," The Lost Colony is "The Da Vinci Code meets To Catch a Thief. . . with Fairies." While this entry doesn't start out with the emotionally gripping bang of its two predecessors, Colfer nevertheless hooks the reader from the get-go, sweeping both his audience and his characters into a whirlwind of adrenaline-fueled cat-and-mouse, rescue, and time-travel. The final act culminates in what is easily one of the most important events of young Artemis' life, as well as the high point of Colfer's series.

Artemis Fowl has never been a series known for heavy-handed deliberations over morality or ponderously prolonged character study (they aren't "adult books" after all). They're the book equivalent of a good summer blockbuster - light, fast, quick, and as easy to lose yourself in as World of Warcraft and Counter-strike combined. Once you start, the book doesn't let you stop until you've turned the very last page, and even if it is "only" young-adult fantasy brain candy, it'll keep a smile on your face the entire time.

Colfer really knows how to tell a good story while being constantly entertaining about it, and Artemis Fowl: The Lost Colony is his best achievement in this regard. Full of his trademark wit (both in tone and character) and packed with more derring-do, brilliant plots, and flat-out cool character moments than any of his previous novels, The Lost Colony quite simply ROCKS.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2006
I've been reading the Artemis Fowl series since the first book came out. In fact, it's been one of my all-time favorite book series. I got the Lost Colony the day it came out.

I won't bother rehashing the plot, other reviews do that. Anyway, the characters are more fully developed in this one and none of their emotions or actions feel forced. The character who died in the last book doesn't pull a Gandalf, thankfully (though I wouldn't complain if it would've happened).

The story was incredible and it didn't feel reused, like some series start to become after four books. I never expected the ending and I'm sure it'll shock you too.

Other Books You Should Read:

1) The Bartimaeus Trilogy

2) The Lord of the Rings

3) Harry Potter

4) The Hobbit

5) Inkheart & Inkspell
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2016
Brilliant. Just brilliant. I love this series well written, clever plot twists. Such a treat as it is a clean and refreshing read - great ideas minus all the cheap filler blood guts and sex scenes that make up many other stories! I'm ready for the movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2007
Wanting to write novels for children, I picked up the first Artemis Fowl book on a whim and got hooked. I enjoy listening to this series on CD/tape as the veteran actor, Nathaniel Parker, does an outstanding job in acting out the various characters. Mr. Colfer's unique take on the elf world is entertaining and I am looking forward to the first movie.

The characterization of Artemis has been deepened in this novel as he matures and learns to consider the needs of others and to be less selfish. His friendship with his elf friend, Holly, and with his bodyguard, Butler, are explored, enriching the series. And a new arch nemesis, a 12-year-old French genius (and pretty little girl), is introduced into the series as a potential love interest for Artemis.

Mr. Colfer, like J.K. Rowling, enjoys introducing a variety of fantasy characters. However, a caveat for Christian and other deeply religious parents to discuss the spiritual implications of this new book with their children after they've read/listened to it. Which is why I took one star away in my rating.

This novel explores the world of demons, which is unique to Mr. Colfer and fanciful. Some of the demons are conceptualized according to historical and biblical traditions: evil, scary, dangerous, with horns and claws. But the main plot point of the novel is Artemis and Holly's attempts to save the demon imp, Number One, and his demon world from destruction. Number One is portrayed appealingly: an outcast who learns his value when he discovers he is a rare warlock among demons and, therefore, cannot warp into a mature demon (a play on puberty). Parents might want to discuss the nature of the demonic with their child and the sympathetic portrayal Mr. Colfer gives to this new character. I do not recommend avoiding the book, as it gives an opportunity to broach the topic of the occult with your child, which is increasingly becoming a part of our Post Modern, Western culture.

It is probably no coincidence that Artemis is also struggling with entering puberty, echoing Number One's struggles.

The novel is well-written, humorous, and entertaining.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2006
I confess when I heard there was a new Artemis Fowl book, I thought it would just be another Artemis Fowl rather than the next Artemis Fowl. In other words, I thought the previous book 'The Opal Deception' essentially concluded the story of Artemis, and that now they were just continuing the money making franchise, simply to make more money. Of course, I love Artemis and his world, and would have bought the book under any circumstances, but my expectations were not high. BOY, WAS I WRONG!!!!

This is probably the greatest Artemis Fowl adventure yet. This is one rip-roaring, heart-pounding, suspense-filled, journey into the highly unlikely but totallly lovable and believable world of the boy genius. There was actually one point when the characters were in Taipei, Taiwan, where my heart was literally pounding in my chest. On one hand, I was afraid to turn the page for fear of what I knew might happen next, yet completely compelled to continue the adventure, and I was not sorry for my efforts.

My only complaint is that it was such a thoroughly captivating book that I couldn't put it down. I literally stayed up 'til dawn, reading furiously, desparate to find out how this adventure ended, and I was not disappointed.

Eoin Colfer has exceeded all expectations and left me hungry for the next great adventure of Artemis Fowl.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED TO READERS OF ANY AGE.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse